Beat logo

I'm Beginning to See the Light

Inspiration from the "First Lady of Song"

By Brandon VermeerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

When I was about sixteen years old I was trying to work up the courage to sing. I was extremely self-conscious about my voice and felt like I had absolutely no talent. However, I eventually made the decision to see my high school music teacher and discuss the possibility of voice lessons. When I started practicing with her, my voice sounded small and weak, due to fear of performing in front of others. Overtime, I slowly began to grow more comfortable. And that is when I was introduced to Ella Fitzgerald, the “First Lady of Song.”

My teacher handed me a copy of “Sunday Kind of Love” and recommended that I listen to a recording by Ella before we started practicing together. So, that evening I went home and fell in love with Jazz.

Ella opened up my eyes to how incredibly and gorgeously complex the jazz world can be. I was blown away by the intensity and true talent of her voice. How romantic the tones can be, sultry, sweet, comforting and brilliantly mastered. Don’t even get me started on how astounding her skills are when it comes to improvisation. When you try to picture what the style and meaning of jazz music looks like, you will later see that Ella is the perfect representation that encapsulates the jazz image.

If you know singing, you will understand when I say that there are certain genres that best suite people’s voices. For example, I know I cannot belt out the kind of volume and aggressive notes that rock singers possess. However, when I started to sing “Sunday Kind of Love” I had a magical revolution. My voice was able to produce the sultry power that a jazz performer needs to obtain. This quality surprised myself and my teacher. And it was all thanks to Ella.

Another characteristic about Fitzgerald that I find to be truly inspirational is how she can be a powerful symbol, encouraging women to embrace their talents and not let anybody stop them from pursuing their dreams. Ella I am sure, faced many challenges during her times. Women worked hard to earn any ounce of respect and to be recognized for their gifts. And not only was Ella a woman, but she was a black women. Sadly, there were still many people in those days who did not treat black people with the respect and equality that they so rightfully deserved. I am so proud of Ella, to work through those hardships and show the world that she has earned her spot as a well-recognized, truly blessed jazz singer. Yes, it is correct that women have many more opportunities today, but just try to imagine what it would have been like to live in the forties. Where women had to fight for their rights.

We can look to Ella as another symbol in history, another brave fighter, who won the battle and worker her way up to the top.

Therefore, not only did Ella help to inspire me to sing jazz, but she also inspired confidence in me. A quality I was greatly lacking at that time in my life. She showed me not to be afraid of the beauty that I have been given, and to let that light shine through me.

This is the power of inspiration, when one being inspires another, it creates a ripple that can grow throughout history. An endless chain that inspires one after the other, one discovery of a talent after another and one spark of confidence after another.

So, thank you very much Ella Fitzgerald. For sharing your gifts with the world and for inspiring me. You helped me to see the light. You showed me the art of jazz and how I could take hold of that talent myself. You also helped me to find beauty in myself, and to proudly show it. I hope that others seek inspiration from Ella, I hope that they can find that happiness in who they are. And I hope that they too, can begin to see the light.

The image of Ella Fitzgerald is from https://colormagazine.com/beat-hosts-tribute-ella-fitzgerald/

history
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.