Beat logo

I Met The King On LA Brea

The Marathon Continues

By The OtherNYPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
I Met The King On LA Brea
Photo by Mike Von on Unsplash

Through my adventures in entertainment out in LA, I met and worked with some cool people. Some people became like family and still are, some people let LA eat their brain up, and I go “non-comm” on them. Of all the connections I’ve made in the city of angels, the most brief interaction end up being my most valued.

It’s a Sunday afternoon, I’m riding up La Brea...on one of those Wheels electric scooters (the Wheels scooters aren’t as lame as the bird scooters, you get a seat, and you could sync your music) heading to Sugarfish for some sushi. I get maybe 500 feet away from 1st street, and park the scooter, I wasn’t trying to look super lame jumping off the scooter and walking into the popular boujee sushi spot. As I walk closer to first street I notice a maybach just about to double park, a young girl gets out the passenger side, then a tall lanky dude hops out the driver side. Before he fully turned around to walk from the door, I thought he was either Brandon Ingram or Nipsey Hussle.

It was none other than the King of LA, Nipsey Hussle with his daughter . I’ve worked in music for years, so I know the code with dealing with rappers, and I’m a rapper myself when I choose to be. But This is Nipsey with his daughter, so there’s a few codes at play, active LA gang member, major artist, father out with his child. In my mind, I’m like nah Tone you can’t just NOT acknowledge Nip, but at the same time I’m thinking I’ll see him on another occasion in a smoother setting where I might actully be introduced to him. As he walked around the car, we both threw the universal black man nod of respect, and before I could say anything he acknowledged me first “Peace OG” I replied “Peace King.” Cuz embraced me, I’m thinking he about to keep it moving , or give me the west coast dap, Nip really gave me that east coast we known each other for years pound, him doing that spoke volumes about his character. In a sense, I’ve known Nip for years through his music, interviews and a handful of mutual associates. But I’m not one to name drop my associations for validation, I’m big on having my own connection with people, especially musicians. So I kept it organic, I told him “I knew that was either Brandon Ingram or Nip Hussle hopping out that double parked Bach, he laughed then I told him it’s an honor to meet him, Victory Lap is a classic, and that I’m grateful for his uplifting scriptures over the years, he smiled and said I really appreciate you bro, dapped me one more time, I raised my hand to wave and acknowledge his daughter, they walked into Undefeated and I walked into Sugarfish to get my sushi on. I feel like he would’ve spoke longer, but I was being extra respectful, because I know how I can be when I’m with my daughter. I was almost sure I’d see him again in a different setting, maybe with mutual associates present. I’ve heard so many good stories about him being a down to earth genuine guy, he definitely lived up to and exceeded his reputation in less than three minutes. Although the interaction was short, it was memorable and indeed a great one. Long Live Nipsey Hussell Tha Great,I wish nothing but peace and abundance to his family, and loved ones. The Marathon Continues King.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.