Beat logo

Donnie Fresh—New Orlean’s Next Musical Star?

Donnie Fresh

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Donald Mutin Jr., famously known as,Donnie Fresh, is an American musical artist, producer, and songwriter from New Orleans, LA with an electric style and flow the music industry has never seen. At his rate he could be one of the biggest names in the upcoming fill return of the music scene. Inspired by Cash Money Millionaires , Master P , Anthony Hamilton , John Mayer , and B.B. King . Donnie also found love for other genres like classic rock such as Led Zeppelin , Guns N' Roses and many more. In August of 2005, Hurricane Katrina made landfall which brought Donnie to Houston,TX. Once coming Houston, Donnie taught himself how play instruments such as guitar, piano and several others. This helped mold Donnie into his sound we hear today. In high school, Donnie would record mixtapes and sell them at his school for 10 dollars to help his mother with bills. In 2017 “Never Going Back” would be the record to begin to give Donnie his buzz. With his relaxed style, vivid lyrics, and smooth R&B hooks, Donnie would continue to show he is next.


After having a hit smash in 2019 with “Waiting For” which blew up in Dominican republic, Puerto Rico, and Jamaica etc. which help boost the brand and fanbase to a larger market.

In 2020 Donnie gave us his first body of work, with his EP “What Happened Last Thursday” with his heavily anticipated single “Farewell Letter” which talks about the relationships struggle he had to overcome.

We caught up with Donnie below to learn a little about him before he blows up on the music scene and begin to be too busy. As you know, we love to interview artist such as Donnie because he has so much potential and great quality content! Let get right into it.

Vocal creators: What makes you different as a person and also what makes you different as an artist?

Donnie: What makes me different as a person and as a artist is that I carry myself like leader. I tell my truth to motivate the kids and people who listen to me and who’s inspired by me

Vocal creators: What do you want to accomplish in life?

Donnie: What I would like to accomplish in life other then to win a Grammy would to, just honestly, make a difference in my community. Actually changing ppl lives for the better. Give ppl who gave up a second chance. Being able to give my family a better life. Because I know there more to life.

Vocal creators: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Donnie: In 5 years, I see myself headlining my owe set, people knowing the words and singing word for word. I had that version since I was little. Growing up watching Cash Money and No Limit I know I wanted to perform and touch the word like they did. No brakes, but still grinding like I was broke and getting better everyday. I want to bring honesty back in the game. I feel like most artist don’t live what they talking bout. Not anyone is a gangster or thug, it’s okay to be hurt, I feel like we all human. We have to be in tune with our emotions. That’s why thankful enough to build a fanbase who like me for me.

Vocal Creators: What type of legacy do you want to leave behind for yourself?

Donnie: The legacy I want to leave behind is the opportunity to say that I changed somebody’s life with my music. When I first started making music, it was all for the money just to give my parents a better life. Once I really tapped into my craft and began to build a fanbase that actually listened to what I had to say. The impact I have on some of these people lives really triggered something more to me. Every picture I take, every song I make is, for the fans to make memories off of. I have a song for every emotion, I just want my legacy to the world to change people lives, because why be here and not make an impact.

Follow Donnie Below on 𝗜𝗻𝘀𝘁𝗮𝗴𝗿𝗮𝗺:

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.