Beat logo

ISO ZAH—NEXT UP

ISO ZAH

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Zahir Whitfield, famously known as Iso Zah, is an American music artist and songwriter from Charlotte, NC originally born and raised in Philadelphia, PA. My signature style is a blend of cool rap flows, infused with R&B melodies. In the summer of 2019, I released my project ‘Everybody Loves Summer’. This generated a crazy buzz that helped me get noticed by platinum-selling artist Blac Youngsta. Right before joining Blac Youngsta’s ‘Church On Sunday’ 2020 tour in January, I released my single “HONDA” (Prod. by Deskhop). In May, I dropped my 3rd notable EP titled “The Iso EP III” along with a few visuals.

What makes you different as a person and as an artist?

I know the biggest thing that makes me different is I have never been known to follow trends or what’s popular. Even though I am an artist, I still have a master’s degree in computer science. I want people to know that its cool to be educated and pursue your dreams. I think that alone shows people that I am different. In regards to music, I focus on creating my own sound. I make music about what I do and what I have experienced personally. I rap and I sing and that allows me to create music for different audiences and moods.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I want to accomplish a lot but one of my main goals is to support my family financially. I want to be able to buy my family whatever it is they want and need. They have done so much for me that I just want to return the favor beyond imaginable. I don’t want any of them to have to work a job they don’t want to. I also want to continue to motivate and inspire the youth. Growing up I was always inspired by those who accomplished great things or just held themselves to a higher standard. I plan to do the same for those younger than me.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years, I see myself headlining major tours in the US and overseas. I really love performing and being able to perform in other countries would be amazing. Around that time I also see myself being in a position to explore my interests that aren’t music relate. Basketball has pretty much been a part of my life since I could walk, so I can see myself getting involved as minority owner for a team. The NBA would be dope, but any league whether it be overseas, The Big 3 or TBT. I would be open to exploring options. Right now I focus on the day to day grind. I still have a lot to accomplish and sometimes it’s hard to picture what the future holds. As I said earlier, I want to be in the position to fully support my family financially. I just know I am going to keep grinding and putting out the best product I can.

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring a new sound, positive vibes and uplifting music to the music world. I rap about my college days, my work ethic, cars and of course girls. In my journey as an upcoming artist there have been road-blocks, but I rap about how I handled these situations and what keeps me motivated. You won’t hear me make music based around violence. That’s not what I represent. I like to make music that makes people feel good. My music can be energetic, relaxing, mindful, for the club and for the cookout! I got something that all people can connect to.

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

At the end of the day I want to inspire people. I want to be viewed as someone who people can relate to. I want people who look like me to know that if they work hard and stayed focused, they can accomplish their dreams. People gain hope and motivation from music. I want my music to have that type of impact on people. I want to be known as someone who stayed genuine, true and made it in the game by creating their own path.

interview
1

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.