Beat logo

Early Jack Harlow Hits

Taking it back to Missionary Jack

By Nu NardisPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

To anyone with the question, "Hm... this Jack Harlow guy is pretty hyped up, but I've only heard 1 or 2 songs. What other songs of his should I listen to to get into his music?". This is where I come in and show you the light. Jack has always been a certified hit-maker. From his lyrical versatility on a beat to melodic and calm flow adaptability, Jack's past hits will definitely make a solid impression on you.

Jack Harlow's older albums and EP contain a vast amount of hidden bangers. To shorten the process here are 3 highly notable songs each from 3 of his older albums.

From Confetti: River Road, Heavy Hitter, Walk in the Park

River Road

Produced by: 2forwOyNE

"Back when I was young, I used to pedal bikes. Now I'm riding cross country doing several nights. In and out the Sprinter van, pull up, get the levels right. Get a bite to eat do the show, and then we settle like. What could be a better life?"

River Road is a relaxing song, lasting over 4 minutes with no chorus. In the song, Jack is reflecting on his childhood and his future and deep thoughts he's been meaning to get off his chest over the course of his rise in the industry.

Heavy Hitter

Produced by: Willy Will

"Used to be the one that I idolized, now I can't see you the same as I used to. I guess I need me a ride or die. Know you get sick of the games cause I do too."

Heavy Hitter is a hype melodic rap song about Jack's current lifestyle and how much it changed due to his hard work and the support from his hometown, Louisville Kentucky.

Goin Back Down

Produced by: Don Cannon & 2forwOyNE

"School nights turned into getting pat-downs. Out front the club with ones who got the torch passed down."

Goin Back Down is an upbeat song about Jack's party lifestyle. Describing drinking, smoking, and hookups, as well as telling us that he is not new to this lifestyle and that some school nights turned into getting patted down.

From Loose: Knack For It, 9th Grade, Sundown

Knack For It

Produced by: 2forwOyNE

"She got a knack for it. Even my best friend done fell in love with her before. Ain't gotta act forward. I know what you on, you should know that I done been here before."

Knack For It is a melodic heartfelt song. Jack was definitely more in his feelings when recording this album. In this song, he describes the feelings he developed for a woman who is no good for him due to his past experience.

9th Grade

Produced by:

"Novocaine, codependent with a coat of paint (oh yeah). I got codenames for the things that I wanna do when we in the same space."

9th Grade is a calm melodic rap song about Jack expressing his true emotions towards his high school crush after years has passed and he's changed.

Sundown

Produced by: 2forwOyNE

"In the the south and I'm feeling like a pimp. You a simp, I don't feel bad for you, I ain't sympathetic."

Sundown is a more upbeat song about Jack's pride in his roots and how far he's come with his guys while never forgetting where he came from.

Examples from Gazebo: Onnaway, Tightrope, Dark Knight

Onnaway

Produced By: J Reid (Chevi Music) & 2forwOyNE

"Staring at the ceiling while I listen to you talk about the things I be thinkin' bout too, and everything made sense for a second right there but tomorrow I won't have a damn clue."

Onnaway is a melodic rap song. In this song Jack describes reflecting on his way of life with a girl he slept with.

Tightrope

Produced By: 2forwOyNE

"This ain't what I thought it was I guess. Don't get me wrong, I know I'm blessed. Sometimes I'm tempted just to his that f***ing ganja for the stress."

Tightrope is slow hard hitting song about Jack walking the tightrope of his career. He has hope that he'll grow and become a great and knows he has to work for it but it didn't started to not seem worth it.

Dark Knight

Produced By: 2forwOyNE

"CyHi told me how to deal with the writer's block. Got me thinking maybe I was thinking inside the box. Now we in the house, finna bring it around the block. Know they wanna, hang but we hanging them out to dry."

In this hard hitting banger Jack was just having fun on the beat. Talking about a lot of things with clever lyricism and a phenomenal flow.

Now, he without a doubt has more hits than these, in fact these aren't even the albums best hits, but these are some of the easier stuff to listen to when first exploring his other non-mainstream music.

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.