Beat logo

Exclusive Interview With Trevah, Canada-Based Hip Hop Artist

Meet fast growing rapper, songwriter and record producer based in Ottawa, Canada, known by the stage name of Trevah.

By Honk MagazinePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

We had chance to chat with Canada-Based Hip Hop artist and songwriter, who recently released his New Album called "Good Vibes". This project contains 5 elodic songs revealing the trials and tribulations he has faced and how the long-lasting impacts it has on the heart, mind and soul.

According to an interview with Trevah, He talked to us about his work, the artists that inspire him, as well as his unique mindset when it comes to the meaning of art and music.

1.Hello there, Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

My parents used to play all types of artists when I was growing up. I heard everything from Tupac to Michael Jackson. I was exposed to so much music that I became almost obsessed with it. Especially hip-hop I would perform songs when none was watching. That obsession of music carried on and I started taking it more serious as a career path.

2. Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started this career?

Releasing my latest EP “GOOD VIBES” was interesting . Only because I really showed a lot of growth in my sound and music as the way of creating expanded. I really stepped out of my comfort zone on all the songs and made real music I normally wouldn’t. I have songs for the party scene, for the ladies, and for the streets. I truly feel I am becoming a more well-rounded artist that can do it all. Also being featured in several magazines and reviews.

3. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Reading haters comments like “you suck” or “this is wack “ I learned to accept criticism. It was a major tool that helped me grow faster than anything else. It drove me to want to be better because I wanted to prove everyone wrong.

4. What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

My most exciting project is an EP with five songs entitled “ GOOD VIBES”. It was growth for me as an recording artist because I was able to explore different sounds and melodies on every track. I really put my mind , heart & soul into the project.

5. Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

Interacting with my fans and supporters is the most interesting part of making music. Seeing people’s reactions to how good my music is always a joy for me.

6. Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Make sure you have goals!Goals are meant to give you direction and purpose without them you are stuck doing stuff until something major happens or you burnout.

7. You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

Practice, practice, practice and practice some more. Whether you have been an artist for 10 years or 10 days you always have room to improve your skills, art and vision.

8. Can you share with our readers any self care routines, practices or treatments that you do to help your body, mind or heart to thrive? Kindly share a story or an example for each.

Writing things down is a practice I do everyday helps me think about music all of the time that so much that I’m immersed in it.Writing daily helps me truly get inspired, and gets me on the right track. I’m fascinated by words in music, and the ideas that flow to me when I write.

9. What are your "5 things I wish someone told me when I first started" and why. Please share a story or example for each.

• Don't sacrifice meaning for rhyme.

• Use literary devices.

• Come at your themes from a unique angle.

• Tell a story.

• Above all else, be unique.

10. Can you please give us your favorite "Life Lesson Quote"? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Remember one thing through every dark night, there’s a bright day after that. So no matter how hard it get, stick your chest out. Keep your head up, and handle it.” - Tupac

I live by this quote everyday it reminds me to stay strong and handle every situation with pride and positivity even when things are looking bad.

11. None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My mom ,for sure. My mother has taught me that hard times can be overcome and that losing battles can be won. She has taught me more than I could have learnt from any book. She sets an inspirational example to me teaching me how to live life and make wise choices, even in the most uncertain situations.

12. You are a person of enormous influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Artists have often played a key role in social movements in the World addressing issues ranging from immigration to sexism to gun violence. Through their expressive talents, artists can challenge cultural narratives, shift imagery and inspire emotions. Put it this way a movement where "You may attend a rally or vote, but you also read books, listen to music, engage with visual art, turn on the radio and create your identity through culture.

13. We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might see this. :-)

Jay Z is what almost every rapper imagines they want to be. His status, money, and relevance are crazy Jay Z had a quote saying “Difficult takes a day, impossible takes a week." That statement is precisely why I’d like to have a talk with him .He is intelligent and driven in ways that cannot be quantified. All of his success comes from his ability to accomplish goals with smarts, effort and persistence, even against the odds. What he says is true. You can't knock the hustle.

14 How can our readers follow you online?

Instagram.com/trevah2x

Twitter.com/trevah2x

interview
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.