Beat logo

DMX THE GREAT | We Love You

Let Us Pray

By CAL.Published 3 years ago 12 min read
2
@donisdope

We will forever appreciate the prayers and love you’ve given to the culture of Hiphop. I write this whole heartedly with the most respect to his family. We’ve lost a real one.

1998 was a crucial year for Hip Hop. New Acts came on to the Hip Hop scene dominating the charts. One artist specifically stood out from the rest and his name is Earl "DMX" Simmons from Yonkers, New York.

He had a buzz in the streets with his gritty song "Get At Me Dog" and addressed any rapper in New York City who battle rapped.

DMX was claiming his throne from the ground up and we appreciated every moment of it.

Living a hard life is everything DMX explained in his albums. He told immaculate stories with such passion that any one can feel his pain. His voice and aggression on records are undeniably addictive to listen to. You knew as soon as you heard a verse from X, you’d love the song.

DMX would start his albums with Intros and always end them with a prayer. He’d let everyone know, theres a higher power for us to acknowledge and wasn’t ashamed to speak his truth. His admiration for his people is what made him a distinctive celebrity. He always kept it real, showed love and stayed himself through out his career.

Being from the 914 myself, He gave everyone in Westchester the thrill and excitement to have a big celebrity to reach the heights he’s reached.

Who else has made two albums in one year and both go multi platinum. DMX rise to stardom was too fast, even for him I’m sure but we all loved it.

The Photos, The Videos, The collaborations with Aaliyah, the Ruff Ryders, the battles with Jayz, The Anthems, The Movies.

We love DMX.

I know I will remember him not only for all of his accomplishments but his desires and ambitions to live better. We all know thats what he always strived for.

In this Segment I want to write some stories of short memories people had of him. I’ll start first

CAL:

"I woke up one Saturday morning with a White and Red Cd Cover on my counter dresser. I had to wipe my eyes from just waking up to clearly see what I was looking at and it was DMX Flesh Of My Flesh album. Now this album was set to release the following week, so I couldn’t believe I physically had it in my possession. My brother purchased it from a record shop in Harlem who was known to secretly sell albums a week early.

Full of excitement, I couldn’t wait to hear it front to back and look at all the pictures and read who did what on each song. I remember safely unwrapping it so that I can stick the album stickers back onto the cd case (shout out to you if you know what I mean there)

Two weeks later DMX came to my city of Mount Vernon to get a carwash. As soon as I seen it was him, I ran all the way home to get my Flesh Of My Flesh CD and ran all the way back. DMX was a real one, while he waited for his car to get cleaned, he signed everyones autograph. We love you DMX thank you."

Tobi Delacruz:

"My cousin Madeline came to my house in the Dominican Republic for vacation. she had the It's Dark and Hell is Hot album. I put it in my sister's CD player and from the first two songs I knew I liked it. I remember scrambling to find a cassette tape so I could record all the songs before she left in a couple of hours. He came at a time when rap in NY was getting all glitzy and glamor and not much was being said about the rough life some people had.”

IAmXLove :

I loved his music and his spirit, The whole Ruff Ryders movement was epic back in the day and he was the only artist I knew that had people growling at people. Legendary man with a legendary sound that I would be surprised to ever hear again.

Jose Brito:

"When i was around 16 years old my pops owned a bodega, one day im behind the counter and DMX randomly walks in and i was immediately star struck. He asked for 2 phillies blunts (cigars) handed me a dollar and walked out. I was dying to start up a convo but his aura was too powerful. I was shook.. I just watched him drive off, Rip X."

Dj Clue:

“Rest In Peace To My Guy DMX.

Damn man, we have so much history.

I remember speaking to you for the first time when you were still locked up & you were about to come home via Irv Gotti . You were like “I ain’t coming back here, I want to get on your mixtape soon as I touch down. And you spit the rhyme over the phone. Which in turn became the “Get at Me Dog”Freestyle with The Lox. It was so Lit..they made it into a Song and your first single. From there being on my Albums..going on tour together etc. I will never forget you Bro..You always came through for me,I’m going to always appreciate it. Love You Bro! They will never forget Dark Man X. Condolences To The Family and The Whole Ruff Ryders Squad!!”

Adonia Blaxk:

“Everything about DMX’s message got into my soul and resonated within me. I loved what he represented and how he presented it. As I got older, I found myself incorporating his style into my own. Everything from the Tims to the jackets. I even rocked a dog chain around my neck in high school! I never realized it until I was older, but he’d become a father figure to me. I know his spirit remains forever. So I don’t think he’s departed from us, he’s just moved on to the next level.”

Lucas Lopez:

“In the 90’s he brought the grimy to the streets. He was well respected and being from Westchester , he brought us back on the map as once did Heavy D. DMX THE Great , loved in the hoods , HOME OF THE BRAVE Y.O. 914”

Ladidai :

“I first heard him early on when I was in elementary school. Just from my mom driving me around town or being at the park cuz that’s literally all the streets would play. Party Up when it first came out in the summer of 2000. I wasn’t allowed to listen to rap at home. But the bus drivers played a ton and that song was in every station. And I heard it everywhere even up until school started again in the fall.”

Missy Elliot:

"Even though you had battles you touched so many through your music and when you would pray, so many people felt that. No matter where you prayed, whether at a show or on the street. You spoke with conviction. This is so heavy for The HipHop family & so many especially those who grew up with your music. This is tough, but your legacy lives on and your spirit. Continued Prayers for X family and friends for strength and healing."

Shea Michael:

“One of my favourite Artist of all time passed away today. The first artist to ever make me feel a truly deep emotional connection to music, even though my life was nothing like his. I was a very insecure, confused young teenager but listening to him pour out his soul in his lyrics and speaking his truth taught me so much. It helped me believe that everything will be ok. Thank You for everything DMX “

Danielle Lindheim:

“One, two, meet me where?? Ask anyone you know, I bet they can finish the lyric. I'm a 90's girl so I grew up listening to DMX. His music brought thousands together. Whether you knew one song or dozens of songs, DMX left a name for himself that will remain unforgotten. Rest in peace, Earl.”

Carlos Lopez:

"Even though my memory is vague back in the 90's, due to circumstances I am unable to indulge. His music was uplifting and inspiring. I did not live his life and did not go through his pain and suffering. But I understand, I had a similar anger and rage which I couldn't contain. But maintained peace of mind by not sweating the b.s. Making things better by seeing the good in the bad. Making the best out of what you have. Living life, making jokes, keeping my head up high and strive to survive. Dealing with mental issues and the inner demons that wants you to let loose that rage and do bad things. I still managed to be humble and spread good to this bad world. Live life day by day and live the best that you can cause tommorow is never promised. There for I am DMX. RIP LEGEND"

Adrian Scott:

"Man! I remember booking X for the Rap Show at the Shrine in ‘2017’! Typically, I never put East Coast artists on my radio shows. But, I had a chance to get DMX and I knew I had to start changing the narrative when it comes to expanding artists and to keeping these branded shows alive! Funny backstory that night is. If you know X he wouldn’t go on stage until we ALL prayed! (keep in mind he’s already late LOL) I’m standing there like, YO we are late, let’s go! But he wouldn’t budge, I’m like X we don’t have time and he said to me, we always have time for the LORD. I couldn’t argue that, so if you can't beat em, join em! we all prayed! And then he did one hell of show!"

Justin Lopez:

"When I think of DMX, I think of my dads old Honda and his CD holder with all the rap albums in it. We'd Drive and listen to It's Dark and Hell Is Hot."

Wred:

"I will never forget being at my cousins house sitting in the dark watching the "get at me dog" video when I was little. It hurt my eyes like hell but I was so intrigued by the energy. Being an artist myself, I can really appreciate the genius behind it. A "simple" black and white video when an artists presence is so bright and colorful. He was just so different, dark, and captivating. He had an energy that drew you into him. As I became more and more familiar with him, my love and respect grew. Flesh of my flesh blood of my blood is one of my top 10 favorite albums. When I was old enough to look into my interests on my own, I would watch interviews, funny videos. All of which made me feel like I knew him personally. It was like watching your uncle be silly at the summer BBQ. His Interviews made me love who he is as person outside of entertainment. He has inspired so much of what I do. His quotes and sayings are a regular part of my exchanges with my family. I could talk forever about how much I loved all he did and all that he is. I won't say was because he will forever be present in this realm although he has transcended onto the next. I hope he is at peace, I hope he is free and I hope he knows how loved he is."

DMX was a child of God and spoke with dedication, He lived his lyrics and expressed himself vulnerably. Lets remember his life through his music and prayers he’s given us.

Below I attached a Playlist on Spotify and a Dedication Video I made on Youtube. Lets relive every moment he gave us.

We Love You DMX, Rest Easy my friend and give our regards to the greats up there with you. One Love, Peace.

@caljamonit

DMX :

“I come to you hungry and tired, you give food and let me sleep

I come to you weak, you give strength and that's deep

You called me a sheep, and lead me to green pastures

Only asking that I keep the focus, in between the chapters

You give me the word, and only ask I interpret

And give me the eyes, that I can recognize the serpent

You know I ain't perfect, but you'd like me to try

Unlike the devil who just wants me to lie, till I die

Lord why is it that, I go through so much pain

All I saw was black, and all I felt was rain

I come to you because it's, you who knows

You showed me that everything is black, because my eyes were closed

You gave me the light, and let me bask in your glory

So it was only right, that when you asked for this story

I put together, to do our dogs some good

Our dogs being, brothers and sisters in the hood

Plenty of times you sent help my way, but I hid

And I remember once you held me close, but I slid

There was something that, I just had to see

That you wanted me to see, so I can be what you wanted me to be

And I think I've seen it, 'cause I don't feel the same

Matter of fact I know I have seen it, I can feel the change

And it's strange, almost got me beating down your door

But I've never known love, like this before

It's a wonderful feeling, to get away from the pain

And up under the ceiling, I get away from the rain

And the strain that I feel when I'm here, is gone

I know real so I wipe away the tears, with a song

And I almost lost faith, when you when you took my man

Monty, Paso, and Jay's brother Dan

And I fear that what I saying, won't be heard until I'm gone

But it's all good, 'cause I really didn't expect to live long

So if it takes for me to suffer, for my brother to see the light

Give me pain till I die, but please lord treat him right.”

celebrities
2

About the Creator

CAL.

Rap, Create and Work!

Playlist Curator/Ebook writer/Artist/Video editor

Visit my Website: Calinclined.com

Partner at https://www.hrdrv.com

Instagram:https://www.instagram.com/caljamonit/

Twitter:https://mobile.twitter.com/cal_jamonit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.