Beat logo

Jackson Ms

This for the Nay Sayers

By Annette WilsonPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
1
Jackson Mississippi

Imagine someone that you didn't know. A total stranger that was willing to stick their neck out on the line for you. I'm talking about a person willing to die for you. In order for you to be born. This stranger did this all so when you were born in this world. You could live life, feel safe, and sure.

This person to me no doubt, had to be bold, brave, and above all fearless. The person I described can be in fact called a leader. We are losing our leaders that will stand up and speak for all people as a whole.

I'm a resident living in Jackson Mississippi. More than 80% of the population that are living in the capital city of Jackson Mississippi are blacks.

Jackson Mississippi is being targeted by law makers and politicians. Jackson Mississippi was at the Centre of the U.S civil rights movement through the 1950's and 1960's.

In general, the remaining Jim Crow laws was overturned by the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965. The fact that more than 15,ooo lives were lost due to the civil war.

These facts as well as others has a lot to do with the law signed in by the governors of Mississippi Tate Reeves signed into law in February 2023. This Bill 1020 is a revised version of the Jim Crow law. I wrote a song that help others retain and understand the fact that what these law makers and politicians are doing is wrong.

This 1020 Bill is Unconstitutional Simply because the 1020 Bill created a separate judicial district in the whiter more affluent areas of Jackson. The nation's urban/blackest large city. Judges in the district will be appointed by the white chief justice of Supreme Court instead of elected by the majority black voters. the citizens, let's not forget who the taxpayers are. We have rights to vote/decide whether we want capital police to take the city of Jackson police jobs and place them in the hands of the capital police.

The governor of MS and his constituents wants to add four white Judges who has no intertest in the residents of Jackson into a separate court system, which was not voted for by the citizens of Jackson MS.

t0 make certain the bill passes law makers has implemented house bill 2343 in my song I wrote, I stated the obvious fact that 2343 is another form of slavery." They want to kill our roots and hang us by our family tree. We know how our ancestors were treated during the Jim Crow law.

Black people in the 19th and 20th Century were lynched. Lynching typically evoke images of black men and women hanging from trees. Mainly in the Southern states of Georgia, Texas, and Mississippi.

I also wrote in my music about the water crisis in Jackson MS. Truth be told, God made water. Therefore, I could careless who gets mad about this statement water is supposed to be free and so do people. Instead, these politicians and law makers has the audacity to charge us for this broke down pipe infrastructure that they have been unwilling to fix. We are being charged for this contaminated water that irks us to cook or take a bath in.

I again made mention in my song after the water crisis why is this? I'm so sick of it. "I can't even take out my own trash because of politics". Again for those that are unaware, We went through politicians and law makers not wanting to negotiate our garbage pick up. We went 2 weeks without No one to take out our trash. I'm more than sure I can speak for many of us Jacksonians when I say, we have our mayor Chowe Antar Lumumba to thank for sticking to what was right. He had and unwavering and stern decision to stick with Richard's disposal garbage company. This will save the citizens of Jackson MS millions over the course of their one-year contract. I say Kodos to the mayor.

The song I wrote is by no means intended to be offensive to others. In the mist of my music and writings. I wish to motivate others to do the right things. When I say black people I'm speaking to you, Stop making that Willie Lynch theory true. I'm saying stop to black-on-black crime. Because that is a crime shame Literally! We can all agree that blacks aren't the only ones experiencing crime. The world we are living in many times can be one sided. When in fact, it's always three sides to a story. It's your story, His story, that's where History come from. and in the middle lye's the truth.

I'm sure I speak for everyone when I say, we live in a world where we all should be free to have choices. Otherwise, what's the use of saying we live in a world governed by democracy. When every time something that will help the people out of oppression law makers are shooting it down. This is why I named my song "This for the Nay Sayers" Law makers and politicians can say Yay which is yes to things that would help benefit a lot of people.

Like prime example is our budget they want to say nay to a lucrative spending budget. When in fact the state doesn't pay their bills on time. We as citizens have consequences to deal with when we are late. But, sadly they shoot it down with a No which is how they vote in congress Nay. This is why I'll continue to sing my song. You must be in for a rude awaken Jackson Mississippi is not for the TakeN. Nah Nah Nah,.....NaNa NaNa Nah Nah!! This For The Nay Sayers!

album reviewshistory
1

About the Creator

Annette Wilson

I specialize in creative writing. Short Stories, poetry, books, music, movies, & more....Action ,thriller suspense. Rap....Hop Hip, R & B, hardcore, & gangsta lyric.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.