Beat logo

Getting to know music artist Stevvon Valentino

Getting to know music artist Stevvon Valentino

By Jason James Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

My name is Stevvon Valentino, and I am from the west side of Chicago, Illinois, born and raised.

My liking in music was sparked by my family, who all do music, vocally and instrumentally. I love music because it holds the power to control emotions, as well as tell a story to the listener, and could either be so straightforward, or can leave it up to them how to take it. As an artist I love to feel in control of my music, and be able to make someone happy, encourage them, or give them knowledge in a way they'll better remember. Also, music changed my life. As someone with epilepsy, a good night's rest was something I got every blue moon. Listening to music was the only thing that could prevent me from going into seismic shock, and I can remember one day after singing the words to my favorite song "Jesus Jesus Jesus" by Timothy Wright, my seizures stopped occurring. Music saved my life so essentially music is my life.

What makes me different as a music artist is my ability to be very well-rounded and versatile. I can't be compared to anyone. Many artists today have a set "sound" that sets them out, that can eventually become very repetitive and slowly lose spark, and those that don't are the most compared to other artists' sound. My goal is to ultimately flourish in all genres and styles of music. I always incorporate something different into any piece of music I've ever created, whether it be a gospel riff into a rock song, or a jazz sway on a pop song, my music will forever be interchangeable, ultimately never dying.

In five years, I see myself as a mainstream artist in multiple genres, powering in R&B and Gospel. I plan to eventually start my own recording company entitled "Stevvon Valentino Music", where I will sign other artists, as well as write and compose for them. I also see collaborations with some of my favorite mainstream and upcoming artists, and slowly but surely change the music industry with my talent.

My ultimate goal in life is to be free of all limiting categories in the music industry, and eventually in life, categories such as me being black, a black male, and a black male of the LBGT community. These categories make it harder for me to stand out as an individual in the music industry, and I plan to break out of that and not be placed in a box anymore. Another goal of mine is to make people feel that same joy and serenity as I do when I listen to my music. I want my music to resonate with peoples' souls the same way the smell of a nice home cooked Sunday dinner does. My music is so relatable that even when I hear it makes me no longer feel alone, and I feel like someone is listening, and I want my listeners to experience the same. Another goal that is biggest to me is to never want for anything in life, materialistically, spiritually, and mentally.

To the music world, I bring my very rich tone, professional training in classical, gospel, and jazz music, as well as my ability to always transform a story into the right words to say that can calm a storm.

I want to be remembered for my versatility in different genres and languages in music, my tone quality, my relatability, because nowadays artists make music that sets them apart from other people such as songs about worth and fame, or killing. Lastly, my songwriting and production skills.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.