Beat logo

Interview With the Star of Tubi Hit Movie “Pure Finesse”, Ponzo Houdini

Vocal Music Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 12 months ago 5 min read
Like

Inspirational and Veteran music artist, Dallas Ponzo Jr. best known as Ponzo Houdini wasn’t always persistent with music. In fact, life started out very troubling. His parents separated when he was younger due to his mother’s struggle with drug addiction. His Father, Grandmother, and Aunt primarily raised Ponzo and his younger brother.

In grade school, Ponzo was an honor roll student until he reached high school. At age 14, he started hanging out in the street and started selling weed. Then at age 17, he started to sell crack cocaine which was the same substance that changed his Mother's life in a negative way.

In 2008, Ponzo served one year in the county jail for drug possession which was unfortunately followed by another charge in 2011 which lead him to State Prison for 2 years for the same charges. Ponzo was released in 2013, then came home focused and ready to turn his life around, by doing so, Ponzo started his own label, “Cake Boss Life Entertainment”.

In 2014, a year after his release from prison, Ponzo cut off his GPS monitoring device and went on the run. During this time, Ponzo continued to pursue his music career. He released a mixtape titled “Wanted” on DatPiff. After saving up money from his music and street hustle, Ponzo turned himself in and finished out the remainder of his sentence, and returned at the top of 2015. He has since then released 10 albums via all major streaming platforms and has toured around the world and released some of the most exclusive clothing with his “Hustler Dreams” clothing brand.

Ponzo Houdini has also starred in several movies and has a major starring role in the movie Pure Finesse as “Maine”. Pure Finesse is the #1 Most Popular Movie on Tubi right now. Ponzo Houdini didn’t stop there with the Film/TV industry, he has one of the most talked about reality shows “For The Love Of Ponzo” which can be viewed by downloading The Next Network on Roku Tv or Amazon Fire Tv.

Success is the only option for Ponzo Houdini and his work ethic proves it.

We’re excited to learn about how your reality series “For The Love Of Ponzo”. What has been some feedback from those who have watched the series?

Ponzo: The feedback for my reality show “For The Love Of Ponzo” has been great. I mean I expected the viewers to love it but they really love it. They actually are enjoying the fact that they get to see another side of me outside of hearing the music and seeing me act in the movies. With the show, they get to see me being my authentic self.

How would you describe your style of music as a professional music artist?

Ponzo: My style of music is Motivational Music. I provide that Rich Energy.

What messages do you try to send through your creativity?

Ponzo: I just try to uplift my fans and show them that they can overcome anything they put their mind to. And I just tell them my story through my music because most of my fans can relate.

What would you say are some unique characteristics you possess that have carried you to this vast point of success?

Ponzo: My drive and hustle are unmatched. Nobody can out hustle me, that’s why I’m more successful than artists that are signed to major deals.

You never know who you can inspire or whose life you can save by sharing your story with others. When you share your incarceration story how does it make you feel? What impact do you aspire to make by sharing your perseverance story?

Ponzo: When sharing my story it’s like therapy and it’s really my testimony of where I came from. I just want my fans to be able to learn from my experience and use my journey as motivation.

Did you always want to be an actor? How did the transition from music artist to movie star flow for you?

Ponzo: I always knew since a child I was going to be famous in the entertainment industry. I feel like acting fits right in and aligns with my music career because I’m just being my authentic self even when acting in movies. All this stuff is supposed to happen, it’s my destiny to be successful in the industry.

Is there anything you haven’t accomplished yet that you hope to do so one day?

Ponzo: One of the things I want to do is buy the apartment buildings I grew up in so I can say I really own my hood.

What else would you like our readers to know about you and the work that you do?

Ponzo: I just want the people to stay tuned and tapped in because I’m about to take over the world this year. The Biggest Ever!

Appreciate y’all for having me! It’s Ponzo Houdini (Cake Boss Cake Boss)

More on Ponzo Houdini

Raised in The Jefferson Projects in Downtown Buffalo, NY National Recording Artist launched his career in 2007. His first song “You A Lame” got him nominated As the Best New Hip Hop Artist in the 2008 Buffalo Hip Hop Awards. Over the years Ponzo Houdini has toured and worked with artists such as Future, Oj Da Juiceman, Benny The Butcher, Griselda, Tsu Surf, Zaytoven, O’Mega Red, and more.

Keep up to date with this shining star:

Instagram @ponzohoudini

Facebook Ponzo Houdini

Twitter @ponzohoudini

TikTok @ponzohoudini

IMDb Ponzo Houdini

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.