Beat logo

Epiphany Staind cover Shannon King

Staind

By Shannon KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Disclaimer: I do not own nor did I create any of the instrumental/musical background or compose the melody or lyrics of this song. Credit is attributed to the original publisher/author and the only part of this creation I own is the voice singing the song to a karaoke version that was available via youtube.com. The correct references are also notated for the biographies on the artists. Thank you!

LYRICS

Your words to me just a whisper

Your face is so unclear

I try to pay attention

Your words just disappear

'Cause it's always raining in my head

Forget all the things I should have said

So I speak to you in riddles

'Cause my words get in my way

I smoke the whole thing to my head

And feel it wash away

'Cause I can't take anymore of this

I want to come apart

And dig myself a little hole

Inside your precious heart

'Cause it's always raining in my head

Forget all the things I should have said

I am nothing more than

A little boy inside

That cries out for attention

Yet I always try to hide

'Cause I talk to you like children

Though I don't know how I feel

But I know I'll do the right thing

If the right thing is revealed

'Cause it's always raining in my head

Forget all the things I should have said

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Aarron Lewis

About the song: "Break the Cycle is the third studio album by American rock band Staind, released through Elektra Entertainment and Flip Records in 2001. It is Staind's most successful album to date, and was the album that broke them into the mainstream. It was a huge international success for the band, as it spent three weeks at number one position in the U.S. album charts and many weeks in the top 10 album charts of the Billboard 200, the UK and New Zealand. It sold at least 4 million copies in 2001. The album was certified 5x platinum by the RIAA.[1]

A total of 5 singles were released from this album, "It's Been Awhile", "Fade", "Outside", "For You" and "Epiphany", all of which did reasonably well. There were videos made for each of these songs (some of which can be found on Staind's MTV Unplugged DVD). The first four singles had varying degrees of success in the UK, "It's Been Awhile" charting the highest of the four released in both countries. The album also includes a track called "Waste" dedicated to a teenage fan who committed suicide. Like Staind's previous album Dysfunction, Break The Cycle has alternative metal/nu metal sounds. However, the album also shows the band's softer post-grunge sound, an element that the band wished to progress further with more acoustic and soft ballad tracks. This included an acoustic rendition of the entire album as a second disc, but this was not finalized.

There is also a bonus track on the album. In the United States, the bonus track is an acoustic version of "It's Been Awhile". However, on the Australian and European editions, the bonus track is a live acoustic version of "Outside", performed with Fred Durst in Biloxi, Mississippi on the Family Values Tour 1999.

Because of the record's high recording budget of $800,000, there were many worries about whether or not the album would be successful, and the album almost had to top charts internationally just to break even with studio costs. Break the Cycle debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 with first week sales of at least 716,000 copies. It remained at the top the following week with 329,299 copies. In the third week it was number one again with 244,698 copies. In the fourth week it dropped to number 2 with 221,179 copies. It sold over 1,000,000 copies in the first 3 weeks. The album sold 4,900,000 copies in the US and was certified 5x platinum by the RIAA. Break the Cycle also topped the UK charts, where it was certified platinum, in New Zealand and in Canada, where it had the multi-platinum status. The world sales are around 8 million copies.

Initial critical response ranged from mixed to average. At Metacritic, which assigns a normalized rating out of 100 to reviews from mainstream critics, the album has received an average score of 55, based on 9 reviews.[3]" (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Break_the_Cycle).

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Shannon King

Born in St. Augustine, Fl, Shannon has a Master of Arts Degree in Applied Behavior Analysis from USF. She is currently pursuing a career in music, singing and writing with a focus in poetry, biographies, and inspirational messages.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.