Beat logo

Harsh

A new release from SVNDWN

By riphaleyeditsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Photo Credit @rman_films

A 22 year old upcoming artist by the name of SvnDwn has recently dropped a new track titled "Harsh" that has caught my attention. A Staten Island, New York artist has really brought out a new side of him we've never seen before. He stated that "I made this song months ago at the start of lockdown, this is me putting out some emotion towards a situation that has happened to me one too many times. I have had people betray my trust or destroy my faith in them by going on about me in the most negative way possible. This song was more of a response to these situations and letting go of all that negative energy." You can feel the energy straight from the gate on this track. From the dark eerie beat (beat credit @ZEETERNAL_) he comes in with a melodic flow and goes in from there. He starts to switch it up and starts some screaming vocals and echoed adlibs. I really enjoyed the screaming on the track it matched the hard vibe going on. I enjoy when artist come out of their shell and bring something completely different to the table that we sometimes don't see coming. I asked him "Why'd he named the song "Harsh""? He said "The song is called harsh mainly because I know if I said any of that stuff I was thinking at this point in time they would say it was "harsh" lol." I personally love versatile artist who show us all different styles specially in no particular order. I feel this song will bring joy to the listeners because a lot of people can relate to the emotions he's feeling in this song. In a recent interview he's said that artist and groups like "My early influences are like slipknot, paramore, panic at the disco and Dance Gavin Dance . In my solo career it’s been people Joji, JPEGMAFIA, scarlxrd, Raleigh Ritchie, Denzel Curry and juice wrld.” You can really see the rock influences in this song.

Cover Art Credit @pumkinsamlatte

Above is the cover art for the song. This fits the song perfectly in my opinion it has that hard dark look like what you see for metal bands. I think that his song has some really stand out lines that the listeners are going to love and are able to use for instagram captions and more. Some lines that stood out to me in the song would be lines like "Dreaming this sh*t, I was young. Screaming no air in my lungs. Grinding until I see bone. I'll live and I'll die by my gun." I feel these are very quotable lines. I also like how these lines showing how important this music stuff means to him. I personally think that it really show who's really in this music stuff for real and not just for the money. He puts in really hard work in to his music and grinds to get to where he wants to be some day. I think doing this is a very important part of making songs these days. It makes the listener more involved with the music artist. I think harsh is one of svndwns best songs out right now. It shows those dark emotions and eerie vibes that most people love. I can't wait to see what's next for him. He said that " I will most likely make more songs like this in the future just because scream therapy is extremely helpful for me personally." So that means we'll get to see more aggressive music like this in the future. Be sure to keep up with him and his music on all streaming platforms and social medias @svndwn.

social media
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.