Beat logo

How I Really Feel About Tems - Ayra Starr

Ayra Starr speaks out.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Nigerian singer Ayra Starr is the new kid on the block. At the beginning of this year, MAVIN leader and start producer Don Jazzy introduced us to his latest talent which just so happened to be the beautiful and wildly talented singer Ayra Starr.

In the six months of her active musical career, she has released an EP, three music videos, and posts constantly on her social media.

Ayra Starr

One repeating comment or rather type of comment that she gets on almost all of her posts, music videos, etc. is that she either looks, sounds, or reminds people of fellow successful Nigerian singer Tems.

Tems

Because of the sometimes similar wardrobe choices, hairstyles or photo aesthetic, these two are very often compared.

Now, in an interview with Do2dtun of Cool FM, Ayra Starr opens up about how she really feels about the Tems comparisons as well as what she thinks about Tems as a musician. This is what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

During the sit down interview started with Ayra Starr, interviewer Do2dtun started out by asking Ayra who she listens to and which artistes inspired her and her musical journey. Ayra said:

Definitely 2Face. I listened to 2Face growing up. I had two teenage sisters growing up so they would play 2Face and it just fed my mind. 2Face, Wande Coal, Wizkid, I was just listening to a lot of people. I listen to The Lijadu Sisters, I love them. Rihanna of course. Just a lot of people.

Probing further, Do2dtun said to Ayra Starr:

“You know people, it’s a stereotype system where people always have to compare you with someone and you’re not the only lady who’s got a record deal at the MAVIN Records. Shoutout to Aphrodija, Di’Ja did a great job, Tiwa Savage…you gotta love them right? Now people talk and compare you to Tems, how do you feel about that?”

Ayra said in response to the Tems question:

I don’t know, it’s a compliment to me though because I’m a young artiste and Tems is an amazing musician. I just released music weeks ago and for people to even compare me to such an amazing musician is such a compliment and I’m so grateful and honored.

Do2dtun then asked if she would ever do a song with Tems to which Ayra responded: “Of course! Why not?”

Well, that clears that up!

A lot of people believed that the constant comparisons would annoy or bother Ayra Starr but it’s nice to see that she has no anger or annoyance about it. I personally think that they both have very different things that they do in the music industry. I think their music is different, their aesthetic is different – yes there are some similarities here and there, but for the most part, their sound and looks are individual enough to each person that I don’t think anyone is trying to copy the other.

But that’s just me. What do you think? Let me know by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That’s All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.