Beat logo

Don't Let Anyone Invalidate You as a Fan

it's not about seeing them live; it's about loving them with your whole heart.

By hannah irelanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I went on a bit of a Twitter rant today. Not uncommon for me, but particularly strange when it comes to the subject matter. You see, I’ve been a fan of something, albeit that “something” always changes, but I’ve always loved something wholeheartedly. That being said, I know what it means to be a fan, and in my opinion, that word gets thrown around far too often.

A fan isn’t a definition that I like to use for myself, honestly. It feels too shallow. A fan, to me, is someone that can move on after hearing a song just once. They’re someone that can’t pick up the base of their favorite song playing at the lowest volume a few doors down. They’re the people who can’t recognize the voice of their favorite person in a crowd of hundreds. Those are fans. They’re, for lack of a better term, superficial. At least, that’s how they’ve been portrayed to be.

I don’t like to be called a fan. I don’t even really like to be called a stan. I like to be called by my name. I’m Hannah, and I also happen to love Louis Tomlinson and Harry Styles. That’s how I prefer to be seen. It makes me feel real. It gives me more substance. That, however, doesn’t mean that I’m not a fan.

Recently on Twitter, there’s been a lot of talk about “real” fans versus “not real” fans when it comes to attending Louis’s tour next year. There’s a lot of things wrong with this. For one, a fan isn’t a fan because they attend a show. A fan is a fan because of the way their eyes light up when they talk about the one they love. A fan is a fan because of the way they smile unconsciously without realizing it when they talk about their favorite human. A fan is a fan because of the way their entire life seems to curl around their idol, and they’d do anything for them, just to see them happy. Secondly, a fan isn’t defined by the level of superficial support they provide. Some fans simply cannot afford tickets to see their favorite performers live. It’s the sad reality of a lot of young people. Speaking from experience, as a college student and a full-time paraprofessional within an elementary school, I’ve been blessed to be able to work around my schedule, but I’ve also been aware enough to know that this isn’t always the case for everyone else. Be mindful of someone’s struggle to get tickets. Trust me, they would be there if they could be. Thirdly, a true fan’s love knows no distance. While it’s not always the easiest, a true fan, someone who truly supports and adores this person beyond measure, will be there through thick and thin, regardless of the circumstances. I think those fans are the bravest. The ones who can love unconditionally and never be rewarded by it. The ones who are the most supportive in the world, but never get to feel that support back. Those are the bravest human beings in the entire universe.

In the end, never let anyone invalidate you as a fan. Your love for your idol isn’t measured on how many shows you attend or how much merchandise you buy. A fan is about learning the lyrics after the very first listen. It’s about getting in the car just for the purpose of listening to that one song you can’t get out of your head. It’s about telling the stars about him. It’s about wanting to give him the universe every single day that you’re alive on this planet. Being a fan isn’t about spending every last penny you have on seeing them live in concert—It’s about keeping them alive in your heart. That’s the true measure of a fan.

social media
Like

About the Creator

hannah irelan

24, treat people with kindness, always support the small joys of others

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.