Beat logo

DJMcTom

I'll Be Me

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Q: May I ask how you arrived at your DJ name? Give us the scoop.

It was given to me as a joke during my teenage years. I beat someone who was twice my size in a friendly game and the whole school was watching and laughing ( I played everyday and him being from another country was a novice.) To soften the blow, he asked me for an autograph as a joke I gave him one and he mispronounced my name and everyone called me that and it stuck. He pronounced it mc like an Irishman instead of m c the rap word.

Q: Tell us a little bit about yourself. Your (music) background?

I always dreamed of making cds 💿 and the first chance I got thats what I did that was 20 years ago

Q: What is it about music that makes you feel passionate?

It's a part of me, like breathing and walking 🚶‍♂️ that's how I grew up.

Q: Do you have a preferred genre?

Old school, hip hop but I like all forms of music..

Q: Tell us about your song, “I'll Be Me”.

It's my most recent song. I took an 8 year break from making records ( all my videos were songs that were already done.) This is my second one back . It was supposed to be a different record but the vocalist I was working with had too many obligations then but by some miracle I got the opportunity to work with, in my opinion, one of the most talented singers I ever heard. She wanted to rewrite the chorus and in communicating with her that changed the direction of the song from being just about a certain individual plight to being about everyone's struggles to be themselves and unique.

Q: Do you release your music strictly on YouTube? If so, why this platform?

I used to just put music on cds 💿 video seemed like an unattainable dream now because of changes in technology everyone is doing it. Its a foreign concept to me, like traveling to the moon by bus, which no that people are going into space regularly, who knows.

Q: Do you produce/create music for yourself or for fans?

I can't imagine I have any fans I'm just surprised when people know who I am. This is my vice I guess. I'm like an alcoholic that recycles. To pick up the few scraps.

Q: What is the best song you ever released and why?

not to sound clique but all my videos are my babies and I luv them all if I had to chose on it would be lovetron that was the first one I ever did popped my cherry and it was a fun shoot or ill be me because of the talented vocalist it has meaning I guess and its fresh on my mind the best answer to that is my next one.

Q: What song do fans seem to favor?

I'll Be Me

Q: What do you value more, creativity, or perfect execution?

I value creativity.

Q: Has your musical journey had a deliberate direction, or did it simply evolve in whatever direction it found?

No, I'm a dreamer and whenever I get the opportunity to make my dreams a reality I tend to try it out.

Q: What would be your ideal press headline, either now or in the future? In which publication? Why?

I don't know. I'm hoping you write good things about me.

Q: Are there any musicians who inspire you? What qualities do you admire about them?

If you ask me that question 365 days you might get 365 different answers. Today, I would have to say heavy d and the boys. He filmed a video in my neighborhood when I was a child, in the park, where I grew up when you viewed the world differently. The innocence of youth. To see Salt n Pepa, and all the other stars, make a video about my home town 4 square miles small community was mind-blowing.

Q: If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

There's so many to choose from. I guess I would go with the vocalist that's on the hook (she chooses to remain anonymous to protect her fledgling career in music fashion and modeling).

Q: Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

I don't care. I luv making videos

Q. Do you have a preference… vinyl records, cassettes, CDs, or downloads?

Old school. So I luv vinyl records, tapes, and cds. I'm gonna throw all my music away and get with the digital age soon.

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

My dream is to perform at the Berlin music video awards in Berlin, Germany in June. I won't know until April if they accepted me. I hope and pray 🙏 that my long time producer the dance group in my videos and the vocalist (she's from Germany) can all make it that would be a dream come true.

[mysoundMusic] Our fingers are crossed and routing for good news.

interview
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.