Beat logo

Dario Margeli gives Us original music and "How to Respond"

Dario Margeli composes original songs that speak of personal growth.

By mysoundMusicPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
3

"This music is a marriage of musical tastes and personal self motivation philosophy, With inspirations as diverse as the dance floor friendly sounds and the central tenets of Buddhist philosophy, How To Respond is a real voyage of the self. The track opens with intimations of synthwave and retrowave, before a jazz tinged guitar ebbs and flows through the electronica, giving the track a very chilled feel."

mySound Music wanted to learn more about the artist behind the music ... hence 21 Questions with Dario Margeli ...

What 1st drew you to music?

I didn't have toys and my parents were too greedy to spend money and put me in after school activities. So, listening to music and imagining I was an artist was "my toy" and "my after school" activity.

Do you have a preferred or chosen genre?

I am interested in intelligent lyrics that talk about spiritual and important things. The music itself has to be in a way that allows the message to come through. So it can be electronic or rock, I care more about the right combination.

Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

I write lyrics and vocal melody alone.

What is your creative process like?

I read self help and self empowering books. I take lessons from then. Then I feel like making a song about what I've learned. At that point I experiment with melody until I find something fresh. Then I try to push those lyrics against these experimental melodies and see what fits. This is how it starts ... the process has many other steps.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

It is a song called Suffering is Optional. The lyrics are important and give you ideas on feeling good.. The singing appropriate. The guitar lines are very beautiful and melodic. It is very pleasant to listen to.

What is your favorite song(s) to perform?

I don’t do live because I cannot afford the costs of having a band.

What song do fans seem to favor?

The song “Suffering is Optional” is my most popular on Spotify.

Is there a hidden meaning in your music?

No…. everything is on face value.

Have you ever dealt with performance anxiety?

Sometimes lack of support from the gate keepers and music prescribers and programmers causes a loss of heart. If they just new how much work has gone into the music they would open that letter and listen to the song with an open heart.

What do you enjoy most about being a musician? What do you hate most?’

The creative process can connect you to your inner purpose. That I like. What I don’t like is that people on blogs, magazines, tv, radio or even curators are so lazy and just want to talk about or listen to famous names.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

There is no fame or fortune, just expenses. What I have achieved with my music? I have a song that starts with the lyrics “I’m not my body, I’m not my brain, I am the consciousness” … Listening to that line with its catchy melody reminds me of the positive message that I am not the sad thoughts that come to my head, but rather I am spirit that floats above all that. That is the achievement of my music. Makes me remember these messages.

Tell about a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your music career.

One time, I commissioned a keyboard player from Michigan to play moog on one of my songs. When his lines arrived, it made me cry because they were so magical and beautiful. So much more than I could have expected.

What music do you listen to ‘for fun’?

Because I have an office job, I listen to instrumental non distracting smooth jazz

Who inspires you musically?

That is hard to say. As explained previously I am not preoccupied by style or musical arrangements. I focus on vocal melody which is the driver of the song. The only influence I want on the vocal melody is that it should have a bit of “Persian/Iranian” origins in it.

If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get you call?

There was an Iranian female singer called Ramesh who has not performed live since 1996.

What advice would you have for someone wanting to follow in your footsteps?

Don’t expect success. Don’t sacrifice too much. The work that goes into creating music can absorb too much of your life, so do yourself a favor and set limits.

How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

I started being a musician in the 1980s before the internet and after a few years I had to stop. Imagine back then, you would have to go to a very expensive recording studio to record. Then to send your music out you had to make cassette copies and then male them using the postal service. It was terrible. Eventually I stopped and left it. With the internet, particularly facebook, things became easier and that is when I got into music again.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

Type my name in Spotify: Dario Margeli Then give it a heart.

What is one message you would give to your followers?

I am not famous, so my message would not be a message as if Drake was giving a speech to its followers. At my level, I do have followers that are few, and the main message is that: my music has a good positive message. Share it, hit that share button, and spread and expand the positive and the good message.

What does the future hold for you?

I no longer care about the future. Life is the dancer and dances you. You belong to the universe who dances you, you don’t belong to yourself. All I can do is do my best. Then life will respond in way I can’t control.

Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

interview
3

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.