Beat logo

It's Bliss To The Ears Listening To Music At Night

Nights harmonies evoke the day

By ABPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy from Pexels.

Investing further in my music fandom, I would listen to music daily. I'll play the CDs I burned through my laptop in the morning. Through the hallways at school, I'll play music at full volume. I'll listen to music after hours when sleep seems nonexistent.

Though I enjoyed music every waking hour, I found solace in melody at night. So I would grab my iPhone 4 and partake in the latest songs I deemed terrific during the twilight hours. I would then head for my musty brown couch and forget any responsibilities I failed at attending. The homework I didn't complete would remain unfinished. Yet it won't matter; I'll still become a millionaire model. My dreams of being rich will hold.

I plopped burned CDs into my PS3, relaxing on my musty brown couch. Of course, I desired to buy these CDs, but I was a teenager whose parents thought it unwise to have a massive collection of CDs and vinyl. If my parents had agreed to purchase said records, I would've felt ashamed; the albums are awful. Regardless, those burned CDs remain a memento of teenage pleasures.

The other reminder is I can't stop reciting the lyrics to a song:

Stay for tonight if you want to

I can show you what my dreams are made of

As I'm dreamin' of your face

Afterward, I leave the stuffy brown sofa, position myself comfortably in bed, and then put in my earbuds, letting what trickles to close out the night. In my newly discovered music fandom, I encountered what others called real music: anything that wasn't on the charts or played on the radio. My newfound appreciation shed the veil of my youth, and I learned my true identity: a rock and metal fan. The persona suited me well.

Given my frame of mind, I would listen to anything sounding heavy and with guitars. Too bad my real music experience went beyond the newest bands to hit the scene. These guys were heavy enough that I would ignore all the fantastic bands who released music during the last century. But, soon after, I opened my musical awareness, and everything I felt missing in life would realign. Still, I wish I had heard of them sooner.

The newest metal band (if I can call them metal) was Crown the Empire and Born of Osiris. Two bands with great names, but Born of Osiris, had more allure. By hearing Born of Osiris, you know what to expect. Crown the Empire had the same energy as Born of Osiris but wasn't as heavy.

In bed, I would hear Crown the Empire's latest track, "The Fallout." My mind drifted between sleep and awake, enlivened by the synthesizer elements paired with screaming and a hard rock instrumental. I wanted to headbang, but I preserved my energy for Born of Osiris and their song, "Machine."

The pitch black of my room elevated "Machine's" shuddering screams interlaced with the down-tuned six-string guitars, soothing any sleepless night. Forget about school. I want to stay here forever.

After an encore of "The Fallout" and "Machine," I would lie to rest with music playing at high volume. The earbuds would press against my pillow, but it didn't matter. Clashing sounds would ease me to sleep, expecting them when I roused.

Two weeks ago, I listened to music to relive the night experience. I found refuge in music, as I didn't watch TV before I slept; my profound exhaustion and tense pressure in my body made it uneasy viewing television. So instead, I adapted to music, seeing if playing songs at night was inviting, as I recall.

What I sought, I received. The years of closing out my day with timbre, the melody of music would ease my pain. With the rediscovery, dread will no longer endure if the music keeps playing.

Keep the rhythm following as it leads to a day better than the last.

metal
2

About the Creator

AB

I’m a certified music weirdo and aficionado—a lover of movies and TV with an emphasis on the obscure.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lizveth Del Valleabout a year ago

    Wow, I share a ton of your story here. Also got into metal around the mid-late oughts as a teen. Also blasted a ton of bands while trying to go to sleep in order to Stop Thinking About Problems, and I also haven't gone back to that in such long while. Gonna do that tonight with the newest Whitechapel album. I think it'll be healing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.