Beat logo

Hesitation? Frustration? Bedroom production!

Creator 101: Just do it

By Hajeong SongPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
source / instagram.com/michael.inthemix/

Prologue

YouTube can be anything. It can be your go-to search engine, radio, or the source of income if you are a content creator. Living in the era of YouTube and social media, I've always been a passive user. Whenever I tried to share my contents, whatever it may be, there has always been hesitation and frustration. What an introverted social media anxiety! YouTube nowadays is like a global talent show, and its curtain is wide-open 24/7. Recently, I had a priceless experience to walk up to the stage from the auditorium, ironically, thanks to YouTube. Here's my story.

Back In Time

When I was a freshman in university, I joined a guitar circle. I got into it, and I started taking private lessons. My teacher would record my playings, hook them up to a computer, and make them mp3 files. He sometimes added extra instrumental tracks and sound effects on it. It was fascinating to watch, for he did everything on his laptop. That was when I first learned about *DAW.

*A digital audio workstation (DAW) is an electronic device or application software used to record, edit, and produce audio files.

There is a long list of notable commercial DAWs such as Cubase, FL Studio, Ableton Live or Logic Pro, but I started with Cubase since my teacher was using it.

Cubase 6 feature collage by Steinberg Media Technologies

My interest in playing the guitar immediately moved to make beats with DAW, and he was the best teacher ever.

I haven't had any musical background except for taking the flute part in the middle school orchestra. So I could read the music sheet, but I've never dreamed of making my own music from scratch. But I had so much fun to toy with Cubase because I could make simple beats and melodies with just a little bit of knowledge on music theory.

20 yr-old me: turning dorm room to a studio to make sure there's no space to study

As time went by, I got so busy in my graduation year, and my teacher had to move to another city, so I ended up spending less and less time on it. After finishing studying, I started traveling. So I couldn't carry around my keyboard or drum machine when I was living out of a suitcase.

hello, old friend!

Creator 101 Just do it

Now looking back, those were all lame excuses. I admit I haven't made any music for a few years just because I didn't give myself any credit to be creative. But I do know the feeling of turning my ideas and emotions into the universal language. I missed that taste.

I remember a conversation with a friend of mine; Everyone must be creative somehow, but if their ideas are not representable, how can we know they are creative?

So, I decided to go back in time. I had a lot to catch up. Besides, I switched from Cubase to FL Studio later on. So first thing first, I needed to know how this darn thing works.

But, It's 2020. You can learn anything from YouTube, and there are tons of creators who share their skillsets and valuable knowledge. You can easily find the one who meets your needs perfectly. And I found the one.

YouTuber - In the Mix

Michael Wynne is an audio professional, music producer, and educator. He has the YouTube channel called 'In the Mix' with over 600 thousand subscribers. He has uploaded over 200 videos on FL Studio tutorials, production tips, sound design, and other useful topics.

IG @michael.inthemix

Starting with the FL Studio20 beginners' tutorial video, I've watched every video on his channel. I was so amazed and captivated by his 'curriculum'. I felt a considerable appreciation and relief when I got a good understanding of the software after watching his videos. Of course, I still have so many things to learn. However, his contents gave me enough basics that made me comfortable with beat making with FL Studio and the confidence that kept me going.

'In the mix' is all about simplifying the recording, production, mixing and mastering process and helping you unlock your creativity. No matter which DAW you use or what equipment you have, I am determined to help you succeed. I try to share as much as I can about the industry, giving an insight into the world of music production and the business behind it by showing you how to release and sell your music online. I create 2 videos per week and do regular live streams. As an FL Studio Power User, I also focus tutorials on getting the most out of FL Studio, my DAW of choice.

-Michael Wynne-

If this was why he made the channel, he never went back on his words. He simplified the concept, which seemed so overwhelming to me. Also, he encouraged me to take a step forward to expressing myself in my favorite form of art. Whenever I work on my project, if an issue comes up, I go to his channel right away, and boom, the answer is always there.

The other day, I was working on a pretty big project, and it started ragging. I assumed it was something to do with CPU performance, and I needed to know how to fix it.

No worries.

Epilogue

So, here's what I made.

I know, far from perfection, but who cares? These are my pure self-expression, and I am sharpening my tool thanks to people like Michael out there. I realized I have no excuse not to learn what I want to know or not do what I love to do anymore.

Can you imagine how vast amount of information YouTube contains?

Take advantage of everything in the outer world and make your inner world rich. Do you have a dusty guitar in your attic? Go get it. You always wanted to paint? Just do it. You are never late to learn something. You can even watch every video of Bob Ross on YouTube!

And let's give them a thumbs up, subscribe to them, and show gratitude to their hard work behind the scene.

+The list of other recommended YouTubers if you want to learn about music production

-J.Rent

-Adam Neely

-Mai

-MayFlwr

-Genius ; deconstructed

social media
1

About the Creator

Hajeong Song

Anything spread-worthy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.