Beat logo

Jealous cover by Shannon King

Labrinth

By Shannon KingPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Disclaimer: I do not own nor did I create any of the instrumental/musical background or compose the melody or lyrics of this song. Credit is attributed to the original publisher/author and the only part of this creation I own is the voice singing the song to a karaoke version that was available via youtube.com. The correct references are also notated for the biographies on the artists. Thank you!

LYRICS

I'm jealous of the rain

That falls upon your skin

It's closer than my hands have been

I'm jealous of the rain

I'm jealous of the wind

That ripples through your clothes

It's closer than your shadow

Oh, I'm jealous of the wind

'Cause I wished you the best of

All this world could give

And I told you when you left me

There's nothing to forgive

But I always thought you'd come back, tell me all you found was

Heartbreak and misery

It's hard for me to say, I'm jealous of the way

You're happy without me

I'm jealous of the nights

That I don't spend with you

I'm wondering who you lay next to

Oh, I'm jealous of the nights

I'm jealous of the love

Love that was in here

Gone for someone else to share

Oh, I'm jealous of the love

'Cause I wished you the best of

All this world could give

And I told you when you left me

There's nothing to forgive

But I always thought you'd come back, tell me all you found was

Heartbreak and misery

It's hard for me to say, I'm jealous of the way

You're happy without me

As I sink in the sand

Watch you slip through my hands

Oh, as I die here another day, yeah

'Cause all I do is cry behind this smile

I wished you the best of

All this world could give

And I told you when you left me

There's nothing to forgive

But I always thought you'd come back, tell me all you found was

Heartbreak and misery

It's hard for me to say, I'm jealous of the way

You're happy without me

I-I-It's hard for me to say, I'm jealous of the way

You're happy without me

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Josh Kear / Natalie Hemby / Timothy Mckenzie

Jealous lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Round Hill Music Big Loud Songs, Bluewater Music Corp.

About Labrinth: "Timothy Lee McKenzie (born 4 January 1989),[1][2][3] better known by his stage name Labrinth, is a British singer, songwriter, composer, rapper and record producer. After initially pursuing a career in music production, Simon Cowell signed him to his record label Syco Music as a recording artist, after which Labrinth became the first singer who Cowell signed without having competed on a talent show in six years.[4] He has been referred to as “one of the most important British musicians of his generation.”[5]

Labrinth made his debut appearance on the UK Singles Chart in March 2010, when his collaboration with English rapper Tinie Tempah, "Pass Out", reached number one. Since then, songs Labrinth released have entered the chart 18 times as of 2020, as well as 5 times on the Billboard Hot 100.[6][7]

Labrinth has released two solo albums: Electronic Earth in April 2012, and Imagination & the Misfit Kid in November 2019. In 2018, Labrinth formed the supergroup LSD with Australian singer-songwriter Sia and American DJ and producer Diplo. They released their self-titled debut album the following year. Labrinth has also collaborated with a number of artists as a singer, songwriter, and producer including Beyoncé, Kanye West, The Weeknd, Nicki Minaj, Ed Sheeran, and Noah Cyrus.

He composed the score for the Zendaya-led HBO drama series Euphoria, for which he was nominated for two Primetime Emmy Awards, winning one. Over the course of his career, Labrinth has also received Grammy, Golden Globe, and Brit award nominations.

McKenzie was born and raised in Hackney, London; he is of Jamaican and Canadian descent.[8] He comes from a family of musicians, and has eight siblings. Their home was filled with the sound of American gospel music, which their parents loved.[9] When young, he and his eight siblings formed a band called Mac 9.[10] He attended Stoke Newington School and began to pursue a musical career during his school years. His brother, Mac, who is also a music producer, introduced McKenzie at the age of 15 to the art of creating music in his studio.

Labrinth started his career by producing the track "Dead End" for recording artist Master Shortie from the album A.D.H.D. (2009). The track generated interest in McKenzie as a producer and songwriter. Guy Moot of EMI Music Publishing offered the artist a publishing deal. From 2010 to 2011, Labrinth mentored the Urban Development Vocal Collective (UDVC) alongside his sister, ShezAr. He also produced multiple tracks for the collective, contributing towards a nine-track project titled Urban Development. The vocalists also provided backing vocals for Labrinth's original tracks.[11][12][13]

McKenzie appeared as an uncredited guest artist on British rapper Tinie Tempah's debut single, "Pass Out," released on 28 February 2010. He had also produced and co-written the track. The single debuted at number-one on the UK Singles Chart, number six on the Irish Singles Chart, and number seventy in Australia.[6][14] Having spent two weeks at the summit in the United Kingdom, "Pass Out" was awarded Best British Single at the 2011 Brit Awards and Best Contemporary Song at the 2011 Ivor Novello Awards. It achieved platinum certification from the British Phonographic Industry for surpassing sales of 600,000 copies.[15] Several months later the two artists collaborated for a second time in the release of Tempah's second single, "Frisky," also co-written and produced by McKenzie. The single debuted at number two in the United Kingdom,[6] beaten only by the charity single "Shout" by Dizzee Rascal and James Corden.[16] The track had chart success in Scotland, where it became the duo's second consecutive number one single, also peaking at number three in Ireland.[14]

Throughout 2010, McKenzie continued writing material for a number of high-profile artists, including Professor Green for the track "Oh My God" (Alive Till I'm Dead), Ola Svensson for the track "Let It Hit You" (Ola), and Loick Essien for "Love Drunk" (Identity)." (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Labrinth).

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Shannon King

Born in St. Augustine, Fl, Shannon has a Master of Arts Degree in Applied Behavior Analysis from USF. She is currently pursuing a career in music, singing and writing with a focus in poetry, biographies, and inspirational messages.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.