Beat logo

Forever a Belieber

#MyMythicPast

By Phoebe DykstraPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
THIS IS A STORY OF BRAVERY.

I can’t give Justin Bieber all the credit for me being hired as a MuchMusic VJ. But when you are dressed in all black, backcombed hair and piercings, facing a table full of pop music TV professionals, it helps to have “Bieber Fever” tattooed on your leg.

I was hired and it was a dream to get to meet the badass Bieb himself.

Two months into being on TV, with zero previous experience in any area of the field, I was brought into the basement by one of my producers. He said he needed to talk to me about something and that I needed to stay quiet.

Justin Bieber was coming to MuchMusic and my producer wanted me to do the interview!

“It’s a one hour, LIVE to TV special, promoting Justin’s movie, Never Say Never.”

You are the host who is truly a fan, I BELIEVE you can do it, Phoebe.

I remember this moment, exactly, we were sitting at a cafeteria style table, in the basement, next to a pop machine. I didn’t even know the basement existed. What was happening?

Immediately, I went into the paradox, I had two very strong conflicting beliefs inside me at the same time.

Yes, Phoebe, this opportunity is for you! Nobody will be able to do this show like you! You will feel alive! He will love you! YOU GOT THIS! TRUST YOURSELF!

No Phoebe, this is too scary. You don’t know how to do an interview, leave it to the professionals. You will freeze up. He won’t like you. DON’T DO IT!

I was spinning. My producer had me sleep on it.

That night I went to visit a man who I was seeing. Crunched up in a ball, I told him about the opportunity. He talked to me about facing fears and how our treasure is on the other side. He talked to me about leaping and the net will appear. He talked to me about my greatness. He believed in me. A part of me believed in me too!

I dressed myself in my favourite color… and leaped!!!

LIGHTS! CAMERA!

Justin is seated beside me.

LET'S TAKE A PHOTO.

Our studio is ALIVE! Screaming fans inside, screaming fans lined up down the streets. Justin's security, top floor execs, literally every eyeball on the damn planet, on us.

Well, I had better say something to him!

It's loud, but I lean in...

“Justin, sorry my breath smells! WHAT! I think I ate something!"

"Ohhhhh."

WHAT. WAS. THAT?

AND... ACTION!

I grabbed my fears by the balls, said "look here bitches" and got into the zone!!!

"Everyone welcome, JUSTIN BIEBER!"

I just hosted a one hour, live to TV special with the biggest and my personal most favourite artist in the world!! BOOOOO YAHH!!

#PrideBumps

Are your dreams right in front of your face and all you need to do is be bold, brave and take that leap?

What fears are holding you back?

Like my partner believed in me, I believe in YOU!!

And, I believe in me now too!

Let's do this thang friends, let's live our most mythic lives!!!

Oh, and when people ask me what Justin was like in real life, I have only positive things to say about that sweet young man. I truly believe he has a heart of gold.

industry
Like

About the Creator

Phoebe Dykstra

As a kid, I feared nobody liked me, so I dreamed of being a star, where EVERYONE would like me. I got my dream of being a MTV host, but I wanted more. I quit & went on a 5 yr journey of self discovery. Now I return, to share my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.