Beat logo

Falling down the Kpop rabbit hole

How discovering Korean Pop changed my life.

By Hanii94 Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1
BTS, Wanna One, Red Velvet, twice, Blackppink, Got7 & Exo

November of 2015 was a month I remember well. It was around the time I discovered a genre of music that would prove to be a life line. Some might say that statement is a strong claim to make. Those people may be right because I do have a heart for theatrics but, this time I don’t believe its a strong enough statement.

I guess I should give a little background about myself. I‘m a thirty- five year old woman. During that time I had just turned thirty. I say this because I want to dispel any misconceptions you may have about Kpop being for young girls. Please keep in mind that music no matter what genre has no age limit.

So during this time I was going through a rough time in my life. I suffer from depression and anxiety and at times I struggle with them. One day I was sitting at my treatment center getting my dialysis and I needed a distraction. I opened youtube and scrolled around until I landed on a video. The title read “Watch as i turn my boyfriend into a Kpop idol”.

At that time I knew nothing about Kpop. I guess it never occured to me that another culture had pop music. Looking back I realize how ill-informed I really was. I clicked on the video and watched as a girl gave her boyfriend a makeover. She dyed his hair, did his makeup and dressed him in black leather pants, jacket and accessories to match.

I was amazed at the transformation. He looked incredible and I was just in awe. What really caught my attention was the music she played over the video. When I checked the description box I noticed it said: Music: “Pour up” by Dean. When I looked up this song and artist that‘s when a whole new world opened up for me. I clicked on this song and gave it another listen.

From here I was lead to more songs by him and I fell in love. To hear a genre of music that I love but in a completely different language blew me away. The music was good, the vibes was right and I was grooving. Now granted Dean is not Kpop he would be more Kr&b but, you get the drift. As I danced my way through every Dean recommendation I made it to a group called Bigbang.

BigBang

This group gave me songs like Bang Bang Bang and Loser. They offered me melodies that had me wanting to get out of my seat and jump around or ballads that made me want to cry. Their fashion was on point and their hair was dyed with so many vibrant colors. I could tell I was on the edge, I was dangling one foot over that Kpop downfall.

After my Bigbang recommendations ran out Youtube blessed me by intruducing me to my loves. Now I guess you can tell by my words that I love this group. It’s none other than BTS. In 2015 they were a two year in idol group who I had never heard of. after that day my world was immensly colored by this seven member group.

BTS

The very first song I listened to of theirs was called “Dope”. Just imagine seven talented young men rapping, singing and dancing to a melodic bop. Their precision in their choreography stole my heart. Their vocals were no joke and the rappers flows were fire. That was it for me, the other foot had left the ground and I was now falling. I took that leap and down that Kpop rabbit hole I fell.

In the Kpop world there’s a saying: “Once you‘re in there is no leaving“. I’m not so sure how accurate it is but at least for me its kinda right. After I found BTS and fell in love. I ventured out into other groups. Seventeen, Twice, Got7, KNK, BlockB, iKON, Winner, Exo, Super Junior, Shinee. All these groups began to become important to me. Now I know you might say it was only because I payed more attention to their looks. You would be only half right. Cause come one who can look at these beautiful people and not say “Omg they are gorgeous”!

But it wasn’t just that, I got to know these groups it was like they became family. I watched more and more videos and virety shows they appeared on. I subscribed to their Youtube channels, Twitters , IG’s and other platforms they used. Through these devices I got to see them as humans beings doing human things. They shed their “Idol” persona’s and showed us how goofy they were or thier tough times.

Having the ability to connect with us in a way that was so natural brought me happiness. I was dealing with my mental health issues at that time the only way I knew how, by not dealing. That changed when I found Kpop. It may sound strange but I guarantee I’m not the only person who would say this. When I would feel low I would watch funny videos of my favs or just put on their music and let it heal me.

The one group that I will say that has helped me tremendously was BTS. The messages they put in their songs just resonate with me. They discuss social issues, loving yourself, mental health issues and not letting the world dictate who you are. They’ve helped me in so many ways that I can truly say they saved my life. When I found Kpop and my babies my world opened up. I found a community of people that I connected with. I found three amazing girls who I now call my sisters that I would do anything for.

When I fell down that Kpop rabbit hole I know that it was the greatest thing to have ever happened to me. I started trying new things, I love Korean food now, I’m learning Korean and I‘m trying to be more open to new things. Without that leap I would never have known the amazing community and music that not only Kpop but Khiphop and Kr&b have. So with my ending of this article I urge you to try something new.

It doesn’t have to be Kpop it could be a new hobbie, or food, or language or fashion trend. Whatever YOU decide to try just make sure its something that will enhance your worth and not take from it. Cause we only have one like to live so live with happiness not negativity.

My Bias Jung Hoseok of BTS

“Maybe I made a mistake yesterday, but yesterday’s me is still me. I am who I am today, with all my faults. Tomorrow I might be a tiny bit wiser, and that’s me, too. These faults and mistakes are what I am, making up the brightest stars in the constellation of my life. I have come to love myself for who I was, who I am, and who I hope to become.”

― Kim Namjoon of BTS

bands
1

About the Creator

Hanii94

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.