Beat logo

First Time Listening To The 1975's New Album- Notes On A Conditional Form

My first reaction listening to The 1975's new album!

By Ciara With a CPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3
Notes on a Conditional Form

The new The 1975 album Notes On A Conditional Form just came out and I was surprised at how many songs were on it! A whole 22 songs to listen to and 80 minutes in total! I was in for a treat. I love The 1975 and even have a tattoo of their logo on my ribs (I did get it when I was eighteen but I still love them, no regrets). When the album was released, I was more that ecstatic and could not wait to listen to all the songs. I was planning to listen to them all anyway, so I thought it would be a fun idea to listen to each song for the first time one after another and document my first reactions to the songs. So, I bought the album, sat myself firmly on to my couch and away I went.

I will not go on too much about what I thought but I must admit I felt a roller coaster of emotions listening to these songs. The overall sound and vibes of the album were consistent, but the songs hugely varied and some of the songs were nothing like I have ever heard from the boys before. Each song had a uniqueness to it, which I thoroughly enjoyed. There was a lot of different sounds and vocals in the album and I enjoyed the variety of the songs. I can confidently admit there was not one song I would say I disliked from the album, which are bold words. I am aware. I enjoyed some songs better than others, but they were all different and enjoyable in their own way. This has to be one of my favourite albums by them. I just feel that through lots of experimenting over the years, they have found their sound! I also feel each song would be great to see live and I cannot wait for them to tour!

Anyway, below I have a list of each song with random words and adjectives to describe how I felt listening to the songs for the first time. I am not sure if they even make sense and by the end my concentration was losing the plot a bit, so the list is a bit messy. I also will say that I already had heard the singles that were out beforehand. This means they were not my first time listening to them, but most songs were new to me! I still gave a little description on how I felt at the time of listening to them. The songs I have heard before are The 1975, People, Frail State of Mind, The Birthday Party, Jesus Christ 2005 God Bless America, Me and You Together Song, If You’re Too Shy (Let Me Know) and Guys.

I am finished rambling now! Enjoy this messy, raw, unedited list below of my first reactions! You can see what ones are my favourites down below too! I hope you enjoy(ed) this album as much as I did!

1-The 1975-. Greta Thunberg. Powerful. Climate change. Beautiful. Survival. Save the planet. Starts the album off with a bang. Hits close to home. Facts.

2-People-WAKE UP. Good alarm clock sound. Too real. How life is now. ‘Girls, food, gear’ is very British and very true. Heavy. Energetic. Wild.

3-The End (Music For Cars)- Sad, sounds like it should be in Inception, sad movie ending song, strong sound.

4-Frail State of Mind-Sad, expressing mental health, easy listening, early 200s vibe, emotions.

5-Streaming- Orchestra warming up, natural sounding, smooth, calming, peaceful.

6-The Birthday Party-Folky, mellow, relaxing, storytelling, ambient.

7-Yeah I know-hmmmm, hit, hit, hit, synth, lo-fi, slow electronic, interesting, garage.

8-Then Because She Goes-Sounds familiar, love, sad vibes, a song to listen to on a rainy day, my favourite so far, shoe gaze feel .

9-Jesus Christ 2005 God Bless America- Pheobe Bridgers, acoustic guitar, peaceful, soothing for the soul.

10-Roadkill-Slight country vibes with beat, youuuuuu, beautiful, one of my favourites already, do not understand half of what he is saying but I like it.

11-Me and You Together Song-Early 2000s vibes, flows well, amazing long vocals, sounds like it should be in the end of a rom-com high school movie.

12-I Think There's Something You Should Know -Sounds like a crowd at a football match at that bit, Dimensions, emotional, synthe, high pitched autotune, swap clOTHES.

13-Nothing Revealed/Everything Denied-Start piano instrumental sounds like the start to a romantic scene in a fancy reastraunt, gospel choir, a different ‘If I believe you’, random deep voice, great instrumentals, Yet again, a favourite, THAT VOICE, THAT OUTRO

14-Tonight (I Wish I was your boy)-PIANO, R and B, Love the high-pitched voice, dancey, one of my favourites.

15-Shiny Collarbone-WHAT?? is this even the same band????BEAT, rhythm!

16-If You’re Too Shy (Let Me Know)-Love, saxaphone, 80's ish, OG The 1975 vibes.

17-Playing On My Mind-Sad, strong acoustic, soft, ‘She lays down’ vibes.

18-Having No Head-Feels like I am in a cloud, out of my head, dreaming, beautiful, glitchy parts, the bass kicks, synthe, sounds deep if that make sense, drastic changes, house, party music. WOW.

19-What Should I Say-Club, chill, easy listen, one of my favourites, synthe.

20-Bagsy Not In Net-slow, orchestra, deep, synth.

21-Don’t Worry- Reassuring, gentle, the different vocals compliment each other, cute, wholesome.

22-Guys-Friendship, pleasant, casual, nice, tranquil, lovely end to the album.

album reviews
3

About the Creator

Ciara With a C

Hi there! I am a 21 year old from the UK! I love to write about various topics such as music, poetry, television, books and things I do in my life! I love being positive! I also have a YouTube channel you can check out at Ciara WIth a C.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.