Beat logo

Influential Women You Should Know: DEI Consultant and Poet Bishop Colette Matthews-Carter

Vocal Creators Poet Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 8 min read
Like

It is our distinct pleasure to introduce our readers to Bishop Colette Matthews-Carter.

Service, perseverance and grace are the hallmarks of the life and work of Bishop Colette Matthews-Carter. A former government official, she is currently employed as the Director of The El-Hindi Center for Dialogue & Action at InterFaith Works CNY. She has been a DEI practitioner, consultant, speaker, and trainer for over 20 years. She has a passion for the Arts especially poetry. She is currently working on a book of poetry that chronicles her life.

Please tell us the back story of how you became a DEI Consultant. What does this work entail and what have you been working on in this field as of late?

Bishop Colette: I began my journey on the compliance side of the DEI industry. In the late 90’s I worked as the Deputy Commissioner of Community Development for the City of Syracuse. In this role, I had oversight of contract compliance and MWBE utilization goals for City projects. Fortunately, DEI has evolved over the years to involve more than just metrics.

Presently, the focus is on the creation of a truly inclusive environment where all employees are encouraged to show up as their authentic selves. Research supports that inclusive work environments where employees feel a sense of belongingness are more productive and retention is higher. So not only is inclusivity profitable but it also elevates morale.

In addition, companies are interested in diversifying their workforce to reflect the global landscape. Much of the work I do today is helping businesses, colleges /universities, and organizations integrate a successful DEI target into their strategic plan. The key is to find the balance of diversity, equity, and inclusion.

In my role as the Director of the Center for Dialogue & Action at InterFaith Works CNY, I lead a talented team of dialogue professionals who facilitate training using a dialogic model to help people have difficult conversations about bias, stereotypes, and impediments to inclusion. The strategy of dialogue helps break down barriers and walls by helping people see each other as human. We also provide DEI trainings and action planning. My team and I are currently working on a number of projects that include work at SUNY Oswego, the City of Syracuse Police Department, and a number of school districts in Onondaga County and Madison County. I also provide consulting services as a part of my work in this field. I routinely serve on panels and lend my expertise as a keynote around strategies for effective social impact and the implementation of DEI.

We share your love for the arts and congratulate you on your upcoming poetry book. What does writing poetry mean to you personally and what impact do you want to make in the world as a poet?

Bishop Colette: Thank you. Writing is a labor of love that I hope to share with the world. I began writing poetry when I was a teenager. At the time, it was an outlet that helped me make sense of my life. I published my first poem when I was 14 years old. Since then, I’ve written off and on. Recently, I’ve reconnected with my muse and I’m writing again.

For me, writing poetry is an expression of my thoughts and life experiences. Through poetry, I am able to tell my otherwise painful story through symbolism and metaphors. I hope to connect with others with similar backgrounds and give voice to the voiceless through the written word. Ultimately, I’d like to give hope to women and girls. Hope that no matter what they’ve experienced — life gets better. I want them to dig deep and know that they can come out of any situation and the darkest hour is truly just before the day.

What are some of the topics you touch on in your poetry? Why are these topics vital for you to express through storytelling?

Bishop Colette: I have a need to tell my story and to give voice to my birth mother who lived and died tragically. Even though I’ve never met her, I feel her presence with me. She was a young teen mother who died of complications as a result of childbirth. But of course, there is a back story.

Although her life was short, her story is powerful and she lives through me. I write about her and the struggles of black women. I write about love, tragedy, and triumph. I write about survival, hope, and faith. I write about destiny, divinity, and dreams. I write from a deep place of discovery and truth. It’s that truth that gives me freedom. It’s always the truth that sets us free.

Please tell us about “Strange Land”.

Bishop Colette: Yes, Strange Land is a poem that talks about my discovery of the way my birth mother died. She was 15 when she conceived me and the circumstance of how she came to be with child is tragic. I use a lot of biblical symbolism and I reference Billie Holiday’s song Strange Fruit because of the pain and emotion in her voice. My birth mother died as a result of childbirth — giving birth to me the “river baby.”

Can you share that poem with our readers?

Bishop Colette: Yes, I’m honored to share.

Strange Land By Bishop Colette Matthews-Carter

Strange land is where I sing

The decree of my Queen

The pain of her death

Makes Zion ring

Strange fruit hanging

From an even stranger tree

Thank you Billie, I’m free

Prose plus poetry

Probably just a figment

This dark pigment cannot compare

I need glory not the glare

River baby, stares down the truth

I need proof

I need proof

At this stage now

I’m the sage now

I wage love not war

I’ve seen your face

Your dark brown eyes

We’ve both found grace

River baby is resurrected

In this holy place

What a beautiful poem. I got chills. Well done! Do you ever experience challenges of creative doubt? If so, how do you overcome those moments?

Bishop Colette: Yes, absolutely. One of my greatest challenges is learning to trust my creative choices. Even when the words seem to flow — I find myself second-guessing what I’ve written. To overcome this tendency, I just write free flow and then I revisit my poetry a few days later. Letting my writings “rest” for a little while helps me read them in a clear head space.

What are you most excited about for 2023?

Bishop Colette: I am excited about living in the next chapter of my life. I’m excited about growing as a writer, speaker, and creative. For so long, I’ve put these goals on hold but I’m ready to step out and pursue them. I would like to inspire women from all walks of life to also pursue their aspirations and dreams. I would particularly like to give voice to Black women who are struggling. I want them to know that life gets better and that they are enough.

What else would you like our readers to know about yourself? What is on your heart to share? Any exclusive news we can be on the lookout for?

Bishop Colette: Yes, one of the lessons I’ve learned is to give myself grace and to be gentle with myself. I’d like to pass along this understanding to others. Life is complex and messy at times — we have to extend grace and love to ourselves. I am planning a few wellness & empowerment events for women this year to unpack this wisdom.

What advice would you have for aspiring poets?

Bishop Colette: I would share with aspiring poets to remain consistent and authentic. No one can tell your story like you. Don’t be afraid to put your words on paper. Words are alive. Words heal. Words share hope. Words give life.

More on Bishop Colette Matthews-Carter

A community advocate and civic leader, Bishop Carter is the immediate past president of the Syracuse/Onondaga NAACP. She is a graduate of the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs at Syracuse University, earning a degree in Political Science. She completed graduate work at Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School in Rochester, NY. Matthews-Carter has served in the pastorate for 25 years. She was the first woman licensed and ordained through the Northeastern District Baptist Association. She is the pastor emeritus of the Zion Hill World Harvest Baptist Church and prelate of the Covenant Fellowship of Churches Inc. She also serves as the Chaplain for NYSAC (New York State Association of Counties).

Bishop Carter is the recipient of numerous leadership awards and commendations including the; New York State Senate “Woman of Distinction”, the Delta Sigma Theta “Marjorie Dowdell Fortitude Award”, and the Omega Psi Phi “Citizen of the Year Award.” Additionally, she is the recipient of The Alliance of Communities Transforming Syracuse “2021 Leadership Award” and the 2022 “President’s Award” given by The Interdenominational Ministerial Alliance. In 2021, City and State publication listed her among the “Upstate New York Power 100.” Bishop Carter has served on several boards and currently serves on the YMCA CNY; CNY Arts; Leadership Greater Syracuse, and the Rosamond Gifford Zoo. She strives to embody the ideals of Dr. King’s “Beloved Community.”

Bishop Carter is married to her best friend and business partner Alex. Together, they own LexCo Enterprises Inc., a consultant and management company. They reside in Baldwinsville, New York.

Connect on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/colette.matthewscarter/

feature
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.