Beat logo

from Bach to Ariana Grande

7,250 songs - you can't shuffle my iTunes

By Phitchaya.Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I make music for living.

I went to pre-college and college majoring in music and earned in total now; 2 and a half degrees, pays my mom's bills using my voice, which means almost next to nothing about this music playlist I'm brainstorming in my head.

As a prefessional musical/classical singer,

I guess I can call myself that.

When people find out what I do they asked this same question to me "So what do you listen in your free time?"

and I often said something like:

"Drake." or

"Richard Strauss" or even

"Hippie Sabotage" or

"Jaden Smith"

and people would look at me weird and said

"I expect you to say Turandot by Puccini"

No, I don't think you should listen to just one type of music or genre and that would describe your taste, no.

Music is music and if it speaks to you then it is done its duty.

It suppose to make you feel something.

So here's my playlist for yall who thinks we should be divided through without necessity:

1) Richard Strauss - Tributed to Jessey Norman "Die Nacht" Op, 10 No. 3 Poetry by Harmann von Gilm

This is what we called "Art Song" or "Lied" which means poetry sets into music:

Capturing the atmosphere into music, that's how music moves, collecting the universe into sounds.

and that what I admired about R. Strauss

Explaining how scared to lose the love one for the night;

"Rücke näher, Seel’ an Seele,

O die Nacht, mir bangt, sie stehle

Dich mir auch."

Drawing closer, soul to soul,

__ "Oh the night, I'm afraid,

She will steal,

You, mine, too."

Restless, movement of the motions, sense of fears, motive of love, scale of life; all wrap up in this one song.

2) Desperado - Rihanna

If you are on TikTok this song is not new to you:

"Desperado, sittin' an old Monte Carlo"

yes, that song.

Desperado means 'someone whose ready to do things with risk and danger'

and oh yes, desperately, committing a crime.

'Afraid to love' 'Heartless' 'Scare of feelings'

as the song say "I don't want to be alone"

#The eagle wrote the song in April 17, 1973 also called Desperado withing the same context convey me a little, lots, that whis 21st century version earned an inspiration from the Eagle.

"You better let somebody love you."

"Running from any sight of love

There ain't nothing here for me anymore

But I don't wanna be alone."

"Before it's too late."

But would you rather wait to find the love that balance to you and that special someone or Would you rather, choose someone that loves you but not on the contrary?

3) Bach - Cello Suite No.1 in G Major BWV 1007 - Yo-Yo Ma

Your favorite Chocolate Ad theme song, yes.

Johann Sebastian Bach

well, this song is a heavy hiphop beat in 18th century, you know what im sayin?

Classical music is all about structure:

__Prelude - Intro

Allemande - Dance suite

Courante - fast movement

Sarabande - Slow (spanish dance in triple time)

Minuet I / II - Dacnce in triple time

Gigue - the Renaissance or baroque period, and usually in compound time.

Oh, yea, I know, tmi, but, welp, just in case yall going though tough music theory class this will safe your time researching.

But this won't waste your time comparing to scrolling those Instagram feed.

This music will soothe you if you are having a hard time here and there and will help your concentration when you study so, peeps, take notes!

4) Drake - "Marvin's Room" Take Care

sorry y'all he changed my life so I have to.

I heard this song way back in 2010, I was a freshmen and this beats speak to me in the way others can't do.

Right now it reminds me of how fresh with music and how brave I was when I was younger so that is probably why I kept coming back to it.

I think he did marked "Before and After" in American Music Industry - his songs come on the radio you know right away 'oh, thats drake' you get me?

The uniqueness in his melody, voice and beats are uncanny.

'Having a hard time adjusting to fame'

2010 was around the beginning of the peak time in his career.

5) Southern Night - Glen Campbell

I lived in Southern part for 5 years now and I'm proud to tell you that I'm a Mississippi Resident.

I heard this song long before I moved to Hattiesburg, Mississippi (please don't ask why I moved there) but then it hits me the one night I was out and about with my boyfriend and our roommate and we stopped for Oreo McFlurry with extra Caramel and eating them in a parking lots;

That was when I realized how I can relate to this song completely.

I know now that life is about collecting moments.

Home is where I experience differences,

So, Would you let down your judgement and give Southern hospitality a chance?

6) You - Earth, Wind and Fire

Have you ever been in love; before?

If the answer is yes then this song will make you feel that certain feelings money can't buy, to love and being in love in return.

__When I am true with my dreams

Life is so sincere in what it means

I am truly hypnotized

With a love that took me by surprise

I would be a fool not to notice who

Could make me want to give it all

Oh, and now, love is so profound

I need your love around

To open up this lonely heart -

TELL ME THE LYRICS THATS BETTER THAN THIS.

7) get well soon - Ariana Grande

OK so, Ariana is TO TALK ABOUT HERE.

This song saves me so many times, you can't imagine.

Big shout out to Ari, she went through a lot and she keeps going.

Believing in herself and spreading all these loves through her music.

So let's have this song to end my crazy playlist.

Y'all have fun.

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Phitchaya.

DMA Student at Southern Miss 🇺🇸

Thailander ❤️🤍💙🤍❤️

Café Macchiato Doppio.

Yellow heart,

Lover of sunrise,

Ruby sunset,

Russian Roulette,

Pale pen

& soft rain in the summer.

HIS ONLY QUEEN.🇹🇭🇩🇪

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.