Beat logo

I WAS IN LOVE WITH THE KING

He played the guitar and sang

By rose m lewisPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
ELVIS WAS THE KING

It was a long time ago, I can still remember seeing Elvis on the television. I remember sitting in the living room and watching the Ed Sullivan show. When Ed Sullivan introduced Elvis to the world! I watched him, and at that time I wished I was seated at the Ed Sullivan show. Elvis was singing and playing the guitar. He was shaking his body with the rhythm singing That's All Right Ma Ma! Then as soon as it started the gig was over with. I wanted to watch him more but Ed Sullivan put someone else on his show. I was hoping Elvis would sing again but it was not to be. I told my Mom I wanted the record Elvis sang and I loved seeing him play. I was a young teenager, I had a boyfriend and both of us loved to dance. We went to all the school dances, and when we danced everyone watched us. I told my boyfriend about Elvis and told him I wanted his song. My boyfriend would do anything for me and I knew it! We went to the store but we did not find the record. I was greatly disappointed we could not find it. The next day I was listening to the radio when all of a sudden Elvises song played. My mom was in the other room and I called her. She came and listened to the song and she liked it. I asked her if she would buy the song for me but she did not have the extra money. I was on the lookout for the song I wanted it so bad!

At school, I asked everyone if they heard of Elvis, and they said no they have not! I asked if they watched the Ed Sullivan show and they said no to that too! Was I the only one watching the Ed Sullivan show? They told me that they watched American Band Stand I told them I did too. I wanted to know what happened to this guy who shook his body like that. I saw him once will I see him again on tv? Again I was watching the Ed Sullivan show and Elvis was on it again. This time he sang a different song and I loved the song Jail House Rock! I asked myself who was this guy? I wanted both of his songs but I could not find the records anywhere! I also was getting a crush on this Elvis guy! But I knew I would never get to meet him personally.

As I grew into a young woman, I fell in love with Elvis. I kept it to myself, by that time he recorded many records, I bought them all. Elvis was making movies too and he was very famous! I had a new boyfriend and we were really getting along great. He lived in New York City and I lived in a small town called Darien Connecticut. I was preparing for my high school graduation. I was studying a lot because I had many tests in all my classes. It was hard but I did it and I passed all the tests. I was proud of myself and my family was too. I had my graduation and married the boy from New York. I never did tell him that I had a crush on Elvis but my husband asked me and I told him. He also liked Elvis he bought his records too. Then one day my husband came home with two tickets to see Elvis at Madison Square Garden! I screamed and hugged him I also kissed him. I could not wait to go to the concert and see him! When we saw Elvis I was very happy and grateful my husband bought the tickets. The crush I had for Elvis was gone and I realized I had my own life and so did Elvis!

celebrities
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.