Beat logo

James Millier

South of England based synth-pop artist who has been making music since 2008.

By mysoundMusicPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
3

James Millier is a singer/songwriter based in the South East, UK. His music always has an electronic vibe to his songs however he adds a little twist by adding different genres from Folk to Rock to Pop into his songs.

I guess the best way to describe his music is it’s an fusion of genres rolled into one. He is a passionate music artist who releases engaging lyrics to heartfelt and mellifluous tunes.

What 1st drew you to music?

I was always driven towards music as a child, however, when I turned 30 a lot of things like having foot surgery and losing a love one really made me want to embrace life.

Do you have a preferred or chosen genre?

I definitely say Pop, however, I have to confess I'm leaning towards Country and Rock music.

Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

I do collaborate a lot with my long term producer Olli Daffarn at his Blue Dot Studio in Brighton. I've also co-written with a few music artists on a couple of singles, for example Rich Lown came up with the beautiful piano melody and chords for Discover New Memories Together.

What is your creative process like?

Usually when I'm writing a song, a story or theme for the song come into my head and then I start working on the lyrics. Afterwards it all about getting the mood of the melody to blend well with the story of the lyrics then I it's all about getting it recorded. Usually when recording the song music it then becomes clear what instruments we should add to the song. Then I leave the the song in the capable hands of Olli Daffarn who will mix and master the track.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

Personally, the song I am most proud about is Brand New Start because it's a song that is so personal to me. Last year I was told I had to change my career path due to having 2 foot surgeries on my right foot and now having 1 on my left foot this year. Anyway, this song was like myself saying this is a time to make a 'Brand New Start' plus the response was amazing towards the song because it was happening at the peak of the Covid-19 situation and a lot of people were saying how this song gave them hope for a 'Brand New Start'.

What is your favorite song(s) to perform?

Got to be Brand New Start because it has that anthem vibe.

What song do fans seem to favor?

I would say Brand New Start however I think that Discover New Memories Together could in the future become the fan favourite.

Tell us about your charity SRUK & how your music plays a part in it.

SRUK is the only UK charity who support people with Scleroderma and Raynaud's. It's not a well known condition and that why it does need more awareness because it a generic condition that can affect your immune system if you have it plus it is a life threating condition because it can affect your heart, liver and kidneys. I join forces with SRUK for my single This Life because I know first hand how the people who have Scleroderma and Raynaud's have to battle with the condition in their lives because my mum suffers from the illness.

Are there any challenging aspects in intermingling the two?

Joining forces with SRUK to create awareness was very easy actually.

Has your musical journey had a deliberate direction, or did it simply evolve in whatever direction it found?

It definitely evolved in a unexpected way which is quite exciting and I must say the best way I could describe this journey is like a rollercoaster.

What do you enjoy most about being a musician? What do you dislike?

I have to say I love it when someone let me know how a song message has had a positive impact on their lives or they just say how much they like the song is what make me enjoy making music because the reason why I love making music is for those music lovers. The only thing I dislike is anyone who pull you down in a none constructive way.

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

Absolutely yes I would love to go to other countries to perform my music and definitely first place I like to go is USA especially Nashville as my upcoming music will have a Country vibe to it.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

I actually don't rate fame and fortune very highly, personally I want to make music to be proud off, be happy and true to myself. Living a comfortable probably what would make me be happy but most of all what important to me is making people in my life and people who listen to my music as happy as can be.

Tell about a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your music career.

Christmas Day 2008 definitely was a magical moment because I was given singing lessons vouchers with the absolutely amazing woman called Sian Pearce who I still have singing lessons to this day and it's fair to say she got me into taking music seriously.

What music do you listen to ‘for fun’?

Britney Spears for sure because back in the 90's I adored her music.

Who inspires you musically?

It's actually the real people who inspire me in my life towards my music like Olli Daffarn, Sian Pearce, my parents and a certain person called Ben Hood who inspire me to dig deeper when writing a song.

How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

Massively especially when I see comments and blogs talking about my music. I still have to pinch myself when I see something written about my music. I just can't help but feel blessed towards the support and I just want to say a massive thank you

Care to share your secret in gaining so many plays/listeners?

Supporting other music artists is good way because I believe we have to stand a united front together especially in these tough times and it help to reach out to bring in each other fanbase.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, FB, Twitter? How would you want them to follow?

Best outlet for me has to be Instagram because I also do a live stream music chat show called Millier Music Mashup Show where I get to do one of the things I am most passionate about is to invite a music artist and showcase how talented they are.

If you can have fans remember one thing about you, what would it be?

Selfless by thinking of others before himself.

What does the future hold for you?

So my future plans are to release a EP in early 2021 and I'm actually setting up a songwriting retreat business where music artists can have accommodation, meals and one on one songwriting sessions with a professional and then the music artist will record the song they have written through the songwriting retreat experience

interview
3

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.