Beat logo

Her Space Holiday

Something to Do with My Hands

By V A N I T Y L E S H A EPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

The song I am presenting today is “Something to Do with My Hands” – Her Space Holiday, this poetic piece has transported a significant amount of energy upon my life. I identified with the artist Her Space Holiday while attending high school in 2006, this song was released in 2003 on “The Young Machines” album. As we all know high school can be quite prolonged and falling in “love” can be inevitable especially when your young. I fell in love with the harmonic composition and the opening quote “You know it kills me to see such a pretty girl so tired” right at the introduction. I feel that everyone can relate to this quote and at the time I was in a dark place, especially when it came to my significant other. This is also the chorus, which this composition ends with the same chorus but with a little off twist. He sings about his relationship with an unknown woman and how much they want to be together but can’t by the virtue of reality. Neither are happy and can relate to being drained from their current relationship status but somehow make a way to find happiness within each other. Now that I’m older I know that in order to build a relationship you must face certain obstructions, this song surpassingly guided me on how to achieve obstacles assertively in everyday life circumstances. Whenever I felt down or out of place, I would play and sing this song repetitively all day and at first, I felt sadness but as I learned to understand the song better, I discovered the definition of new beginnings. I wouldn’t say everything happens for a reason, but it is quite alarming how some things tend to align into place without any recognition. The harmonic melody presented throughout this song is incredibly addicting, it is also repetitive and very constant until the ending. I was always attracted to this harmony and it really opened my eyes up to classical and indie music at a young age. Iv’e been extremely interested in music since I could remember and certain compositions like this one has inspired me to become a creative myself. I picked this song for a recent project in school, I am currently attending Full Sail University for my bachelors in Audio Production and Engineering. I love creativity, in my eye’s diversity is key and this song will always have that feeling of uniqueness every time it is played. I know for a fact without diversity and being open minded to new things I would not be where I am today. I would say iv’e made a decent name for myself over the years in the music scene but as for now I am currently at another new beginning and I will always feel blessed for a change. I have also always been a writer and this song greatly influenced my writing and to notice what good lyrics are, I feel that a lot of people surpass lyrics and only listen to the production. Lyrics have a great influence in music and noticing that I began to write more often and more passively. I also began journaling and tried to cast out my emotions through paper rather than act them out physically, this helped me out tremendously while attending high school. If I was to say one thing this song taught me, it was to always live life blissfully and to show gratitude even when things aren’t as great. Sometimes just seeing one person for a spilt second can make your day turn around and that’s where I show gratitude the most, for the people around me. I recently started analyzing numerology and while attending school I discovered this song ends in 3:33, 333 is one of my most cherished numbers. If you look up 333 angel number it refers to positive energies, associates with vibrations of growth, represents the absence of conflict and can be the number of freedom. I find this very kooky and somewhat refreshing that I recognized this a significant amount of years after I discovered this song, it relates to me then and now one hundred percent. Seeing this really confirmed numerology for me, everything that 333 represents is what I wanted to overcome while listening to this song. I love how much music can influence your life and thought process without you even realizing it at first, hopefully it’s more positive than negative spirit but this statement goes for both. Music is energy and energy is eternal.

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

V A N I T Y L E S H A E

Currently at Full Sail University for Audio Enginnering/ Production and wanted to update content + have an expierence with others, networking is my mantra.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.