Beat logo

How to unlock amazing big beats it's incredible

The new big beats are a secrets to make a hit songs

By Dee Jay KamosiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3
Secret amazing big beats

I grew up as a poor kid living in the borough of Brooklyn, County of Kings. I was raised by a single parent as a Christian and taught bible studies at my mother's church every Sunday. At a young age living in a Christian home, I was exposed to music by an older sibling who played the Keyboard. It was the sound of big chords and melodies that made me stop watching my favorite Saturday Cartoon and walk-up to my brother sitting at a Hammond Organ and stand beside him with joys of amazement that such a big sound was coming out of a small machine. After years of hearing and watching Henry, who was ten years my senior, play the Keys going up and down Octaves only then did I get the hang of coming up with melodies and started singing for the Choir. I was also attracted to outside hanging with friends from the hood. One day I got abducted off the gritty streets in my neighborhood and torture by local drug dealers over stolen narcotics. This event changed my life and I vowed to never allow myself to be kidnapped again. So I started carrying guns. This resulted in my incarceration and during my prison term, I met my daughter's mom who toured with Madonna as the opening act to her Blonde Ambition Tour. What I do as a writer, composer, producer is rooted in years of struggle and pain. My biggest hopes and dreams are to do something musically with my daughter who sings in several different languages. Until then my journey is to continue making good musical compositions for people to listen too. Your whole life is a movie so you can either choose to be the director or actor but there's one thing for sure you will play the game. The way I see it I play to win. Not having instruments to play on kids would often find themselves at a window banging beats by the pound on the ledge pane. I remember waiting up late at night in Crown Heights ten miles from Red Hook where the ships would port to unload their cargo. I would wait patiently to hear that big barge pushed by a tug boat horn blow. The horns will blow in a pattern signaling their approach into the port waters and I would hit the wooden flat surface producing a kick to the timing of each horn and its reverb before the next sound. The magic hours always passed my bedtime so I would have to spy on my mother to make sure she was asleep. So I would creep down the long hall with sounds of creeks coming from the wooden floor in our apartment and I began to establish a stepping pattern to avoid certain areas of the flat waking up, my mom. The struggle was real but I was determined to catch the horns from the boats in the harbor each night without fail. When you come from poverty you get to make something out of nothing. My determination turned into a passion for horns and a kick. After getting good at timing the Tug Boat's trumpet I began to let some of my friends hear my experiments with sounds. But I never forget a Gang Banger from the Bronx named Grims, who heard one of my compositions and he began freestyling which changed my perspective on what I was doing with little to nothing compared to the sounds of today coming out of some of the DAW Plugins. Who would've ever imagined that things would be what they are with producing big beats of today. To be continued (Part Two)

diy
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.