Beat logo

Hylan Starr

Viral Music Sensation

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Music Artist Hylan Starr (Provided Photo)

Oklahoma born and Atlanta raised singer-songwriter Hylan Starr is well known for accruing a fanbase with viral cover songs by superstars like Usher, Chris Brown, and Trey Songz. Recently, deemed the winner of the Climax Challenge by Usher. The popularity earned him a deal with Universal Music Group/Wolfpack Global Music in early 2020.

Growing up Hylan was faced with many hardships and used music as an outlet to express those experiences. Enlightened by the Digital Age, the young artist is making waves in the music world, and triumphantly creates beautiful melodies that capture his natural talent and smooth vocals. The Viral Sensation is now debuting his highly anticipated new love song, titled, “Fool.”

"Fool" is currently sitting at 463k views on YouTube and climbing garnering press from outlets such as Dash, Ampd Official, Respect Mag and This is RnB.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Listen to “Fool” (Explicit), Listen to “Fool” (Clean)

Tammy Reese:

How has music impacted your life?

Hylan Starr:

Music has impacted my life in more than one way. It has given me a sense of purpose; allowed me to express myself and given me the ability to provide for my family.

Tammy Reese:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Hylan Starr:

One of the most memorable moments in my career was performing at the LA Sparks game inside the Staple Centers. At that moment, I knew this career was where I belonged.

Tammy Reese:

What obstacles have you faced in your career, which resulted in triumph?

Hylan Starr:

One obstacle that I faced was signing a record deal that was not good for me as an artist. This situation opened my eyes to making sure I am conscious of deals I sign and take my time when signing on the dotted line. I was fortunate enough to get out of the agreement.

Tammy Reese:

Who would be your dream artist to work with and why?

Hylan Starr:

My dream artist to work with would be Chris Brown. Due to Chris being an all-around entertainer, I would learn a lot from him as an artist. Since being on the scene, he has not stopped; he has pushed beyond obstacles and prevailed.

Tammy Reese:

What do you think is the future of the music industry?

Hylan Starr:

I feel that music has different phases. Many follow the waves, and some people are true to a certain level of artistry. The future of music will always be different sounds and techniques, but it will never travel too far away from its authenticity.

Tammy Reese:

What will you take from 2020 into the new year?

Hylan Starr:

2020 has taught me self-discipline, patience, and to look for positivity in every situation.

Tammy Reese:

What are you looking forward to in the coming year?

Hylan Starr:

In 2021 I am looking forward to releasing new music and touring.

Tammy Reese:

What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Hylan Starr:

Be on the lookout for more visuals and singles from me. I have some exciting projects I cannot wait to drop for all of my fans out there.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for anyone who wants to get into the music industry?

Hylan Starr:

My best advice is to look within. In many situations, there will be many people that will try and deter you from your goals. Make sure you are grinding and never give up.

Be sure to keep up-to-date with Hylan Starr and his career journey by connecting on all of his social media platforms:

Twitter

Instagram

Soundcloud

YouTube

interview
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.