Beat logo

Get Happy

My Quarantine Playlist

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Be happy like this woman!

Music is an important part of my everyday life, it is what gets through on my bad days. Music is what a blast from my car stereo and I listen and sing-along to. What makes this playlist quarantine you ask? well, for one I stop doing whatever I was doing and it makes me want to dance. These songs maybe old, these songs maybe new, but just know that you will want to dance your feet off.

1. Make a New Dance Up by Hey Ocean. This is the perfect song for anyone that is going through a break-up and met someone new. It is what gets me up and moving no matter what mood I am in, it is not so repetitive that it drives you up the wall and it lifts you up like no other song. I dare you try and not dance to this jam.

2. Show Me How to Move by the Elwins. I can't describe how this song makes me feel, when I first heard it I listened to it in circles and I would be mouthing the words to the song while on the bus ride to school. It's weird how in most of these songs have an old man dancing to these songs so far, but like I said these songs make you move. Watching this old man dance make you want to move to the beat.

3. Can't Stop the Feeling by Justin Timberlake. You know this overplayed song wants you to dance and burst it through your speakers. Justin Timberlake eating in a diner is all you need to feel better about yourself. This is the song that you want to sing through your windows when driving down the highway or simply to sing in the shower because you are stuck at home. This song always no matter what puts a smile on my face.

4. Cheap Thrills by Sia and Sean Paul. This is the song that I picture dancing to on my wedding. It has a slower beat at first but you can't help to groove to this song. There's something fun and catchy about this song and of course I know the lyrics to this tune. It has a fun bounce to it that makes you want to get up. It encourages you to get the weird out and show off to your friends.

5. Despacito by Luis Fonsi featuring Daddy Yankee. No, not the Justin Bieber version. This is the original fun version, where even if you don't speak Spanish or understand any of the words you will try to sing-along anyway and you will want to shake your hips. You hear the trickle of the guitar and then the riff that pulls you in and lets you know it is time to dance.

6. Hips Don't Lie by Shakira. Yup, this throwback is one of the best ones that I like to bust a move to. As soon as I hear those trumpets all I want to do is drop everything I am doing and dance! It makes anybody think that they have hips and that they dance like Shakira.

7. I Gotta Feeling by the Black Eyed Peas. You want to go out on a night on the town but can't? well if you throw on this throw back song you are bound to have a good night indeed. This is the song that makes you want to wear your party dress at home and jump on your bed. This is a song that you can let loose.

8. I Don't Care by Justin Bieber and Ed Sheeran. The lyrics is what makes you want to get up and dance. Suddenly, with everyone staring at you, you realize that you should not care how you are dancing because you are with the person you love. It could be because I've watched many dancing videos with this song playing. Here's a feel good song no matter where you are.

9. Uptown Funk by Mark Ronson with Bruno Mars. Maybe because this song is in the Wii dance and everyone has danced this song. It is catchy and upbeat and with the trumpets and you cannot resist but sing the lyrics while dancing.

10. Shake it off by Taylor Swift. Yes, I had to include this song into this playlist because it was all of our guilty pleasure at one point or another. It reminds you to not listen to what other people are saying about you and to simply shake it off. It also reminds me of Grey's Anatomy when they decide to dance off the bad stuff that has happened to them. I think this is a song that is an anthem for many people.

11. Dance With Me Tonight by Olly Murs. This song has a very 20's feeling to it, makes you want to put on a skirt and jive the only way you know how with a fun upbeat tune. It is also how to nail Karaoke in the shower without hurting yourself.

12. Sexy Bitch by David Guetta and Akon. This song maybe a little inappropriate with the words and terms used to describe a girl, but this is the song to put on when you feel bad about your body image. This is one of my favorite throw basks to dance to, even if you are a terrible dancer you can make this song work for you. Click the link if you want to remember how this song went.

13. Summer by Calvin Harris. This was a go-to song for a long time to get to rehearsals for me, his voice is so unique and different it makes you want to sing out loud and have a dance party whenever you are in the car. You can't help but bob your head along to the beat.

14. Con Calma Daddy Yankee. No, not the version with Katy Perry. No offense to die hard Katy fans, but she ruins the song for me. You have to listen to the original track with mostly Spanish words, it makes you shake your hips and groove to the latino beat. It is easy to dance to the beat and really get into it.

15. Hollaback Girl by Gwen Steffani. This was my anthem for the longest time, with her cool clothes that are very 2000's and with the marching and clapping going on in the back ground. This song has everything, it has a cheer, it has a girl power vibe to it and you don't have to be embarrassed to acknowledge that you know all the lyrics by heart.

Hopefully you all enjoyed listening to these throwbacks and happy songs that make you feel hopeful about being stuck in quarantine and remember to dance until you cannot stand no more. Have fun jamming to these songs and stay safe.

dance
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.