Beat logo

Indigiqueer artist Roger Kuhn Releases Two Spirit Anthem

His colorful single celebrates Individuals who combine both genders

By Ben NelsonPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
1
Roger Kuhn photo by Bjorn Bolinder

It wasn’t until his mid 20s when Indigiqueer artist Roger Kuhn discovered what it meant to be Two-Spirit. Coined by Dr. Myra Laramee of the Fisher River Cree Nation in 1990, Two-Spirit is used to signify male, female, and intersexed individuals who combine activities of both gender traits. In most tribes like the one Roger is a descendant of, they are considered neither men nor women; they occupy a distinct, alternative gender status.

Kuhn describes his gender and sexuality as circular, with multiples shapes, colors, expressions, and beauty. He sings about it in “Kaleidoscope,” his new dance song rooted in classic house and progressive EDM that is his latest example of capturing hearts and minds with his music and activism.

In 2022, he was featured in the Levi's Pride campaign, underscoring his pivotal role in promoting awareness and acceptance within the Two-Spirit community.

His new single, "Kaleidoscope," is meant to depict his coming out of a dark period, finding inner strength, and celebrating liberation. It asks listeners: what do you believe? and what does it mean to be free?

“Finding happiness and satisfaction is key in life,” Kuhn explains. It is why after working as a psychotherapist for the past decade, he decided to take time away from his practice and prioritize his creative expression once again. “I love being a music artist. It allows me to live my ultimate purpose and celebrate my authentic self.”

The lyrics in “Kaleidoscope” reflect on his joy. He sings about flying through the sky, never being so high, and how he can’t believe he’s not falling. He says that is who he is when he is performing live or writing songs. He explains more from his home in Los Angeles.

How would you describe your music style?

Roger Kuhn: My music style is best defined as eclectic.

What influences your sound?

Roger Kuhn:I am inspired by many different genres and artists. My sound is the influenced by acoustic guitar, edm beats, 80s synth music, melodic soundscapes.

What is your creative process like when writing and recording music?

Roger Kuhn: I like to have space around me: physical, emotional, and mental. I desire spaciousness because I can be generous with my time. I am most creative in the mornings and love early morning writing and recording sessions.

Roger Kuhn photo by Bjorn Bolinder

Why was it important for you to release Kaleidoscope now?

Roger Kuhn: I took a break from my private psychotherapy practice to pursue my creative endeavors, which includes releasing a book, Somacultural Liberation. “Kaleidoscope” represents my decision to trust my creative drive and lean into the vulnerability of uncertainty a bit.

What are your future goals and plans for your music career?

Roger Kuhn: I am almost finished working on a new album with producer, Velvet Code. My plan is to tour the album with the intention of making it to Europe for some shows.

How do you approach performing live and what makes a great live show for you?

Roger Kuhn: I sing all my own lead vocals so I am always careful on show days to be gentle with my voice and I take the time to stretch my body and warm up my vocal cords. Connecting with an audience is the most important aspect of a great live show and I always want my audience to feel the gratitude I have for them.

Thoughts on technology and social media to promote your music and connect with fans?

Roger Kuhn: Music as a career or a job is a lot like gambling. Sometimes you are incredibly lucky and hit the jackpot. Other times, no luck. Technology and social media make the business side slightly easier because you have a broader reach, although wrestling with algorithms is another topic.

How do you handle criticism and trolls?

Roger Kuhn: On the topic of trolls, I remind myself they are just people reacting from a place of fear. They fear their own liberation so they try to disrupt the liberation of others .

Roger Kuhn’s “Kaleidoscope” is being distributed by So Fierce Music/The Orchard/Sony Music Entertainment and is available now on Apple Music, Spotify, and all digital platforms.

Visit www.rogerkuhn.com and follow him on Instagram

alternative
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.