Beat logo

Howling at the Moon

Once upon a Dream there was a fire dance.

By Raquel Teixeira Published 3 years ago 8 min read
2
Ponyland 2020

Once upon a Dream there was a fire dance. A sacred dance between two flames that burn as bright as the sun. A dance of dark and light, shadows and Peter Pans, fairies, mermaids and little girls, gracefully spinning across the cosmos. Dancing their dances wherever the wind blows, music traveling at the speed of light, isn't that what they say? Whispering spells at my ear. Whispering spells at your ear, B.

MAGICAL MYSTERY TOUR

Words are like the stars in the horizon, flickering in between radiancy and nothingness at the blink of any eye. They play the game like we do – the hide and seek – oh, that hide and seek swirling in our own veils, getting dizzy riding our own waves, up and down as they must. Bumping into stories that are too hard to let go. Or stories that are craved so deep in our souls that are not meant to be left anywhere. Whichever the truth, nothing exists outside each breath. And what a breath that is, the one that sets us free, that grounds our roots around Pachamama and shows us just how much of a vortex we are. The centre of any storm. Spinning around us like the fire that I am learning to play with “back to the Gypsy that I was”, craved in my DNA. How marvellously those words choreographed that first dance, out there at Mermaid Beach, a dance my body knew before the mind could try to grasp the heat. Isn't that how it goes? “To the gypsy that remains”.

GYPSY, FLEETWOOD MAC

Stories are just stories, outside of us - one with us - imagined at the core of creation like the rest of the Universe, here to inspire lifetimes of wanderlust. “I wanna be free, so free, like a feather blowing throw the breeze”, I begged. Sang it so loud my throat chakra opened. Sang it in the forest, to the oceans, in the desert, to the red rocks, to wallabies, to the night sky, storms and the moon. In the sand, at caves, in waterfalls, watching the bats, flying high with them. Here, there, nowhere, everywhere.

PACHAMAMA, BEAUTIFUL CHORUS

In the vastness of this playground, we get to dream with no fear. Free from our stories, like birds on trees. Blessed, inspired - which is really just another way of saying in spirit - to write worlds of magic and fantasy, as far as we allow our imagination to fly.

This fairytale started moons ago, in the same eternal breath as this one right here, in lands of unimaginable beauty, as this one right here. Sparkled with fairy dust in our faces, holding hands, holding hearts, howling loud at the moon and all the lights down there in the field where crowds were dancing like we wouldn't see again for so long. “Running across concrete so hot for our skin to bare”, up and down the coast, chasing fires and dance floors, Fairylands and timelessness. Paradise after paradise, scorpios in the skies coming out of the moon and stormy clouds it felt "a little like harnessing the sun in the middle of the night”.

HOWL AT THE MOON, NIDALA

Speaking the “golden tongue, you make me feel like I'm on drugs” and so “I threw my hands in the fire, just so that I could feel something”. Oh, how it burnt. How it still burns to see your face, sitting in Blanchie outside our 24 Trade Street paradise, with a Dingo for a pet, sharing our hearts like we did, all those days laying in A's bed, listening to R drumming magic in that Neverland. Could life be more magical? “Can we get much higher”?

GOLDEN TONGUE, DYLAN FROST

I guess we could. We can. Always. And so much more. That scorpios in the sky made it as loud and clear as the song that burst in my ears when I first saw just how deeply I love you. “It's always around me all these noise, but not nearly as loud as the voices, let it happen, it's gonna feel so good”.

LET IT HAPPEN, TAME IMPALA

And wasn't it true?

“Abusey Junction” and off I drove, without you, into the sun through winding roads and double rainbows. All the way into the rainforest and more magic than words can convey.

ABUSEY JUNCTION, KOKOROKO

I felt I “took off from paradise and I landed in the jungle and I spent a whole time lost in the clouds”, just like they told me I would, that first day of January, when I found you in that crowd, like I told you I would.

FLOW, CROOKED COLOURS

“Welcome to the Jungle”, Tash said, riding Hazel with my soul split into a million pieces, travelling far into all those times we watched her shine on stage, straight back into my heart, where it spires the most.

JUNGLE, TASH SULTANA

All this cracking of the heart, must mean a Love Revolution.

Every day a re birth, an opportunity to shed another skin, transform deeply into the wild nature of what we are. A full Earth's rotation around the sun and here I stand, here there nowhere everywhere, naked to my bones, repeating

Nothing happens to us

All happens for us

For our greatest good

Which is the greatest good of all,

No separation, you see

Premi made that song - fruit tree jungle boys and fruit tree jungle girls - crossing naked the river where crocodiles live, all the way up the hill to get behind those drums he loves. How we fruit tree jungle boys and girls lit that stage in the Daintree screaming from our lungs we “realised quickly when I knew I should that the world is made up of this brotherhood of man”.

WHAT'S UP?, 4 NON BLONDES

It comes from deep within, that “cuweee”. Louder every time - as Premi showed us, in the land where Grandma Willow lives and full moons are as tribal as the fire burning every night. Oh, how we danced and howled as loud as the moon was full, that night at Ellis Beach. Celebrating life, at one with the water shimmering moonlight, calling us in like Mermaids do.

MAKEBA, JAIN

“Eu vi chover eu vi relampear, mas mesmo assim o céu estava azul” dancing under any rain, because when we dance, our shadow dances with us, isn't that what E says?

FOLHA DE JUREMA, NICOLA CRUZ & SALVADOR ARAGUAY

Following the whispers, the wind and the red dirt, “he venido al desierto pa' reirme de tu amor” wishing that I haven't missed a sign.

EL DESIERTO, LHASA DE SEL

Dancing my body through, "I gotta stay high, all the time, to forget I am missing you".

HABITS (STAY HIGH), TOVE LO

With my heart divinely broken, I have “been travelling these wide roads for so long, my heart's been far from you, ten-thousand miles gone”. Hearts are made of diamond, you see. When they break, they are cracking for more light and love to come in - “surrender to the good lord”.

RIVER, LEON BRIDGES

Besides the point wondering where to as the wind always blows stronger. The body trying to keep up, always fantasising about how much more magical this lifetime can be. I guess the answer to that is as endless as we let it, with our hearts leading the way, following the whispers, loud as the Kookaburra's.

KOOKABURRA, COOBER PEDY UNIVERSITY BAND

Everyday a lifetime, because "life ain't no time machine, and once you free your mind, there is beauty in everything and the dreams that we weren't chasing, come back to haunt us, eventually”.

TIME MACHINE, ALICIA KEYS

~

“The Earth is not a big rock infested with living organisms anymore than your skeleton is bones infested with cells. The earth is geological yes, but this geological entity grows people. And so the existence of people is symptomatic of the kind of universe we live in”

GALACTIC GIRL, MAN OF NO EGO

~

We are stardust. One with the Universe. One with the whispers, the callings and the winds. One with the stories, the feelings, all we think we know and so far beyond that. So we make wishes upon those stars - the ones we are made of - that our wildest dream go beyond themselves. “I can't promise not to feel some fear or to always understand, but I'll be the change I want to see, I will hold every hand”.

LIGHT OF LOVE, JAI-JAGDEES

Once Upon a Dream there was a New Earth, the Golden Age, a paradise made clear as the veils lifted to all those who are the be the divine guardians of such wonderland. Once Upon a Dream love expanded with every sacred breath, spirits awakening to the blissfulness of what they are, flowing, flying, at one with all there is. Once Upon a Dream we realised we are home.

“Hold on, wait a minute. What do you have, do you got a cassette?”, bring it on, Universe. We are dead ready.

DOING YA THING, OLIVER DOLLAR

To you, my “old friend”, I whisper a little story. My bones cracked here there nowhere everywhere from the streets of West End to up in the Valleys of Natural Bridges where my heart opened so much I could see your spirit in R's eyes shouting out to me "Let me know if you are still there". I am. Still here. Always here.

OLD FRIEND, ELDERBROOK

Because you see, "baby I don't need you, I just wanna freak you, I heard you are a freak too”

BOYS, LIZZO

"Got this boy speaking Spanish"

“Viento, que viene de la montaña

Viento, tráenos la claridad

Viento, que viene del mar

Viento, tráenos la libertad

Viento, que viene del desierto

Viento, tráenos el silencio

Vuela, volá con nosotros”

CUATRO VIENTOS, DANIT

"2021 we think about me, 2021 we think about us".

2021, VAMPIRE WEEKEND

When it Happens, I won't be holding on.

~

“We will perceive worlds of unimaginable beauty”

METARA, KAILASH KOKOPELLI

~

And so

It is

list
2

About the Creator

Raquel Teixeira

My mission is to spread LOVE! Dancing my dance of freedom in this beautiful flow of the energy we are. One with the Universe, co-creating a New Earth: Fairyland, Atlantis, Heaven, The Great Awakening; however we want to dream it. So it is!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.