Beat logo

Film Scores for Focus

A film score playlist to increase concentration and productivity.

By KBPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
Film Scores for Focus
Photo by blocks on Unsplash

There are many benefits to music. Whether it is playing an instrument or listening to your favorite band, music can unlock creativity, spark inspiration, increase focus, and boost your mood. Especially when I need to increase my productivity, I look to music to center myself.

Mood-based playlists can be used as a way to understand and reflect on your emotions, whether they are focused on calming anxiety or forming an upbeat dance party.

I am someone who likes to listen to music when I am working. It is a way of increasing my concentration...however, I cannot listen to any music with lyrics. If it’s a song I know, I will want to sing to it; and if I don’t know it, I will pay more attention to understand the poetics of the song. Basically, I won’t get any work done.

This is where I discovered a new appreciation for film scores and motion picture soundtracks. Instead of opening a top-hits playlist, I will opt for my film scores playlist. I specifically chose each album on the list for when I need to listen to something, but cannot get distracted.

My film scores playlist helps me clear my mind in order to fill it with the information I need. This is helpful for reading, writing, or any activity that needs focus and concentration.

Here are some of my favorite film scores to get me through these feelings of unproductivity, distraction, and work-based stress.

The first one on my playlist is Little Women by Alexandre Desplat.

As all film scores are aiming to do, they influence the mood of the scene and evoke specific emotions from the watcher and listener. The music behind this period piece is emphasizing these feelings, and can provoke different emotions with each song.

I find that period pieces especially are uplifting and inspirational for writing. These are some similar scores, both of which are period pieces, that give off this mood:

Pride and Prejudice by Dario Marianelli and Jean-Yves Thibaudet and Emma by Isobel Waller-Bridge & David Schweitzer...(and yes, that is the sister of Fleabag’s Phoebe Waller-Bridge). These movies are both adaptations of Jane Austen's novels, where the music helps curate the world of the film.

These three scores find a blend of harmony that are perfect for increasing productivity.

Marriage Story by Randy Newman, though not a period piece, uses music in the same way but with a mood that is more rooted in yearning and memories/nostalgia, playing off the themes of the movie. A standout song of this score is “Mommy Phase” that seems to mimic a lullaby, with a tone that further implies these themes. This is also like the score of Manchester by the Sea by Lesley Barber, that achieves the incorporation of thematic tones into the music, that are further driving the plot.

Some scores are dark and have a futuristic feeling to it that can help with concentration. For this, I listen to Interstellar by Hans Zimmer and What Keeps You Alive by Brittany Allen. Especially with songs like “Flying Drone” from Zimmer, the soundtrack gives off the feeling of white noise, which won’t get too distracting.

Moving more modern, the Greek film, Not to Be Unpleasant, But We Need to Have a Serious Talk by Kid Moxie, uses a mix of electronica sounds and classic instrumentals. This can be useful to listen to when you need an extra boost to get you more awake. The song “Closer Than Ever” from the soundtrack will do just that.

I like to use these film scores whenever I am doing work, targeting my different moods of that day. It is also good to change up the music so it doesn’t get too familiar...my playlist is constantly changing. The best thing about these scores is that they usually span about an hour each. So with only 5 soundtracks, you can let it play for 5 hours straight. Plus, you save time trying to figure out what to listen to.

If you're more of a list person these are the film scores/motion picture soundtracks I mentioned, plus some extras that I love (with the albums linked to Spotify):

pop culture
4

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.