Beat logo

ECLECTIC MIX JANUARY 22

The tracks filling my head space this month

By Gary PackerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Well guys Christmas is over, and we find ourselves in a new year. Hopefully one which is better than last years, or even the year before that. CoVid finally seems to be fading into the background of our daily lives, and hopefully we now can all face forwards to better days. One’s we don’t take for granted, and with the past 2 years events and lessons still in our heads. January is now over, which tends to be one of the longest, and blues-y feeling months of the year, suppose it’s like a whole month-long hangover of the year just gone past. Now we can all jump on the new year, new me bandwagon. To help you on the way why not take up some musical tastes and indulge in this playlist to help you on the way. Sure, as they say variety is the spice of life!

As regulars will know by now this playlist of mines is varied and eclectic as always. One minute you’ll be tapping along to some golden oldie track from the 80’s, before changing tempo to a 90’s dance classic, before singing along to some fresh cut of indie. Sub-consciously every month my playlists do tend to end up having a familiar vibe or genre. Permeating through them, it gives them a little bit of standout character. Conversely though I’m not entirely sure what this month is, other than it seems to be influenced by listening to the soundtrack on the game FIFA 22. Maybe a little bit of Afrobeat’s is the main theme, but I’ll let you decide. But don’t fret, there is still gold, different moods, and a mixture of music to let your ears feast on. Another admission I must make (perhaps the eagle-eyed among you already noticed) there wasn’t a playlist for December, I instead left that to be filled by my Eclectic Mix of the year. So, this playlist is an amalgamation of music from December and January, as I am always listening to music no matter the time of the year. Music is my medicine!

As I seem to say every week, I know these lists can potentially be quite long. But for once in forever (or at least since I’ve done these pieces on my playlists) this one is quite short, only clocking in at 1 hour and 15mins, so maybe you’ll finally be able to listen to a full one! However as always I have included a YouTube playlist to highlight those tracks, I just desperately want you to listen to!

Seal – Crazy

Wilma Archer – Cheater

Skee-Lo – I wish

Sting – Be Still My Beating Heart

POLO & PAN – Tunnel

Binki – Landline

Joy Orbison – Better

Garden City Movement – Summer Night

Harari – Give

Feiertag – Trepidation

Sam Fender – Get You Down

Terry Presume – Act Up

TSHA – Demba

This month’s list features Sting, Wilma Archer, Joy Orbison, Seal, Skee-Lo, Harari, Cassius, Bakar, binki, Feiertag, Garden City Movement, Harvey Causon, Polo&Pan, Public Order, Sam Fender, Terry Presume and TSHA. As always, this list is for listening to anytime really (well i would say that as it’s my list) but is probably best enjoyed loudly or with a good set of headphones on.

As always I will see you all in another month’s time for more of the music that’s been keeping me going over the month of February. I might even find the time to making write something else which isn’t musically focused! So for now, and until then be safe, look after each other, and have a great month. Better days are ahead for us all, just keep believing.

Hope you’ve enjoyed the music, and don’t forget how important music is. Afterall its the soundtrack to your life!!!

If you enjoyed this article, then please feel free to check my profile out, and some of my other articles/stories. I appreciate your support and time !

feature
Like

About the Creator

Gary Packer

Jack of all trades, master of none

https://entertainmentthought.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.