Beat logo

Half Assed Hallows Eve

For Those Missing The Monsieur's Bash

By P. B. FriedmanPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
Half Assed Hallows Eve
Photo by JOSHUA COLEMAN on Unsplash

Graveyard Smash seems at first blush what hoops players refer to a lay in equaling, a gimme. Any idiot can figure somebody here recalls Monster Mash Party; it makes a good launching point. I personally liked the theme music to a certain kiddie show who's initials were H. R. P., as in " Who'll be there when things get tough " and can't get a little if ya' can't get enough...or something. I like Jane Pauley's husband's fictional quote of Robert Zimmerman which said " I just want to make it rhyme, man " .

I am guessing ( perhaps incorrectly ) that the DJ Alice Cooper is the author/lyricist/singer of hits like Eighteen and I Never Cried. Seems like Alice was George O' Dowd before George became Boy George; a much more memorable and inspiring entertainer, taking nothing away from the leader of Culture Club. Eighteen had edge comparatively while Cried resonates soulfully.

Kiss bears mention. Beth comes to mind; I always picture a certain woman I went to school of that name.

Mamma Told Me Not To Come presents imagery reminiscent of a Halloween like nightmare. " Don't turn on the lights, 'cause I don't want to see " . Another Three Dog Night Chuck Negron classic is Eli's Comin' ( hide your heart, girl ) . One could naturally segue into Celebrate, One Is The Loneliest Number and then Easy To Be Hard among other TDN stuff.

My favorite talk show radio promo was that of Evil Irv Homer. The ballad Of Irving was novelty music at its best and campiest. The promo was classic vintage WWDB ( which my single dogged follower here may recall from a previous piece ) complete with a sidekick by the name of Igor. To me DB's promos amounted to the equivalent of cult classics and were works of commercial genius of a lunatic like variety.

On the topic of novelty music ya' cannot beat J. Reed ( in addition a fine Burt Reynolds co star ) for novelty hokeyness. Amos Moses is a prime example; "...only got one arm 'cause the alligator bit him. He was named after a man of the cloth. They called him Amos Moses. Daddy used him for alligator bait " .

The reverse of Jerry Reed would be Queen's deceased freak Fred Mercury. I cannot lie and say I would ever buy any of their jazz much less perform it but technically they were masters at whatever category you place Bohemian Rhapsody in to say nothing of Fat Bottom Girls.

Being as how I am someone who, like most senior citizens of my gender looks appropriate for Halloween year 'round, I feel inspired to make at least one negative if not monstrously so comment. Stories Liked seems useless in my estimation.

On the other hand an ex mentor of mine has stayed in touch. She humors me and it's not as if she's required to do so. I wonder if her home country of Australia celebrates All Hallows Eve; it really never appealed a great deal to me, probably ever since I forgot my Tin Man costume as a kindergartner. I think my real problems with this so called Pagan observation is that I tended to be too inhibited as a kid to do anything when I created even a great costume idea. I failed miserably on two or three occasions and no one quite got me as No Preservatives Added Man either. They say that some people are categorized as ahead of their time; at least I knew someone who thought he was, possibly.

Back to AHE music, if I were DJ at a get together Purple Haze would be an obvious choice. Halloween is for " Actin' funny but I don' know why, excuse me while I kiss the sky " . In fact ( read: pure fiction ) I hope to perform it this month at the MT, the colossal venue that I have been booked to play to adoring sellout, standing room only Cream Bubble Up post pandemic audiences. Other appropriate JH Experience jams would be Little Wing, Castles In The Sand, Spanish Castle Magic and others almost too obviously numerous to mention.

Who among my generation here will leave out The Rocky Horror Picture Show? Sweet Transvestite was a must see even at our YMCA . RHPS was the film version of an overrated novelty tune that did not impress me enough to watch the whole schmeer in my fifties when I finally accessed it on a movie channel. A high school classmate did ST justice forty years ago along with some other Halloween type schlock and in some ways our tiny daycare style home schooling project may have been ahead of its time.

People Are Strangers by The Doors had an quirky off beat feel as did LA Woman. " Cops in cars, the topless bars never saw a woman so a lone lone lone..so alone " . I personally was impressed by Jeff Healey doing this on pedal steel in Roadhouse Blues. Light My Fire would ignite things for sure.

Painted Black by the Stones reeks of perverse sentiment reminiscent of the odd spirit of everyone's favorite Pag day. " I see the young girls walk by in their summer clothes. I have to turn my head until my darkness goes ...no colors anymore, I want them to turn black " . Supposedly the RS represented every parent's nightmare before becoming the revered elder statesmen the surviving members are.

Ex Runaway Joan Jett could have given her folks some grief in her day. I Love Rock 'n Roll was sort of the anthem of Lifetime's tragic account The Marlene Moore Story. Moore committed suicide at a relatively young age and was portrayed as the victim of an abusive childhood; she hung herself in prison upon feeling abandoned by her mother.

Yet another hallucinatory tune appropriately mentioned here is Magic Man by Heart. It tells the tale of a young woman falling for presumably an older beau. " Come on home girl, mama cried on the phone....too soon to lose my baby and my girl to be at home. Try to understand, try to understand, try try try ta' understand, he's a magic ( drug dealing? ) man " .

According to a YouTube interview of Heart's Wilson sisters Barracuda was meant to channel frustration and anger regarding a backstage psycho/pervert who allegedly tried to goad the women into performing sexually together for him. Thus the lyrics " Well if the real thing don't do the trick you better think of something quick...'til you burn to the wick " . Talk about vivid faggot imagery and not inappropriate here either.

My fabulously lavish contract stipulates submitting occasional work exceeding the bare minimum; I mention this by way of explanation for the duration of drivel here. I am torn between continuing to refer to essentially ancient musicians and exploding in a tirade over next to nothing. The former option is easily the safe one while the latter satisfies bloodlust momentarily. Think as usual I ought to save the worst for last.

In the folk category Paul Simon's Most Peculiar Man has some meaty suicidal ideations. " He turned on the gas and he went to sleep with the windows closed so he'd never wake up to his silent world and his tiny room and Mrs. Riordan says he has a brother somewhere who should be notified soon " . Then there is a solo effort of the S and G combo entitled Mean Individual Stranded In A Limousine. The hook idea is the way a wealthy person might panic if stranded or isolated in a bad neighbor. In my case, been there, done that but lived to tell about it...just not here right now this being a light hearted nostalgic piece ( for the most part ) .

Bob Dylan ( Zimmerman ) certainly had a ghoulish way with turning a phrase in Like A Rolling Stone. " Stare into the vacuum of his eyes, he isn't making any alibis " is as good as it gets.

Speaking of people with basically steely eyes the local Deep South Social Security Administration is combining with the banking community and to a lesser or greater extent overly warm weather to make me sweat out my so called fixed income every month lately. The bank's customer service has not answered this morning; really the whole crew likes to turn as many people like me into panhandlers as possible, it would seem. Who knows, eventually maybe I will resume literal homelessness or just terminate my own existence. Tune in next Challenge, I type mostly if not exclusively to myself.

song reviews
2

About the Creator

P. B. Friedman

Touch magazine profile. My name is Paul Friedman and I write off. The wall poems, which people don't like and good ones that they do. I'm a sports freak.

The last sentence no longer holds true. My interests are dominated by feminism.

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.