Beat logo

It is the Journey not the Destination

music for traveling

By yanina maysonetPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
9

Long plane rides are the worst. I am not afraid to fly, in fact, I actively like to have a window seat to look out at the clouds. That being said, if a flight of mine ventures over the three hour mark then I tend to start getting restless.

I travel with my laptop to watch movies or to write but sometimes I just want close my eyes and relax on a plane ride. This often depends on the plane and the seat but this Journey Playlist has always helped me stay excited for any long trip I am taking.

I love to travel. Though I have been grounded for months now like most of you it has not stopped me from dreaming of my next adventure. I have visited a few fascinating places in the world over the years. I was born in Puerto Rico and traveled to the United States to settle in Maryland (the greatest state) when I was a child. Since then though I have taken many other fun plane rides.

Some of my favorite trips were when I went to Iceland, Scotland, Savannah, GA, and New Orleans, LA. Some of my harder trips were when I went to Spain or England. Some I was so tired that I just fell asleep. Others I was wide awake and more anxious than ever as well as bored. Music has helped me through those very long flights.

I speak Spanish and English so this playlist contains songs in both languages. I find that sometimes Spanish is a more expressive language than English. I think it depends on my mood if I want to be demonstrative or concise. What I know for sure is that when I arrive in a new place I have never been before I become my most adventurous self.

Wanderlust is a real thing.

Travel brings out a particular wildness in me. I want to see all there is to see, know all there is to know, eat all there is to eat. It is an innocent thing full of joy and wonder. Sometimes though the work it takes to travel can be overwhelming. Getting through an airport, dragging your suitcases, making sure you are on track with your schedule...all of these things tense my shoulders just thinking about them.

The goal of this playlist was to unwind from those feelings. I wanted to be reminded what I was going through all that stress for. There was a goal at the end of the difficult tasks that would be rewarding.

I am at my most creative when I am on a journey.

Growth is stagnant when you are in the same, familiar situation. When you can predict your day then you are going to find it difficult to find inspiration. When I travel, I have an idea of what I want to see or where I want to go. Yet I do not often stay on that set path. I like to wander into shops, I like to try to get a feel for a place, I like to try new and daring things.

Most of all though, I like to write about what I feel when I am there. I have been through a few journals in my time but my favorite to read through again are my travel journals. It is a snapshot of who I was then, of what I felt, and that to me is the best part of traveling. You are getting to know yourself in a new environment. There is no greater peace.

Music is a universal storyteller.

Human beings have been telling stories since we first bipedal walked upon this world. Art in cave walls is a story being told. It is not always easy to interpret others and their stories. Language can be a barrier, as can culture, but something that captures both of those things and somehow transcends them is music.

We all have songs in other languages that we may not understand the words being said but we connect to the emotion being displayed. With the rise of KPOP that has never been more present in American culture than now.

So, enjoy this multi-language playlist centered around that exciting feeling of traveling and seeing the world.

travel
9

About the Creator

yanina maysonet

I love to write fiction stories of the supernatural, romance, high fantasy, or science fiction variety. A bit of a baby, a bit of a rolling stone, just doing my best to avoid getting arrested. @ziggyer5 on the instagram.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.