Beat logo

How to Make Your Dreams Come True with Music

Soul-discovering music

By Taylor JohnsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
White Rock Overlook Park in New Mexico by Taylor Johnson

If you're looking for something new to listen to and just want to chill and relax then I think I have just the thing for you! I had no idea that I loved this music until I listened to it. It makes me feel like I'm in another place and I honestly love it. It makes me feel like I'm living my dream life and uplifts me. It reminds me of a sunny day where I have nothing going on and no worries. I don't know how that's possible but when I turn it on I'm instantly relaxed and HAPPY.

I've stumbled across these videos either from Instagram stories or by discovering them on YouTube. Here are some of my favorites I've found so far:

"shallou - Vignette|Nomad Series"

Who is shallou? I've certaintly never heard of him before last week. But I heckin' love him! His real name is Joe Boston and he's based in Los Angeles. He has released two EPs on his own label, Sleeptalker, and then signed with Island Records in 2019 where he released Magical Thinking in the first part of 2020. He even has a video where he's DJing from his room-quarantine style. Every song I've listened to is a freakin' gem!

"Let your mind drift ~Lofi hip hop mix~ beats to relax/study to ~ focus music" by the YouTube user Tunable Music.

I discovered this on my YouTube Home page. There really isn't a bio of the user so I don't know much about them. They do have A LOT of mixes on their page though. I was drawn in by the artwork which is stunning. The art is by Angel Ganev. Here are his Artstation, Instagram, and Youtube pages.

"Fkj & Masego - Tadow"

Vincent Fenton, aka Fkj, is a 30-year old French musician known for his multi-instrumental skills. Fkj stands for French Kiwi Juice, no, I'm not joking; his mother is French and his Father is from New Zealand. He has one self-titled album, French Kiwi Juice, that was released in 2017.

Masego, whose real name is Micah Davis, is a 27-year old Jamaican-American musician who calls Newport News, VA home. He's known for his saxophone skills and released his first album Lady Lady in 2018.

Two independent artists came together for this hitting collaboration. They call this genre "Jazz fusion" and I'm here for it. Tadow came about by chance, really. Masego opened for Fkj in 2016 in Denver, the two never having heard of each other, hit it off right away. Fkj had a recording session already booked in Paris and invited Masego out to record with him. Masego flew to Paris for one day. One Day. Fkj called it "the luckiest 8 minutes of our lives" since that song catapulted them to the lime light.

The fact that this was improvised is mind-blowing to me. This is freaking spectacular and I love that you get to see them interacting with each other and how people are just walking by outside on the streets. Not to mention I love the saxophone. As a former second-chair, I really enjoyed this.

"Sol Rising - The Journey"

Sol Rising is an international DJ and was born in Vancouver, Canada but raised in Fairfield, Iowa. He was already beginning his spiritual journey at the age of 4 with mediation and visits to numerous spiritual teachers. He graduated at the top of his class in accounting but quickly realized it was not for him. His true calling is "to light up people's awareness of their true nature through music." Well, I think he's doing a fantastic job.

This is my favorite so far. I found it on Instagram and it was with a short clip of Taos, NM. Oh, how I love New Mexico. I though it was the perfect song to remind me of my favorite place.

I'm sure there are so many more songs that could be included here but these have been my favorites so far. Thanks for reading!

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Taylor Johnson

30 something woman living in the midwest. Mom, wife, and kid at heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.