Beat logo

Episode ICT-002 and 3

ICT-Makavenna talks about the gear that she wears.

By ICT MakavennaPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
1
#young #femaleRapper #HispanicArtist #Latina #TeenRap #experimentalHipHop #Inspiration #motivationMusic #ICT #Makavenna

I am ICT-Makavenna, a young Hispanic female rapper doing experimental and inspirational music, and I host my music on SoundCloud at the moment. The type of music that I am working on at the moment I call experimental hip hop/inspiration rap. I am inspired to make music that relates to society, that motivates my generation, and that gives a point of view from a young teen Hispanic female growing up in America, including the struggles, trials, and positive changes, achievements, and influences. This is part of my second and third interviews on YouTube.

Interviewer: ICT is wearing a custom made shirt that says “ICT knows about Bone Thugs-N-Harmony” So what does it mean? Explain to us what these shirts you're going to be rocking are all about?

ICT: The shirts are album covers of any type of music that I know and like. All of it is different, and many people think that I don’t know [about that type of music] but I do. A metal song with rap.

And so with the shirts you are expressing the different types of songs and albums that you like and know about? What do you have on in the back?

Lauryn Hill and Tupac

They are two iconic figures that a lot of people your age probably don’t know about. But you’re say that you actually enjoy listening to their music. What other types of album covers will you be wearing later on in the future?

Like some pop, rock, metal, and some, like, old school rap.

Cool. So all kinds of different genres, artists, bands. So what is the first song that you ever recorded, and what is it about?

The song “I’m Real,” about me being real, but being around so many fake people.

How did you like doing that first song?

It was cool.

So do you feel that you’ve grown a lot since then on your music?

Yeah.

Awesome. Thank for showing us about your gear. ICT know 'bout that Bone Thugs, about that Lauryn Hill and about that Tupac.

Back with ICT for segment three.

So first off what you wearing today?

Chingo Bling’s album They Can’t Deport Us All.

And this goes with your topic?

Yes, with the single “They Call Us Bad Cuz We Brown.”

Currently, there is so much going on with immigration and separation of children from their parents due to deportation. But no matter how hard they try, they can’t deport every brown person. So that’s what I like about Chingo Bling’s album cover.

So what’s the story behind your song?

Well all my singles on SoundCloud reflect the type of music that I am and will be making. I have a full album we are working on, and the singles reflect or quote rhymes, topics and lines that are on the first and future albums. So I’m giving everyone a taste of things to come.

“Bad Cuz I’m Brown” is a single that I feel does a few things. It gives you that Latin edge, that Spanglish language that will be on some of my future songs. It quotes “Unity” from album one on a song about immigration. And the lyrics are a keep your head up feel for everyone suffering through all this discrimination against brown people, and the division of families due to deportation.

But like I said, it reflects what my album will sound like.

Can you tell us more about the album?

More about the album to come. But it will have songs about being real, some dance, rock, inspiration, political, and Chicano style rap with the whole Spanish and English lyrics.

Basically, what you hear from me on SoundCloud is similar to what the album will look like.

So are you making an album from what you already have on SoundCloud?

No. Actually Albums one, two, and three have already been written. With SoundCloud, we are giving bits and pieces of what’s to come. We’re having fun, playing around and experimenting with music and beats while our producers work on the album, and that’s what we put out on SoundCloud, to keep the music going.

Any other insight to the upcoming album that you can give us?

Well there are some songs we will be putting out on an EP that are for the album, which we call the XV songs. "Siguele el ritmo,"—follow the rhythm. That’s all I will give you for now.

My SoundCloud

Thank you, ICT-Makavenna

interview
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.