Beat logo

Dear Tina Turner, toughest woman I never met!

Tina Turner...Let Him Go!

By C. M. SearsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
She loved herself...and rose above!

Born November 26th, 1939 in Nutbush, Tennessee, her parents, Floyd and Zelma Bullock, were sharecroppers. After they separated in the early 1950s, Turner went to stay with her maternal grandmother in Nutbush, Tennessee. At age 16 she moved to St. Louis, Missouri, where she eventually began her music career. The first band she ever saw on television was Ike Turner, so she joined his band and went thru 25 years of hell, then he sued her for all the rights to her music, and she gave it all to him! all except for his name...that she kept because she built her career around that name. She said "I'm self-made. I always wanted to make myself a better person, because I was not educated. But that was my dream - to have class". she also stated in an interview "I regret not having had more time with my kids when they were growing up". and she was asked about love, she said this: "I want a man without shame" also she said "I will receive it when I have earned it"! I just watched that on television. Ike Turner took everything he could take...but he never took her spirit or her name! After Ike, she came alive! Once she realized how sick he was, she started to let go of her hatred for him, even when he was beating and raping her. She realized some 53 years later, that holding onto all that hate, made her miserable and took away all of her serenity. She met, fell in love with and married her producer Edwin Bach in Zurich Switzerland in 2013, has been there ever since. She said she loves it there and considers it home because the people are so nice and friendly and the home and it's surroundings are breathtaking.

Tina Turner thriving at 80 years of age!

My favorite song unfortunately is one she did with Ike called "Oop poo pa doo", and I just love the way they sang it...but at the time I had no clue what price she paid to make it so great. The beatings, rapes and udder humiliation you went through to get where you are now, thank you for all you have endured to give us the gift of you.

Dear Tina,

I am so sorry that you had to endure so much hell to become who you are today, but at the same time I am glad you turned out so tough, you have taught a lot of Black women and women of all races, to rise above and be stronger than they ever thought! If you can, I can! I hope you know how your strength has made me and thousands of other women endure some of the toughest days of our lives and come out on the other side smiling. Now you are battling cancer, but your still kicking. I am sorry that Ike Turner took so many years from you, but you learned what real love was through your experience with Ike. When Edwin came along you knew he was the one. Now 30 years later you have celebrated 50+ years successfully on your own! You did this, you made your life amazing and never let anyone hold you back or put you down. You are beloved all over the world, there is not another you, and there will never be! Nobody out here in showbusiness now could ever hope to fill your shoes, and there are no comparisons! I am proud to be part of the "Tina" generation! Thank you for all you have done, and will continue to do for women all over the world. We love and appreciate your sacrifice, and respect you beyond words. From one of your biggest fans...except for my husband...he says if you ever come knocking at the door, he is running away with you. Guess I am lucky your already taken.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

C. M. Sears

I am learning more about writing every time I write a new story, whether it be fiction or fact. I love this platform and will continue to write and learn...if you like what you read in any of my stories please click the heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.