Beat logo

Fleeting Love, Shell Dais' new two song story chapter EP.

Shell Dais is a fusion of Taylor Swift style songwriting, home town country music vibes, dreamy mellow pop productions, influenced by various genres.

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

Shell Dais is a German raised cowgirl, you could say, coming from a small town to live in London, UK. She was born in East Germany, in a town called Chemnitz. She is very nature loving, growing up surrounded by music and her mum singing lullabies.

Dais is a country, dream pop, Americana singer-songwriter, mostly self-taught instrumentalist (banjo, guitar, mandolin, piano, ukulele).

Her music is influenced by Taylor Swift, Kacey Musgraves, Kelsea Ballerini, Raelynn, Ruthie Collins and Taylor Edwards, 80s/90s radios hits, early 2000s Americana movie soundtracks, the likes of Dawson's Creek, but also indie music and dream pop, as well as, traditional country music capturing the story telling, most importantly, like Dolly Parton, Patsy Cline.

Shell Dais a mix of all sorts of music styles and genres making it her very own genre.

How long have you been creating music?

I've been creating music since I was around 12 years old, writing poems and then turning them into songs with my guitar and ukulele. So it's been about 13 years now since I started.

What is it about music that makes you feel passionate?

For me music is my therapy and it's making me feel good when I'm not feeling good about myself. It really helps me process things in life much, much better than if I wouldn't write and sing songs. I just really enjoy all the aspects of dreaming it up writing music to playing and performing/ singing to sharing it with people who might relate to the things I sing about.

Are you signed to a label, or would you like to be?

At the moment I'm an independent artist, unsigned, and self managed. But in the future I'd like to be signed to a Record Label to have a Team behind me.

Do you have a preferred or chosen music genre?

I do country music, dream pop, Americana but really I do music for the feeling not the genre to be honest.

Tell us about your two song Story Chapter EP called “Fleeting Love”? What inspired it?

I wrote it about a real life experience.

Fleeting Love EP, for me, is about that moment in time when you meet someone for the first time and you're bedazzled with this sparkly feeling, very whimsical and fairytale-like love at first sight & then you fall in love with them but later find out that this love only lasted a short time, a fleeting moment. (which is where the title comes from)

Thereafter, it all goes downhill, which later on, tells it in the sheep song about how the relationship breaks down because both sides of the love don't want to address the truth and don't want to hear it - acting "blind as a sheep".

You mentioned following the EP with a music video? Is it in the works now?

Yes, that's correct, indeed it's in its production stage at the moment so keep your eyes peeled sooner or later I'll reveal the Music Video for you all. I so can't wait since its my first Music Video ever.

What is your creative process like? Where did the ideas come from, how are they transformed in your mind?

When I wrote those songs I thought back to that time when it happened and how I felt about it. These songs were written last year August, September, October - I was just playing around with some melodies and chords on my guitar and once I got the lyrics right I just started to imagine the productions for the song and made a little demo at home for it, playing all my instruments I can on it. Shortly after that, I took it to my producer, Gal Jaz Beeson, who produced the songs with me and for me. Which was absolutely fun!!

Do you produce/create music for yourself or for fans?

I create music which is my art and my way of expressing myself and raising my voice about things whatever it is. I usually produce songs for me in the first place and also for the people who just enjoy me and my music.

What do you value more, creativity, or perfect execution?

I definitely value creativity more because I just love, love, love coming up with things in a creative way but I'm also very perfectionistic sometimes so I want my music to sound as close as to what I imagine it to be like.

Has your musical journey had a deliberate direction, or did it simply evolve in whatever direction it found?

The direction of my music is definitely defined in the way my life went this far. Cause if certain things wouldn't have happened I would maybe not be doing music right in this moment.

I always knew I wanted to do music as it is just in my bloodstream but Life changes and so had the music to my Life and the way I write songs.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

My fave songs are usually the one I wrote at last but I can't give them away just yet so I think for the moment the best song I've ever released is probably Sparked that Night because I'm very proud of it and I just love the way it sounds.

What song do fans seem to favor?

Never Even Tried is definitely THAT SONG people just love it. HAHA. I mean the song is definitely a favourite to most people I've played it to and super catchy. People come up to me a lot saying they love it. It's also my favourite song in my heart as it really gave me that feeling that I need to push myself out there and it's definitely been the beginning of my music journey somewhat.

Do you, or would you like to, perform live?

I do perform live you can book me and I usually perform all over London. I'm definitely up for playing more concerts in the future with every new release. :)

Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

I really enjoy playing Never Even Tried live on banjo it just the fact people don't usually see anyone perform with a banjo and second the song sounds so much more vulnerable and honest with it as its the way I wrote it on.

But I would really enjoy playing with a band any of my songs in the future ( Since I don't have a band yet.)

Do you have a preference… vinyl records, cassettes, CDs, or downloads?

Oh, I AM a physical CD, vinyl GIRL. I just love and always have loved the feeling of holding a record or single in my hands.

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

Yes, I'd absolutely would love to travel the world and play my music all over the globe to all kinds of people. My first stop would definitely be touring in the United States of America especially performing in Nashville, Tennessee; California and New York And Canada. That's a big dream of mine.

Share a crazy experience or a magical moment that has happened during your career.

I guess it's the little things for me that make my day when people actually learn my lyrics and sing along to my songs and relate to them. It means the absolute world to me.

I also absolutely love meeting new people and connecting with them over my Music

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

My favourite outlet is Instagram I just love sharing all things on there Music related or personal. its @shelldaismusic but I'm also on Twitter @shelldaismusic

Other than the music video mentioned earlier, are you currently planning any projects we should look out for?

I'm currently looking for band members and I'm working towards another great few projects which I'm writing songs like crazy for. I just want to put out lots more music for now.

Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

I've got a website now so I'd like to share this its called www.shelldais.com for all news and updates.

Keep your eyes peeled for the upcoming Music Video - I'm so excited to Share!

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.