Beat logo

Day Four: “What Writing”

Curb, bouquet, and rain cloud.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a month ago 3 min read
3
Day Four: “What Writing”
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I began this challenge when I received the Pat Pattison book. I was introduced by KJ Aartila, a writer on Vocal Media, to this challenge. Her inspiration is Pat Pattison’s book “SONG-WRITING WITHOUT BOUNDARIES”.

The picture above is for the 10-minute timed writing. When I typed in curb, bouquet, and rain cloud what showed up was a lot of rain. Then the bouquet came up and I liked the picture, so this is my choice for the photo.

By the end of the challenges from the book, I hope to be writing songs, or be more of a lyricist! When I told my friend, who has a Masters degree in poetry that I don't see myself as a poet, she said you are a lyricist.

This is day four prompts:

Timed for 5 minutes: Curb.

I need to curb my appetite. Pork ribs, half a rack is too much, especially with a little coleslaw and a bowl of beans and corn bread. Okay, I’m gluten sensitive and I can’t handle the corn bread. I will be taking tums later!

Well, maybe I can curb the want for cornbread if I eat enough ribs and beans. The coleslaw isn’t enough to help with the curbing. Why do restaurants give such small amounts of cranberries and coleslaw?

I need help in curbing my want for sweets, the BBQ sauce is sweet. The beans are sweet. Oh well, I guess I won’t eat the cornbread or desert. I had a gluten free brownie for desert for lunch. That should do it!

No help with this curb experience! Okay maybe later!

Timed for 10 minutes: Bouquet.

I love a bouquet! My daughter decided to give me a lovely vase of hers on Mother's Day. She said, “Just give it back when you fill it, and I will do the same. What a great gift. Lovely, beautiful, gorgeous. The best smelling, sight so much to look at, and putting my nose to them is the best.

The touch is pure joy. And of course, as soon as they expired the next bouquet was on me! I went to the florist. She went to the grocery store. Mine cost more for her as I am not an artist and have trouble with the arrangement. She does not!

She can work wonders with an arrangement. She has had her littles seek out what is attractive to them, for one it is always the smell. I can tell who likes the smell based on the arrangement. She has the vase, and it has been several months now. It is time again. I miss flowers.

Maybe I will get some for me! The hubby doesn’t believe in them. I did get flowers from a girlfriend who gave two of us flowers! That was fun! I loved the colors, the smell, and the look! She got us identical bouquets! Both beautiful!

Next time it will be my turn! I get to have a turn to buy bouquets too. Even if it is once a year or every two years! Bouquets are the best for this gal!

Timed for 90 seconds: Rain cloud.

Rain cloud high above me in the sky. Never this near to see how it looks in all its might.

I delight in storm-watching and this is what is due us tonight!

Will it be a fright?

~~~~

Note: KJ Aartila’s Day 4 writing challenge.

~~~~~~~~

First published by Penny Press on medium.com

artliteraturefeaturefact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Mmmm, now I want some brownies hehehehe. Loved all your stories!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.