Beat logo

It's not just golden... It's Pam Golden

Pam Golden's titled track "Sugarland Bay" now available with album soon to follow.

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Pam Golden - "Sugarland Bay"

"Sugarland Bay" is the title song to a coming album that tells a story, overall, of a music festival that takes place in a fictional town called Sugarland Bay. Each song on the album to come will tell stories about events taking place in this town.

Pam Golden is a singer/songwriter in the Folk/Country Genre and is currently represented by Fly! Music Recording & Talent Management

She loves to write songs that paint a story about her life and the life around her and she has a close relationship with God. She's laid back, down-to-earth, and shares tidbits of wisdom through her music.

Pam Golden Q&A Interview

Q: Do you come from a musical family?

[Pam Golden] As far as I am aware, I am the first one who became musically inclined in my family. I, of course, passed it on to my children as well.

Q: Is there someone or something that inspired you to be part of the music industry?

[Pam Golden] Joni Mitchell is one of my biggest inspirations. I get a lot of influence from her work, as well as those of Carole King and James Taylor. I started writing my first officially released album (From Me… For You) in 2015, when I was first diagnosed with cancer. This was on top of an MS diagnosis that I had already been dealing with for 10 years. Music became my escape and my peace.

Q: How long have you been creating music?

[Pam Golden] Since 2005, when I first received my MS diagnosis. My first album that was released is, of course, far better than what I was creating then. HaHa.

Q: Do you have a preferred genre?

[Pam Golden] I like a lot of Folk/Singer-Songwriter music and Contemporary Christian.

Q: Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

[Pam Golden] I write and compose all my own material and Jeff Covert at Wally Cleavers Studio helps me with the mixing and mastering side of things.

Q: You recently released the 1st single from your upcoming album … is the album titled yet?

[Pam Golden] Yes, the album will be called “Sugarland Bay”, and the single is meant to be an introduction to the coming story.

Q: The single is called “Sugarland Bay”. Can you tell us a little about the song? What’s behind the name?

[Pam Golden] The song is an introduction to a story I created about a music festival that takes place in a small fictional town called Sugarland Bay. Each song on the album references to an event or story taking place within that town. The name of the town was just something I created, I thought it was catchy ha-ha.

Q. How has the reaction to “Sugarland Bay” been?

[Pam Golden] One of my followers commented on the song directly after hearing it for the first time. My label produced a promotional version of the song that had her review in the beginning of it. It can be heard here (SoundCloud). We have also had Sugarland Bay (and 3 others) aired (and are still airing) on the BMS Radio Network “Hits You Love Radio” out of Chicago, and have now charted 3 of those songs on BMS Radio Network Top 40 Chart (“Sleepy Lil’ Town” debuting at #25 and climbing to a current #19, “Season In Time” debuting at #10 with pending results for its second week in rotation, and I’ve been told that “Sugarland Bay” is also going to debut in the top 10). I am actually very pleased and amazed at the response that these songs have received. It is the beginning of the realization of a dream to me.

Q: Do you have any other plans relating to this release? A video?

[Pam Golden] I plan on telling the rest of the story. The remaining songs on the album are going to go into production in late January if all goes according to plan. I hope to have the album released before the end of the coming year.

Q: Are there any challenging aspects to writing and/or recording the upcoming album?

[Pam Golden] There are good days and bad days with the MS disorder, and of course it is always a challenge travelling to and from the studio, especially after COVID. Beyond that, when I can write and sing, I am at my peace.

Q: It looks like 2021 has been a creative year. You also released “From Me… For You”. Does this have anything to do with the pandemic or just feeling creative?

[Pam Golden] The “From Me… For You” album was a story about my journey of survival… of the many changes throughout my life, what I was hit with that year, all the things that God put on my heart… of everything. Although it had no ties to the pandemic itself, I could see where the message that the songs carry could be very appropriate to the time. It is also a message to my Kids and closest friends about how they can survive similar struggles, because the songs gave me encouragement and uplifting, and I wanted to see if maybe they could do the same for others.

Q: What is the best song you released to date and why?

[Pam Golden] “Sleepy Lil’ Town”, from my first album, is my most popular song to-date if we are going on statistics. But my favorite song that I have released (if I could only pick one) is “Season In Time”. It is a magnum-opus song, of sorts, that speaks about the changing effect of the seasons in our lives.

Q: What song do fans seem to favor?

[Pam Golden] “Sleepy Lil’ Town”, and recently “Angels My Way”.

Q: Are you interested in performing live?

[Pam Golden] It is not an impossibility, but my label is also considering licensing opportunities for other artists to perform the songs I write. My fingers aren’t what they used to be Ha-ha. It would be much easier, maybe, if I had a guitarist, because I love singing my own songs.

Q: Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

[Pam Golden] Season In Time, most definitely. I had such a blast with Jeff in the studio layering those harmony tracks and it was just such fun to write and record. It is certainly one of my favorites so far.

Q: Share a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your career.

[Pam Golden] There have been quite a few magical moments just in the past couple of years. Every day is a magical moment to me because not every day is guaranteed or promised. I had some pretty-magical moments when I first released Sleepy Lil Town and Season In Time (which at the time were singles). The overall experience of distributing and making music I feel like is a milestone accomplishment. It feels amazing just to see people coming to my Spotify and listening to the songs… it makes it seem surreal.

Q: Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

[Pam Golden] I suppose I’d like to visit the U.K. I have friends over there (including one of my dearest friends, Lorna). I think it would be cool to do shows in some of the states over there.

Q: Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

[Pam Golden] I want to establish my own legacy. A memory of me and the things I have to share with everyone I love, and the people around me. I’m not just telling my stories, but the stories of everything around me as well, and the picture-perfect memories that they paint for me.

Q: How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

[Pam Golden] I absolutely DESPISE the internet Ha-ha. What I mean to say is that, for me, it is a technical nightmare. I leave most of the internet promotion and engagement up to my label and Managers. Fly! Music does a pretty good job at getting it out there. They also let me know when any of my followers want to get in touch.

Q: What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

[Pam Golden] I’d say it is probably easiest to contact me through my label via their website and email. www.FlyMusicAgency.com

I do have an official artist page on Facebook if anyone would like to interact there. www.facebook.com/PamGoldenMusic.

Q: Is there something you would like to say, that I didn't cover?

[Pam Golden] I want to thank God for each and every day that I receive, and every word of inspiration that is whispered directly from him. I want to thank Jeff Covert, a recording artist at Wally Cleaver’s Recording Studio, for showing me the ropes in a lot of the recording aspects of songwriting, and for helping me to compose not just my first album, but what I hope will soon become my second album! I also want to thank all of my Children, Tommy, Jessie, and Tyler, for the enormous amount of encouragement and will they have given me to carry on.

mysoundMusic will be sure to keep you up to date on Pam Golden's album release.

interview
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.