Beat logo

Drea Dominique

R&B Sensation

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Drea Dominique (Provided Photo)

There has been a lot of buzz about multi-talented artist Drea Dominique this 2020 year. This singer, songwriter, model and businesswoman hails from Long Island, New York however, currently resides in San Diego, California. Throughout her time as an artist Drea Dominique has worked with many of the industry’s finest.

From AC Burrell who produced her hit single “Catch My Wave" featuring AD. Which received over 120K views on YouTube and over 33K streams on platforms such as Spotify and Apple Music. To the sweet ballad, “Waiting" featuring InkMonstarr produced by keyboard artist Kevin Flournoy. All being a few from Drea Dominique’s forthcoming EP titled, “Drea’s Toy Box.” In a matter of months Drea Dominique has set the tone for the upcoming year with over 40.3K streams in 86 different countries.

Aside from being a musician Drea Dominique is an entrepreneur, with her first beauty and fashion line “HeartSpace by Drea.” From custom-designed, T-shirts, hoodies, hats; and her “Drea Dominique” lashes and lipstick Line. Drea gives fans a fun, fashionable yet affordable catalog to select from.

With her smooth R&B sound, colorful personality and alluring looks, Drea Dominique is well on her way as an R&B sensation. Tune into her new song "Santa Baby" now available on all digital streaming platforms.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to get into the music industry?

Drea Dominique:

What inspired me to get into the music industry was my love and passion for music. Music has the ability to get you through heartbreak. Music has the ability to touch your heart. Music has done both for me. I’ve been through a lot of things and I would like to let my stories touch other people the way certain songs have touched me.

Tammy Reese:

Please tell me about your EP Drea's Toy Box.

Drea Dominique:

My EP is called Drea’s Toy Box. I call it my toy box because my songs are similar to a child with its toys. The type of toys they have may vary but they love them all the same. At clean up time they all go where they belong. In their toy box. That’s how I feel about my songs on this project. They are all so different but I love them all like my own little doll babies. This project has so much variety. I have a slow and sexy smooth song with Waiting. I have a dance song with Catch My Wave. I have a pop song with Ratchet Girl. I also have a song called Toy Box that has sort of a Reggae vibe to it. Flex is a girl power breakup song that’s upbeat. So I’m hoping the world will enjoy each one of my very different toys.

Drea Dominique (Provided Photo)

Tammy Reese:

What are some of the most memorable moments in your career so far?

Drea Dominique:

When it comes to my career my most memorable moment would have to be my experience being on the TV show Bad Girls Club. It was wild and crazy. Not always a good time but being in front of cameras going through it all is something I’ll never forget. My music career is still so new to me, I haven’t really had any major life altering moments. I know they are coming though. So I look forward to telling those stories in the near future.

Tammy Reese:

What have been some challenges?

Drea Dominique:

The biggest challenge has been my growth in the music. I’ve always wanted to sing but I haven’t always been the most confident. I used to get in the studio and sing soft and have my producer tell me that I needed to give more. I’ve had some sessions that had me in tears out of fear of just letting it all out. Over time I have been perfecting my craft and taking the advice of the people I work with, and I am continuing to grow. Drea today is completely different from Drea 3 years ago, in the studio. I know Drea today will be different from Drea next year. Everyday I am continuing to learn and grow.

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Drea Dominique:

Currently I am putting the finishing touches on Toy Box, as well as wrapping up the music videos. In 2021 my project will drop and I don’t think it will disappoint.

Tammy Reese:

What can we be on the lookout for from you in the coming year?

Drea Dominique:

After I drop Toy Box I plan to get back in the studio and get going on more music. I want to record as much as possible, and keep cranking out music for the world to enjoy!

Drea Dominique (Provided Photo)

Tammy Reese:

What has 2020 taught you?

Drea Dominique:

2020 has taught me patience above all. It also confirmed what I already knew, which is you can make plans but God makes the final call. A lot of things were put on hold for me this year but I believe that everything happens for a reason, and if I was supposed to master the art of waiting, then that was my assignment for 2020.

Tammy Reese:

What do you want your legacy to look like?

Drea Dominique:

I want my legacy to consist of timeless music that my daughters' kids will still love to jam to, like the people of today do to The Temptations or Marvin Gaye.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for anyone who wants to enter into the music industry?

Drea Dominique:

My advice to anyone wanting to enter the music industry would be to give it your all. Believe in yourself even if no one else does. Don’t listen to the haters. Remember they come with the territory. Be teachable and never stop learning.

Keep up-to-date with Drea Dominique and her career journey by connecting on Instagram.

interview
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.