Beat logo

It is Music

Music and Life

By Edward D Iannielli IIIPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Being True

Music is the essence of life. I connect to songs that mirror happenings and circumstances in my life. I have many songs that touch me in profound ways and has brought peace and happiness to my soul and songs that bring tears of sorrow and sadness. Life is filled with happy and sad moments so a song can bring us both joy and feelings of melancholy. Music takes us back in time to our days of innocence and youth. I remember when I was growing up as a young child my mom would sing music to me to help me sleep and calm me with her gentle voice that would forever touch my heart. My mom loved Elvis Presley, the Beatles, The Four Seasons and Peter, Paul & Mary. Naturally through her I came to love that music too. Every time I hear Peter, Paul and Mary’s “Blowin’ In The Wind” I remember the times my mom would sing this to me as a young boy as I would slowly drift off to sleep.

Every time I hear this song it makes me both happy and sad as it brings me back to that beautiful time when life seemed so perfect and I felt loved and protected. My mom is long gone now but the memories are forever tucked away in my heart and I once again feel joy.

Life is beautiful, short and sweet. That is why music is so special and also beautiful.

I have been an avid lover of music all throughout my life and feel that my life has been enhanced in so many ways because of it. I can’t envision a world without music just like I can’t envision a world without birds, honeybees, butterflies and caterpillars.

I remember when I would go to my little league baseball games my dad would put on the radio and we’d listen to the music of the late 1960’s and early 1970’s which by far is my favorite music of all time. I can rattle off all the bands we would listen to and the songs we would love to hear as I would ask my dad to get the “45” so I could listen on our old turntable record player which was state of the art back in the 1970’s.

My dad’s song was Arlo Guthrie’s “The City of New Orleans”. It struck a chord with him and it was the rhythm and the lyrics that connected with him.

There’s something about music that has to be viewed in its totality and not isolated in a vacuum! There is no one song that’s my favorite because music is like our emotions. Always changing! We don’t have one favorite food at least not I. Our tastes vary and it depends on the mood we’re in.

The same goes for music. I listen to all kinds of music and my choice is based on the mood I’m in. If I’m having a good day I can close my eyes and pick any song but if I’m having not such a good day I like to listen to soft music that soothes and comforts me.

Music spans all kinds of genres and all kinds of artists and all kinds of styles. Music is life and life is music and they are inseparable!

What would a wedding be without music? The celebratory “Wedding March” is played at most weddings all throughout the world and it is the very expression of love, joy and marriage bliss. The song chosen for a wedding couple’s first dance is carefully selected with mutual agreement to the delight of all who share in the celebration.

Music can bring us back to our high school days. My favorite song back then The Knack’s “My Sharona” I loved this song because it represented a love that could not be expressed which I was accustomed to.

A song from the bubblegum era of the 1960’s that I love still today is “Sugar Sugar” by the Archies. It brings me back to being an 8 year old boy who felt such a connection to the sweetest song ever that I treasured as a child and always looked forward to listening to.

Music has played a big role in my relationship with my son and he appreciates the music I grew up to as he enjoys it as much as I like I enjoyed my parents music. A song that my son and I enjoy equally is Jim Croce’s “Time in a bottle” and Harry Chapin’s “Cat’s in the cradle” which is musical magic as it connects parent and child all throughout the ages.

It is lyrical poetry.

It is music.

https://youtu.be/5tdj2_KSGJ0

Emily Iannielli

Dedicated to my son.

70s music
2

About the Creator

Edward D Iannielli III

Music, poetry, essay and creative writing is what makes me feel alive. I’m an artist of the spoken word. in other words I’m a spoke word artist who finds magic in self expression and writing from my heart. My life’s both simple and complex.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.