Beat logo

"From Me, To You" Debut

September's PASSION EP

By Demetrius HillPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 9 min read
2
My "EP" Cover

September's PASSION's Debut "EP"!! Most people now-a-days don't know what an "EP" is. "EP" Stands for "Extended Play".

A Full Album is an "LP", which means "Long Play". You would think an EP would be longer lol. Let's get into The Project!!

I first started working on this Project in September 2020. Music Is My "PASSION". That's apart of my Inspiration for Creating the name: *"September's PASSION"*! I worked on my Electric guitar and Recorded the first song demo on my Laptop for my now "Hit" Song: "Life Is Beautiful"! It's on my YouTube Channel. Take a quick watch.

Sometime after Recording that Demo, I started writing the lyrics to the song and getting an idea for how I was going to sing them. Also around this time, I started Creating A lot of Guitar Demos. Majority of them, I never finished. I mainly kept 4 of the strongest, most Beautiful Demos for this EP. "Demetrius Guitar Solo" never had a Demo, I quickly constructed the entire idea and outline for it, shortly before I recorded it in the Studio in 2021. And for the "Morgan Drum Solo", I got the idea to have a Great Drum Solo while watching "Joe Satriani"'s Live Show at a Jazz Festival from the 80's on YouTube. There's a quick Drum Solo during the show, and I thought: I want to have a Dope Solo on this EP!

When my Executive Producer heard the Demo Studio Recording of it, he said it sounded like "Drum Chaos" lol (a different Producer Recorded it). If you listen to Live Drum Solos on YouTube, they never really sound super refined and heavily polished...it's a DRUM SOLO, haha. I just REALLY LOVE Music, so if the Solo is from a skilled, Dope Drummer, and they play it Passionately; I will like it! I don't know what the Executive Producer "Zach Jenkins" now thinks of the complete released version of it, as of now, I wouldn't really care lol.

When My Drummer: "Morgan Bergee", Recorded his first take for it in the Studio...I thought: "What is he doing? That sounds completely random". The Engineer, "Joshua Jones", liked it and complimented Morgan... I'm thinking to myself, No. Record it again, that sounded completely random. Although his 2nd Take was better, it wasn't good enough and I still wasn't satisfied with how he was playing. Before the 3rd take, I went up to him and let him watch the same Live Drum Solo that I mentioned above. I told him to play Cohesively and keep a Foundational Consistent Rhythm, going throughout it. He recorded his 3rd Take, and "Third time's the Charm"! It was the Best Take. But I wasn't done having him record.

I had him Record 2 more takes, to compound 3 separate drum tracks, to make the full Recording sound more Creative and like a Live Solo. Me and Joshua, the Engineer that Recorded it, came back to it a few weeks later or so, and chopped it up. Josh did editing, cutting parts out, I told him I wanted Reverb on it to try to resemble a Live sound. He did what he felt sounded close to that. Josh Mastered all of it, and we moved on to the next song.

In August 2021, I went into a Professional Home Studio for the first time, and started Recording "Life Is Beautiful". It was the first song I recorded and fully finished for this EP. I met Zach Jenkins, who became The "Executive Producer" for the Project. First I Recorded the guitar tracks, it was quick and easy. Zach is a guitarist with 12 YEARS Of Experience, so he SPED UP The Recording & Mixing process for the guitar! Next, I recorded the beginning piano tracks. Third, I Recorded the first take of the Vocals...I STRUGGLED. When you go to Record in a Professional Studio for the First Time, you're going to have to Learn how to become a Professional at it. It's different from singing in any other normal environment.

By the end of my next Studio Session, I finished Recording the Vocals. I posted a preview of the song on Facebook, and to my Surprise people said it sounded like a "Beautiful Song" (I didn't fully like my vocals on it, and still don't entirely). My third and final Recording Session for this song, I recorded the drums. Initially, I tried to Play the Drums for this song... I Struggled. THANK GOD, My (Almost Drummer) "Preston Valdez" came into the Studio in the middle of me Struggling, and SAVED THE SONG!! If he hadn't of came, the song may have not ended up "Beautiful". I said "Almost Drummer" because he decided to NEVER Come back to the Studio. Zach told me that people do that. They'll come the first time and Never come back again.

My Drummer Situation quickly worked out though, my Need for Preston was Filled in by Morgan Bergee (who I have to Pay to record), and he's Really Good. I wouldn't have had to Pay Preston to record, but it's Preparing me for the Professional Music Field. For example, Professional Rappers Charge LOTS Of Money Just for ONE VERSE to be added to another Artist song!

The next song: "Wash Away Like Rain". I Created the first Guitar Demo for that song while Learning how to play Coldplay's song: "Don't Panic" on Guitar. That's how I Create ALL of my Guitar Demos. While Learning and Practicing. I wrote the Lyrics afterwards. I kind of struggled to write them, but I'm patient & persistent, so I finished them over time. The title of the song came from how the guitar demo sounded like water and the vibe made me think of Rain. The meaning of the song connected with that, and it came together! :D I Recorded the guitar tracks in the Studio, and then Recorded the Vocals. It was A LOT Easier than "Life Is Beautiful". Take a quick Listen on my YouTube below:

Recording this song is when I met Morgan. This was the first song from me that he played drums on. It took him some takes, but he got it. In the middle of him trying to get a good take though, he said my guitar and vocals recording was off and not in a fluent time (tempo) for him to follow, but he kept trying and he got it not long afterwards. I didn't Record the guitar to a Metronome, I didn't need it for this song. During my next Recording session, Zach told me that Morgan said I will have to play to a Metronome, to continue having him record drums for my songs. I've been doing that since then. At first, Everything didn't sound all correctly together to me, as I moved into the Mixing phase with the song. For some reason, the song didn't fully sound right to me until after it was fully Mastered and finished. Take a Listen Below:

The Next Track: "Demetrius Guitar Solo" was my first crack at a "guitar solo". It was apart of an idea I had for me and "Preston" (originally) to have our own solo tracks. I thought it would be Dope. I first Created the looped 4 note Intro of the solo at home one morning, while learning a simple technique from the "Fender Play" app.

I turned what I learned into an interesting sounding loop. The mid-section of the track, is basically how I would play sometimes when I would just freestyle at home. I just got more Creative with it over time and added simple, yet cool sounding progressions into the Recording. I think I watched "Jimi Hendrix" Live for the first time Before coming up with the Solo entirely. My first impression was: "How am I supposed to ever play as good as that??!". I started Studying Jimi. I think I also watched a lesson from Joe Satriani on YouTube, that may of had an influence on my Solo. I aspire to play at Jimi Hendrix's Level in the Future... and Honestly, I'm ok if I don't get there, Because I'm FORSURE Going to Master Singing and be at the levels of Freddie Mercury, Michael Jackson, and Maynard James Keenan!! Singing is the only thing I've chosen to absolutely MASTER 1,000,000 PERCENT!!

We were ALL Born To Master Our "Gift" (Talent). I Encourage You to Discover what Your "Gift" is, and Get on the Road of "Mastery"! For the final Distortion Section of my solo, I recorded 3 layers of guitars for it. I played distorted harmonics...I honestly forgot the second layer I played in the middle of the mix. The final 3rd layer was the ending (distortion solo). I just played that "by-ear" for what could work and mesh into the rest of the mixture.

The next song is the "Emotional" song of the EP. It's my Second Biggest "Hit" as I'm writing this. It's surprising, I went back and forth with myself on deciding whether or not to keep this song on the Final Release. I didn't know if people would like it. It's actually some of my fan's Favorite, of the Whole EP, even more than "Life Is Beautiful"! A Few of the things I sung in that song, no longer apply to me now. I just vented out my feelings and experiences with trying to get Love from a Female. I've had one Female "Love" me before, but she wasn't "GOOD" for me. The guitar for this song was actually apart of another song that I Titled: "A Woman's LOVE". It was the second half of the guitar demo.

This half of the demo sounded like "Hurt"... like "Heartbreak".

I chopped this half of the demo out of "A Woman's LOVE", and made it into HeartBrake. For my Lyrics and Singing in this song, I sung & Released exactly how I felt. The subject matter was Years of pent up angst, hurt, and heartache that I thought would be good to Release out of me, through my best form of expression...

Read "Part 2" Below!!!

:D #FromMeToYou #SeptembersPASSION #PURPOSE

Click The Link Below to Listen to the EP On Your FAVORITE Streaming Platform NOW!!!

song reviews
2

About the Creator

Demetrius Hill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.