Beat logo

Fools Rush In

New Orleans Summer 2005

By Lani RamosPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

Living and gigging on Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana can afford a multitude of kinetic energies constantly zapping at your 👠 with every step. Not only was I gigging on Bourbon Street but I was also gigging on Frenchmen Street in the summer of 2005. I began picking up my guitar for the first time in months inspired by a newly added guitar player to the band. To me he was so gorgeous and so talented his voice could make you melt into a sound sleep even with all the clanking and clamoring going on outside of Bourbon street. His name was Brad. With his long sandy brown hair barely touching at his shoulders, wearing hazel eyes and tan skin and nearly standing 6ft tall with a slender physique, I knew I could look past the heaving drinking and into the talent of a man that turned me on terribly. Somehow I found myself in love almost instantaneously. After the gig we would get so turned on that all we wanted to do was go back to my place and have sex. Playing with Brad weekly truly inspired me and made me feel so happy and dreamy on stage naturally giving me a euphoric feeling. I just couldn’t believe all the dreaminess of my reality, I could touch it. I could touch my dream coming true, and then, I began to levitate. Kissing 💋 him passionately after a gig became a regular thing. And I did. I never wanted this feeling to end even if he has a girlfriend I later found out. I was so pissed off at him for not telling me. Jimmy and Michelle, bartenders husband and wife team, broke the bad news to me. I nearly fired him from the band but...just the way he looked at me made me reconsider. He claimed that they are ending the relationship soon and she is 10 years his senior so he feels that he could never love her rightfully. Hook, line and sinker is what happened to me. He stopped by my little pink house on Bourbon one afternoon to play me his five song EP that he just picked up from a local recording studio dude named Chris who lived uptown. And to my amazement, his songs were so beautiful written and orchestrated all the way down to the quality of the mix, it sounded mastered and ready for distribution. All produced from Chris’ home studio. It blew my mind away so much so that I picked up my guitar for the first time since moving to Bourbon Street in June. I had just moved back to Bourbon Street for the second time leaving the Treme behind reluctantly. I found a house a beautiful 2-storied pink Creole cottage on Bourbon Street paying $1500 a month where I could live the old French Quarter life downstairs with it hardwood floors, 15ft ceilings, crystal Chandeliers and mock fireplaces opening up to a bricked built courtyard from the kitchen. From the patio I climbed the black metal spiral to the lounge landing opening the door and walking into what I dubbed the rat pack room. An attic apt with a 60s floor plan built out of wood paneling, a mock fireplace and dim lighting where the living room had a kitchenette and set apart from the bedroom with balcony overlooking Bourbon street and bathroom furnishings with pink tile and pink toilet to match blew away everybody’s mind away that I would bring upstairs. I would secretly freak out not believing this was all really mind too. We’d call it the Dean Martin rat pack room because Dean was always the coolest and we’d jam for hours on songs from covers to originals.

Brad would asked me when am I going to get back on that gehtar and pushed me until I dug out some old guitar song books and found my favorite, Elvis. I began flipping through the pages finding the song love me tender and thinking how much I love that song and how I suck at once in choir in high school and I should learn that song first. But The day before last while driving around in my 1985 Mercedes station wagon I heard on the radio and Elvis song that always made me sing into my boots. The song that makes me melt through to the core of my heart and sometimes cry depending on when it catches me and that song is Fools Rush In. So I learned it. It What is the living a pitta me of my life in that moment. Gigging on Frenchmen Street and Bourbon Street regularly making love to my guitar player, playing beautiful music and living the dream, getting paid and getting laid. And then Katrina hit.

bands
2

About the Creator

Lani Ramos

Living in New Orleans Louisiana, I am a singer writer and producer of songs, poetry snd stories. Originally born in Northern California, I have been always a pretty good storyteller told by my English teachers throughout my school years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.