Beat logo

Eurovision 2020: My Top 11 So Far

Are the songs 'On Fire', or are they crying out for 'Attention'?

By VISIONPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Eurovision season is in full swing. National finals aplenty and internal selections underway: fans are ready for a fabulous few months.

11 songs have been revealed so far: but do any of them have what it takes to take the title in Ahoy? Lets review, starting with my least favourite first...

#11- Benny Cristo- Kemama (Czech Republic)

It's by no means terrible, and so far there isn't a bad song, but its really not to my taste at all. However it brings something different to Eurovision, so it will be interesting to see how it does, though I can't see it qualifying.

#10- Athena Manoukian- Chains on You (Armenia)

Again, not to my taste, and personally I've already forgotten about it. Though Armenia generally have a strong qualifying record, and I wouldn't be surprised to see this scrape through.

#9- Tom Leeb- The Best In Me (France)

Another forgettable entry, and compared to France's entry last year makes a real drop. Last years entry was impactful, had a message and was memorable. This however is boring from the moment you press play, and gives me Michael Rice vibes aka last place vibes. Good job they have already got a spot in the final.

#8- Blas Canto- Universo (Spain)

A decent entry, but nothing groundbreaking. 18th-20th place most likely.

#7- Diodato- Fai Rumore (Italy)

Dramatic and passionate, something you always expect from Italy. A pretty good entry and will finish in a respectable place, I personally wouldn't vote for it, however.

#6- Hooverphonic- Release Me (Belgium)

A slick and sophisticated entry from Belgium. Belgium of late have (generally, lets not include 2014 in this) entered forward thinking and outside the box entries, and this is another to add. This has been a risk, as sometimes they have placed highly (2015) and other times have failed to qualify (both 2018 and 2019), with Hooverphonic the risk is much the same and a bad running order draw may mean they are forgotten about, and if they stage it as badly as 2018/2019...another NQ for Belgique.

#5-Arilena Ara- Shaj (Albania)

No shade Albania, but a ballad from you is hardly groundbreaking. But I really like this one. Powerful and dramatic, a sure-fire qualifier.

#4- Samanta Tina- Still Breathing (Latvia)

Latvia has often taken the edgy route too like Belgium, and this is no exception. Catchy but also jarring, its sticks in your head, but does it make you want to vote for it? We will see.

#3- Montaigne- Don't Break Me (Australia)

My top three is very close, but this just gets the bronze medal. Raw, emotional and showstopping; Montaigne delivers powerful vocals and expresses her pain, something that will resonate with audiences across Europe. I can imagine this being top five easily in the Jury vote, but how will it fair against other more televote friendly songs?

#2- Ulrikke Brands- Attention (Norway)

Wow, just wow. Winning MGP at the very last minute, this is an entry I can see winning the whole thing. Vocally stunning, and she looks excellent. The stripped back staging and song is very Sweden 2014, but I ain't mad about it. This will be one I will absolutely vote for.

#1- THE ROOP- On Fire

A soon as I heard this, I was hooked. The out of this world hook, the visuals, the odd but also perfect staging; everything I love. Its a very divisive entry amongst fans, and will also be divisive at Eurovision. I can see this either being in the top 10, or falling short of a qualifying place, but regardless its ahead of its time, and ahead of the field for me this year.

With many more entries to come, I can't wait to see how this turns out!

list
Like

About the Creator

VISION

Passionate about all things Eurovision.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/michaelsellers95/

PayPal: paypal.me/michaelsellersxo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.