Beat logo

Drew Ramz

With close to a million streams, Drew Ramz is an independent artist on the rise!

By mysoundMusicPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2

Drew Ramz's is set to release a new track Wasted Away, featuring life-long friend Alex Scott, on August 21st to all streaming platforms. Wasted Away is a track designed to put you in the mood of day drinking all day with your friends, whether that be on a cruise or bar hopping downtown.

While we wait eagerly for Ramz's next release, take a moment and get to know Drew Ramz through our Q&A session ...

What is your stage name?

Drew Ramz

What is your chosen genre?

I love bouncing between different genres, it just depends on my mood. I would have to say hip-hop & pop.

What first got you into music?

I started loving music when my Mom enrolled me in a musical theatre summer camp in Coral Springs, Fl. She thought it would help me break out of my shell. I fell in love with the arts in general, but music has always spoken the loudest to me.

How would you describe the music that you typically create?

I can create any type of track, from bangers to story tellers, but I think my favorite to make has to be story telling tracks. I feel like music is an outlet to express what you have to say when you can’t just talk about it.

What is your creative process like?

I have two kids, so getting alone time to write music is sometimes pretty difficult, especially during COVID-19. Lately what I do is I stay up later than my kids & I lurk the internet for beats. Once I find a beat, I go into my car and just drive around until the lyrics come to me. Being in my car is so peaceful and it allows me the alone time to write.

Once I’m done writing, I go to the studio and lay a reference track & I sit on it for a couple weeks, letting it marinate. Once I’ve figured out how I want to deliver, I go into the studio with my amazing producer, Jordan Costello and we record the track again. Then I sit down with Jordan and master the track! It’s crazy watching a song go from an idea to a full on 3 minute story.

Is there a hidden meaning in any of your music?

I love dropping references in songs. It’s my favorite thing to do, so if you listen to my lyrics, every song has a hidden gem that is not obvious. I love little gems like that, I think it helps the listener understand me as an artist once they find those Easter eggs.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

My favorite song that I’ve released has to be Brand New featuring the ever so talented Gaby Sanchez. Her and I just gel so well on the track, it just gives me an early 2000’s vibe. The stuff I grew up listening to. I feel like “Brand New” was a reminder to me of what music can be compared to cookie cutter stuff we have been accustomed to today.

What is your favorite song(s) to perform? Or, if not performing, what song do fans seem to favor?

I have not performed live yet, but I’ve been in clubs when my music is played & no matter how old this track gets, everyone gets lit to Panties, which was my first collaboration with my child-hood friend, turned brother, Alex Scott. Till this day him and I are still confused when we see “Panties” still getting plays. It definitely wasn’t our best work, but hey you gotta start somewhere…right?

Do you plan your music releases, or do you just finish a song and release it?

I like to plan and market my releases. I put so much time and effort into my music, so I feel as though the amount of money and time that’s put into making the music needs to be doubled when it comes to marketing your music. People spend months and months on music, only to drop it without any prior exposure, which is great if you’re established. I’m not established, so I take my time finding different ways to get my music out there to as many listeners as possible!

Have you ever dealt with performance anxiety?

I deal with normal anxiety, so I’ve always had performance anxiety. As a teen doing musicals, I would always sike myself out before shows, but as I grew older I just had to build that confidence to tell myself that I am good.

What is your favorite part about this line of work? Your least favorite? Why?

Honestly, I’ve suffered from depression and anxiety for almost 5 years now. Writing, recording, and releasing music takes my mind away from that depression. I’m a firm believer in music therapy & the fact is that music helps me get by on a day by day basis. It helps me be a good husband, a good father, and a good person in general. Without it, I’d be lost.

It’s a double edged sword however because just as music can be my therapy, it can also be my downfall. I’m often way too critical of myself & that sometimes affects my music making process.

Tell about a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your music career.

I’m a loadmaster in the United States Air Force. My job involves a lot of travel. I also have made friends in many different countries. I think one of the craziest moments in my life was being in Germany at a night club partying with my friends and co-workers & hearing my song Panties blare through the stereo system. I remember looking around and seeing girls twerking and people just having a good time & I knew right then and there that I wanted to feel that feeling over and over again for the rest of my life.

What music do you listen to ‘for fun’?

I’m a huge fan of throwbacks. I love the 80’s, 90’s, and ‘01-‘16.

Who inspires you musically?

Justin Timberlake & Lin-Manuel Miranda

If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

Probably Drake

What advice would you have for someone wanting to follow in your footsteps?

It’s a long road and rejection is EVERYWHERE, but as long as you are happy with the product that you’re putting out, then that’s what should matter. Remember that making music is only 20% of the battle & the other 80% is finding a way to brand yourself!

How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

The internet has definitely made it easier to release music allowing many people to get their music out there. I do think it’s watered down the punch a little bit. I feel like you had to really standout back in the day, now if you have some clout and a sick beat, you can make it.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

Huge fan of Instagram! Huge fan of Spotify! Follow Drew Ramz everywhere! Just google me.

What is one message you would give to your followers?

Thank you! And I will surprise you with the next crop of songs!

What does the future hold for you?

Success! Gotta keep pushing myself to the limit to create art and music that’ll leave a lasting impression

mySoundMusic is a HUGE FAN of this talented Artist. Be sure to watch for Drew Ramz new release Wasted Away and add it to your playlist!

interview
2

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.