Beat logo

Greatest Showman's Gay Anthems

And Why Everyone Should Listen to Them at Least Once

By Justin YoungPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Everyone who has seen this musical masterpiece will tell you to go and see it for yourself. It has an indescribable power with its hypnotic music and stunning visuals.

But it's more than just those that makes it so gripping.

The freaks or oddities as they are called in the film quickly became the center of my attention watching this film and then I realized why I became so attached to these characters. They reminded me of myself and the struggles I faced while I was hiding my sexuality from the world and my family.

Whether or not the directors intended this, I don't know.

And I also realized that three of the film's songs could actually be considered gay anthems.

What's a gay anthem, you ask?

It's a song that purposely avoids using pronouns when describing another person and creates a feeling of power in oneself. It's a song that brings together everyone, no matter their gender, colour, or sexuality.

So know that you've got an idea of what I'm talking about, let's hop right into the songs!

"Rewrite The Stars" is about two people who can't be together due to how society views them. For the time period of the film it was because of skin colour, and sadly that still continues to this day. While it is getting better for people of colour, they still face problems because of small-minded thinking. But this song also works for people who are still in the closet about their sexuality. They are afraid to be out to the world even though they want to be in a relationship.

"Tightrope" is about how one would follow their partner to the ends of the earth to be with them even at the risk of everything they hold dear. It's about wanting to be together no matter what happens in life and making the most out of the world they can explore. The tightrope mentioned in the song makes me think of country borders and how different countries are still not as accepting of their LGBTQ+ citizens. How out you can be in your country is different for all, and some still have to walk a tightrope throughout their daily lives.

"This Is Me" is about self-empowerment and being confident in who you are. This song is an anthem for all walks of life, not just LGBTQ+, and that's what makes it so powerful for everyone who listens to it. You feel powerful and ready to take on anything when listening to this song regardless of what you're going through. I love listening to this song because it reminds me that I am allowed to be me regardless of what others think of me and to take pride in who I am. You should be proud of who you are no matter what anyone else says. That is what this song reminds you to do. Be proud of yourself and know you can do anything you set your mind to.

I won't deny that the entire soundtrack to this film is amazing. I can't stop listening to it, I love it beyond words.

Each song has emotional power behind it and it shows in the impact this film has made on people. I will be forever appreciative of this film's soundtrack simply because it reminded me of who I am and who I can be; if I believe in myself I can bring my imaginings to life.

That's what you should take away from this movie, if anything at all.

Believe in yourself and do what makes you happy!

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Justin Young

Shape shifting human who lives where it's cold as heck.

www.paypal.me/JMc117

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.