Beat logo

How I Became a Kmusic Fan?

Plus, my top three male artists

By SharvaStudioPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
4

As a 28-year-old who's new to all this, how did I get into Kmusic?

I didn’t become interested in it until I heard this song playing in the background of a YouTube animation in 2019. The song had some English lyrics so I googled those. The song was called “POP/STARS” by K/DA. I then searched and found it on Spotify. Let me tell you, I played that song WAY too many times, over and over. After that, Spotify started recommending Korean artists to listen to. It was at that moment, I found SuperM. Their first mini-album wasn’t released yet. So I watched all the trailers/teasers on YouTube. (First Impression/Reaction to these coming soon) I practiced learning the members’ names as well. All of this was so new to me but I wanted to get their names right. Their individual video concepts and visual effects/editing blew my mind. Korean music videos have so much going on. It makes me want to re-watch the videos again and again. Jopping came out a few days later and it was my jam for weeks. I loved the choreography, their vocals, styling, visual effects; pretty much everything. The whole video attacked and slapped me in the face. Unfortunately, I’ve never been to a Kpop concert. I hope to go to one after Covid is over. I really want it to be SuperM or SHINee/Taemin concert. Because of SuperM, I have found other K-artists/groups to listen to.

These three male artists sneaked into my brain and live there rent-free now. I can't make them leave and I never want them to. Here are the first three who caught my attention.

The first K-artist pick is.....Kai from EXO.

Look at my birthday twin

Fun fact, Kai and I share a birthday (January 14th), although I’m a year older, which is pretty awesome. His dance skills and the confidence he shows during performances entertained me. Like, having to watch this man wink and smirk at the camera upset me but I'm sure that was his plan. He has to keep his bag secure somehow, I respect that. Witnessing videos of his stage presence and charisma, I'm in amazement. I remember seeing a fancam of Kai dancing to Tempo (where he has the white hat) on Twitter. He was REALLY feelin’ himself that day. His energy is so powerful yet graceful and radiates when he dances. I saw more of his dance skills during the SuperM Performance Video (Kai's part is at 3:27). The way he moves is emotional and tells a story.

I enjoy his voice as well. To me, he has a very unique tone that I've never heard before. I later learned about Kai’s softer side. He comes across as a human teddy bear sometimes. Watching videos of him laughing and caring for children warms my heart. To me, Kai is confident, talented, and so much more. So, here's a Kai playlist so you can see how awesome he is:

Next after Kai, this man shook me.

From photoshoot to promote his new music video "Candy" and album "Delight"

Baekhyun is older than me which is interesting since, in groups I like, most of the members are younger than me. In his solo SuperM trailer, he had his serious game face on. I wanted to take him seriously but his face was too cute. Why is his skin so perfect!? I didn’t know how to pronounce his name yet so I called him Bae or Pinkie (he had pink hair at the time). When "Jopping" first came out, I heard him sing and his voice was so smooth but powerful. I later found out he had a ton of solo music to listen to. Every song is perfect; not a single flaw to be found! Sometimes, his style/look reminds me of a 90s RnB aesthetic with the baggy clothes & parted hair. Young Sharva is screaming. In his SuperM trailer, he appeared to be cool, calm, and collected. Here's a playlist of Baekhyun videos:

I discovered another side of Baekhyun by watching funny videos of him on YouTube. I swear this man is the goofiest coconut in existence. He’s always wiggling about and joking around; the life of the party. He’s funny, energetic, and such a joy to watch. He's a favorite to many and I can see why. His whole vibe brightens any room he's in, just like his superpower, Light.

Now, this last guy literally snatched my attention the first time I saw him. My last pick is Taemin from SHINee. His presence in videos and on stage is hypnotic. It's like he's not human.

The eyes...The hand accessory...ugh! Love It!

This man is about 7 months younger than me. He repeatedly showed up at the end of everyone's SuperM solo videos. This caused me to be curious about who he was. Taemin is now my favorite Idol. One of his ultimate looks was this black & blue outfit but all outfits I've seen him in are perfect. The way he looks deep into the camera; his stare piercing. He has this unique and otherworldly vibe to him. Then I heard him sing...the voice of a 'sinful angel'. His voice is a mixture of singing me a lullaby and trying to seduce me. Don't know if that makes sense but it's the best I've got. I believe he's one of the best dancers in Kpop. His dance skills are on a level of their own like in this SuperM Dance Performance Video. (Taemin's part is around 2:00; look at that strut)

He has his own style that no one can copy. That's a refreshing sight to see in the music industry. Finding more videos of him was a MUST! Taemin is someone who will go far in whatever he sets his mind to. To me, there’s something special about him. I want to know what goes on in his head while he’s performing, writing a song, and shooting videos. I admire his creativity and attitude. He’s super honest (sometimes too much but we still love him lol), a lil sassy, and has an incredible work ethic. He inspires me to further advance my skills and achieve my goals. I know he'll continue to grow and I'll be watching in awe. Taemin is one of my favorite artists and I will support him for years to come. Enjoy this playlist of Taemin, King of Kpop:

How did you get into Kmusic? Who are some of your favorite K-music artists and why? I'm vibin' to so many at the moment but I didn’t want this post to be too long. Should I create another list? Follow my socials and let me know.

My socials are here: https://linktr.ee/sharvastudio

pop culture
4

About the Creator

SharvaStudio

Black (Content Creator)

Fan of Music, Food, Art, & Culture

Dyslexic/Bipolar Disorder | INFP

Learning & discussing different topics. My hope is that my writing can inspire interesting conversations.

My Socials: https://linktr.ee/sharvastudio

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.